---
title: "Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: D&O Insurance"
description: "Risklytics cites a $1 million to $3 million typical startup D&O limit, while THREE places D&O within its BOP and leaves its separate limit to the quote."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-10-01"
comparison-pair: "risklytics-vs-three"
provider-a: "risklytics"
provider-b: "three"
coverage-line: "directors-officers"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/directors-officers)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway for D&O Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for D&O Insurance questions about Risklytics versus THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway for D&O Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for D&O Insurance, Risklytics or THREE by Berkshire Hathaway?
- What does Risklytics or THREE by Berkshire Hathaway publish about D&O Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for D&O Insurance from Risklytics or THREE by Berkshire Hathaway?

**Key facts:**
- Line: D&O Insurance. Providers: Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-10-01. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [D&O Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Risklytics profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/risklytics) — provider profile (evidence)
- [THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/three) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Inland Marine Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/inland-marine) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-risklytics/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-three/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-three/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-three/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Risklytics cites a $1 million to $3 million typical startup D&O limit, while THREE places D&O within its BOP and leaves its separate limit to the quote.

## How to Use the Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance Comparison

Use this comparison to evaluate Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance Summary

Risklytics says venture-backed companies commonly ask for $1 million to $3 million in D&O limits; THREE lists D&O among its BOP coverage categories. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [7](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy "The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway")

## What Is Risklytics Insurance?

Risklytics suits robotics, autonomy and AI businesses that want help preparing an application and checking Tech E&O wording for AI exclusions; standard small businesses should compare generalist agencies. California eligibility is not established in its public materials. [1](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") [2](https://www.risklytics.ai/ "Insurance for Frontier Tech") [3](https://www.risklytics.ai/terms/ "Terms of Service")

[Risklytics profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/risklytics)

## THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes

THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. [6](https://threeinsurance.com/ "Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [7](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy "The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway")

[THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/three)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms") [10](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf "The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance") [11](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95 "Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage")

## What Are the Key Differences Between Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance?

### Published Limit Guidance

Risklytics says venture-backed companies typically ask for $1 million to $3 million in D&O limits. THREE’s Business Owners Policy page includes D&O among its marketed coverage categories, but does not show a separate D&O limit; it says the quote summary gives limits and deductibles. A startup comparing these routes can use Risklytics’ range as a discussion point, then ask either placement to match the actual investor or board requirement rather than assume a package limit is sufficient. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway")

### Placement Timing and Package Structure

Risklytics frames D&O as commonly needed by a startup’s first priced round because term sheets and incoming directors may require it. THREE presents D&O as a BOP component and offers an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisor support. If financing is contingent on D&O, the founder can discuss timing and underwriting through Risklytics’ D&O application; a THREE buyer should verify that the coverage is included in the proposed BOP and issued before the financing deadline. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [5](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/ "How pricing and broker fees work") [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [6](https://threeinsurance.com/ "Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway")

## What Should You Confirm in Risklytics and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance Quotes?

- Ask Risklytics which carrier will issue the policy and whether its limit range matches the term sheet. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance")
- Ask THREE to confirm D&O is scheduled, with its own limit, retention, and effective date in the BOP documents. [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway")

## Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance Compared

| Criteria | Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance | THREE Business Owners Policy |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. [1](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line..) | THREE presents Directors and Officers as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [1](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line..) | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. [7](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy "The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy..) |
| Who It’s For | Risklytics says the norm is buying D&O at or before a startup's first priced round, since term sheets and incoming board members typically require it as a closing condition. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page..) | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Directors and Officers; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [6](https://threeinsurance.com/ "Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms..) |
| Coverage Features | Risklytics describes D&O as protecting a founder's personal assets when an investor or regulator sues over how the company was run, citing an investor suit after a down round and a regulator inquiry into AI capability claims as examples, and distinguishes it from Tech E&O, which answers a customer's product-failure claim instead. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage..) | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Directors & Officers among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [7](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy "The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Official THREE package marketing for Directors and Officers. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million to $3 million for venture-backed companies for this line. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy..) | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Directors and Officers; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. [8](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") [7](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy "The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible..) |
| Risk Services | Risklytics calls D&O easy to get for venture-backed companies with a clean story, describing quick placement for that segment. [4](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | You start Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. [5](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/ "How pricing and broker fees work") [1](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form..) | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. [6](https://threeinsurance.com/ "Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Directors and Officers will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy..) |

## Related Pages for Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O

- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): D&O insurance can protect leaders and, in some policies, the company from covered management claims; company coverage, defense costs and limits differ by quote.
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/commercial-property)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/cyber)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/general-liability)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Inland Marine Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/inland-marine)
- [Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-three/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-three/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-three/directors-officers)

## Sources for Risklytics vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance

### Sources About Risklytics

1. [About Risklytics: who we are](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/). Risklytics; “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
2. [Insurance for Frontier Tech](https://www.risklytics.ai/). Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Terms of Service](https://www.risklytics.ai/terms/). Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Directors & Officers Insurance](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/). Risklytics; Coverage line: Directors & Officers; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [How pricing and broker fees work](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/). Risklytics; Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Sources About THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

6. [Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway](https://threeinsurance.com/). Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form.. Accessed 2026-09-30.
7. [The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway](https://threeinsurance.com/the-policy). Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy.. Accessed 2026-09-30.
8. [Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway](https://threeinsurance.com/business-owners-policy). Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

9. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf). Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95). Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-10-01. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Risklytics Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: not enough ratings.

Risklytics has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/risklytics/reviews).

## THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: 7.3 / 10 from 2 rated sources, equally weighted.

The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.

- NerdWallet: NerdWallet editorial rating 4.0 (5 stars). NerdWallet editorial evaluation of THREE commercial insurance; updated May 11, 2026. Its methodology score is an editorial rating, not an average of consumer reviews or a claims study. Period: Updated 2026-05-11. Checked 2026-09-29. [Three Insurance review | NerdWallet](https://www.nerdwallet.com/business/insurance/learn/three-insurance)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 2.5 (5 stars); 5 reviews. Trustpilot page for threeinsurance.com checked 2026-09-29. Five user-posted reviews, one in prior 12 months; small self-selected population, review provenance not independently verified. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [THREE Reviews | Trustpilot](https://uk.trustpilot.com/review/threeinsurance.com)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 4.8 (5 stars); 265 reviews. BBB profile for THREE by Berkshire Hathaway, customer-review and complaints pages directly rechecked 2026-09-29. The customer-review population includes sales-agent/intermediary interactions and customer purchase/service reports; it is not a verified uniform policyholder or claims-outcome cohort. Average and complaints are distinct populations. BBB says third-party information may not be verified and complaint text may be incomplete. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [THREE by Berkshire Hathaway customer reviews | BBB](https://www.bbb.org/us/ne/omaha/profile/commercial-insurance-services/three-by-berkshire-hathaway-0714-300275558/customer-reviews?page=1); [THREE by Berkshire Hathaway complaints | BBB](https://www.bbb.org/us/ne/omaha/profile/commercial-insurance-services/three-by-berkshire-hathaway-0714-300275558/complaints)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/three/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-three/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
