Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual: How Do They Compare for Management Liability Insurance?

Alliance Risk advises when to add D&O, EPLI and fiduciary coverage; Liberty Mutual packages D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and crime in ProShield. 4,7,8

What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk suits tech startups from pre-seed through IPO that want a broker to review their tech E&O policy for free and shop specialist insurers; if you want to buy online in minutes, use a digital insurer. Quotes take 24 hours to ten business days, depending on your risk. 1,2,3

Read the Alliance Risk profile

Read the Alliance Risk Management Liability Insurance page

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 5,6

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance page

What Is Management Liability Insurance?

Management liability packages can combine D&O and employment-practices coverage for leader and workplace claims, while benefit-plan protection may be a separate part. Shared limits can let a claim in one part reduce what is available for another, so compare the limits across the quote. 9,10,11,12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between Alliance Risk and Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance?

Timing and line selection

Alliance Risk recommends considering D&O at a first priced financing, EPLI as headcount reaches double digits, and fiduciary liability when a benefits plan begins. Liberty Mutual names D&O, employment practices, fiduciary and crime within ProShield, without publishing comparable company-stage triggers. A founder can use Alliance Risk’s milestones to frame timing, then ask either placement what must be bought together and whether standalone lines are available. 4 7

Shared limits and package terms

Alliance Risk says entry-level programs may share one aggregate limit across D&O, EPLI and fiduciary, so a claim under one part can reduce remaining protection for another; it says its advisor can structure separate limits. Liberty Mutual presents ProShield as one package designed to reduce separate endorsements, but its page does not set out an individual policy’s limits or exclusions. Compare the quoted limit allocation and forms rather than assuming a package fixes the shared-limit question. 4 7

What Should You Confirm in Alliance Risk and Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask Alliance Risk to show separate versus shared aggregates and the remaining limit after a hypothetical D&O or EPLI claim.
  • Ask Liberty Mutual which ProShield components are included, their limits, exclusions and whether any aggregates are shared.

Alliance Risk and Liberty Mutual Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Alliance Risk Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.[1][4][6]

Read Alliance Risk reviews

Liberty Mutual Review Score

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual Management Liability Compared

Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual: Management Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAlliance Risk Management Liability InsuranceLiberty Mutual ProShield Management Liability
Role in This Line

Alliance Risk is a brokerage. For management liability, it advises clients on whether to buy directors and officers (D&O), employment practices liability (EPLI) and fiduciary liability as a single packaged program or as standalone policies. 4Company-reported. Dedicated management-liability page, accessed 2026-09-23.

Liberty Mutual markets ProShield as a management-liability package combining D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverages. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Issuing Insurer

The management liability page does not name the underwriting insurer or insurers behind a packaged program. As a brokerage, Alliance Risk places the coverage with third-party carriers that vary by client. 4Not publicly disclosed. Dedicated page, accessed 2026-09-23; no insurer or carrier list disclosed.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

Alliance Risk recommends turning on each line at a specific trigger: D&O at the company's first priced financing round, EPLI once headcount grows into double digits, and fiduciary liability when a benefits plan such as a 401(k) launches. 4Company-reported. "How to structure the program as you scale" section, aimed at venture-backed companies.

The ProShield page identifies private and not-for-profit organizations as its intended audiences; industry-page listings do not establish universal eligibility. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Coverage Features

Alliance Risk describes three core lines inside a management liability program: D&O, EPLI and fiduciary liability, with commercial crime as a common fourth line added to the same program. 4Company-reported. Dedicated page; each core line links out to Alliance Risk's separate line-specific pages for more detail.

Alliance Risk says entry-level packaged programs often share a single aggregate limit across D&O, EPLI and fiduciary, so a large claim on one line can reduce what is left for another line the same policy period. It says a specialist broker can structure shared versus separate limits to avoid that. 4Company-reported. "The shared limit problem" section of the dedicated page.

The page describes selected features for the component lines, but does not establish the terms, limits or exclusions in an individual ProShield policy. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Limits and Retentions

Alliance Risk publishes indicative annual premium ranges for the packaged program: roughly $5,000-$15,000 at seed (D&O plus EPLI), $15,000-$50,000 at Series A/B (D&O, EPLI and fiduciary), and $50,000-plus at late stage or pre-IPO. It does not publish specific dollar coverage limits or retentions for each stage; those come with a quote. 4Company-reported. "What the package costs by stage" table, described as indicative for venture-backed companies.

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 7,8Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

How to Apply

You apply for management liability by scheduling a consultation with an Alliance Risk advisor, who recommends a packaged program or a standalone approach based on your stage, board composition and financing history. 4Company-reported. Closing call-to-action on the dedicated page.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

Alliance Risk says that when one event triggers more than one management-liability line, such as an executive's exit that produces both an EPLI charge and a D&O suit against the board, a single packaged program puts one carrier and one defense team on both threads instead of separate insurers disputing which one leads. 4Company-reported. "One event, two policies" section, illustrated with three placement examples Alliance Risk says it has handled.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual Management Liability

Management Liability Pages for Alliance Risk and Liberty Mutual

Other Coverage Lines Compared for Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual

Other Management Liability Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual

Sources About Alliance Risk

  1. Technology Insurance. Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get a Quote. Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; The three core lines; Why one program beats three standalone policies; One event, two policies; The shared limit problem; What the package costs by stage table; How to structure the program as you scale; FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources About Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Professional services. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 129–138 list professional-services program coverages: GL with Services endorsement, property, commercial auto, workers compensation, umbrella/excess, D&O, professional liability, cyber, EPL and fidelity/crime. Lines 139–148 describe M&A transactional-liability solutions including representations and warranties, tax liability and contingent legal risk. These are professional-services industry positioning, not universal eligibility or standalone line terms; distribution and policy caveats at lines 164–176 and 234–236. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Sources for the Management Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Insurance Terms. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Directors & Officers Liability; Employment Practices Liability Coverage; introductory scope note. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Management Liability Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Management Liability Insurance?; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; Introduction; optional coverage parts; private, not-for-profit and healthcare portfolios. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I p.1; III pp.2–3; IV pp.4–6; VI pp.6–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Liability Coverage Terms and Conditions. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; III.B p.3; III.C pp.4–5; III.D–G pp.5–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage Application. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I–II pp.1–2; III–IV pp.2–3; V–VIII pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot