---
title: "Pie Insurance vs The Hartford"
description: "How Pie’s workers’-compensation-first carrier group differs from The Hartford’s broader small-business and SaaS insurer catalogue."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-the-hartford"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "Pie Insurance", "The Hartford"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-the-hartford)

# Pie Insurance vs The Hartford

How Pie’s workers’-compensation-first carrier group differs from The Hartford’s broader small-business and SaaS insurer catalogue.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Pie Insurance and The Hartford against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

Pie Insurance Services sells and administers policies, with affiliated Pie carriers writing workers’ compensation. Partner products for a business owner’s policy, general liability, professional liability and cyber do not name the current issuing insurers on Pie’s published legal materials. The Hartford underwrites a wider documented catalogue, including a software-oriented business owner’s policy and FailSafe technology errors and omissions, through named Hartford Insurance Group subsidiaries. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business")



## Introduction

A contractor shopping workers’ compensation is comparing two insurance groups that both write that line, not a broker versus an insurer. Pie says it stopped writing new commercial-auto business. Hartford still markets commercial auto, but not on its small-business self-serve site. Neither workers’-compensation footprint is described as all states. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### Pie Insurance

- Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote directly online or through an insurance agent. [2](https://www.pieinsurance.com/about "About Pie Insurance") [1](https://www.pieinsurance.com/ "Pie Insurance") [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.; verified: 2026-09-15.)
- Workers’ compensation payment options include pay-as-you-go using reported payroll, with no initial deposit. [17](https://www.pieinsurance.com/payment-options "Payment Options") [18](https://www.pieinsurance.com/pay-as-you-go "Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### The Hartford

- The Hartford designs small-business packages for SaaS and other software companies, typically starting from a business owner’s policy. [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [27](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [49](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [48](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Small-business buyers can start an online quote-and-buy flow or call, or use an independent Hartford agent; commercial auto is not sold on that self-serve path. [27](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [33](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [32](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Pie Insurance | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed [7](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") | Listed [34](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed [36](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance "Commercial Property Insurance") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Cyber liability | Listed [8](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses") | Listed [38](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [45](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers "Directors and Officers Liability Insurance") |
| Employee health and benefits | Not listed | Listed [49](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| General liability | Listed [10](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability "General Liability Insurance") | Listed [35](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed [43](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed [9](https://www.pieinsurance.com/errors-and-omissions-insurance "Errors And Omissions Insurance") | Listed [40](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") |
| Technology errors and omissions | Not listed | Listed [39](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [38](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed [48](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [47](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover "Business Insurance Coverage") |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") | Listed [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between Pie Insurance and the Hartford

### Pie Carriers Versus Hartford Fire Group

Pie Group Holdings owns the site; Pie Insurance Services is the producer. Workers’ compensation is described as written by The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company, with an AM Best A- pooled rating as of 24 April 2026. Partner products do not name current issuers for a business owner’s policy, general liability, professional liability or cyber on Pie’s published legal materials. [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") [22](https://ratings.ambest.com/DisclosurePDF.aspx?AMBNum=12272&PCA=0 "AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company")

Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is listed as authorized in all states in Hartford’s legal notice and independently in California’s Department of Insurance profile. That still does not assign Hartford Fire to every product. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [53](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=2664&event=companyProfile "Hartford Fire Insurance Company")

### State Count and Monopolistic Markets

Pie’s WC state count conflicts between 39-plus-D.C. and 40-plus-D.C. messaging. Hartford says some states require a state-fund WC product that a private insurer cannot sell. Confirm locations before treating either brand as national WC. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans")

Pie’s remaining published catalogue is workers’ compensation, a business owner’s policy, cyber, general liability and professional liability. Hartford also markets FailSafe, management-liability packages and employee benefits. Pie’s published product set is not presented as a technology-errors-and-omissions specialty. [7](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O")

### Pay-As-You-Go Mechanics

Both describe pay-as-you-go WC. Pie publishes a 3% card fee on certain new single-state WC policies and a 16.6% plus ten-month installment option. Hartford describes pay-as-you-go against actual payroll without that Pie fee table. Annual premium audits can change the final number at either company. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **WC writing company and state eligibility** on Pie versus Hartford, including monopolistic states. [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans")
- **Who underwrites Pie BOP/cyber/E&O** if those lines are quoted. [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal")
- **Auto:** Pie will not write new commercial auto; Hartford uses agency/Tivly. [14](https://www.pieinsurance.com/claims/comm-auto-faq "Commercial Auto Claim FAQs") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage")



## Service Comparison

Pie Insurance vs The Hartford: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | Pie Insurance | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Pie Insurance is a small-business commercial insurance group whose producer, Pie Insurance Services, sells and administers policies. Its affiliated carriers write workers’ compensation, while selected other products are offered through outside carrier partners. [2](https://www.pieinsurance.com/about "About Pie Insurance") [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [7](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [8](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses") [9](https://www.pieinsurance.com/errors-and-omissions-insurance "Errors And Omissions Insurance") [10](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the public website and is the regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best identifies the rated carrier group as Pie Insurance Group. [4](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal/terms-of-use "Terms Of Use") [24](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=982281&s=Active&t=INS "Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details") [22](https://ratings.ambest.com/DisclosurePDF.aspx?AMBNum=12272&PCA=0 "AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie identifies Pie Insurance Services, Inc. as the licensed producer that sells and administers policies; its legal page publishes state licenses but is not a substitute for a current regulator lookup in the buyer’s state. [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") [25](https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/PressReleases/AdminActions202401.aspx "Administrative Actions — January 2024") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., a financial holding company whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance, employee benefits and other financial products. Independent agents and brokers, and Hartford employees who sell insurance, distribute those products. The brand is not itself the insurer on a policy. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [50](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [32](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Coverage lines | Current direct offering pages support workers’ compensation, business owner’s policy, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O. The non-workers’ compensation pages describe typical protection; the issued policy and endorsements determine actual coverage. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [7](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [8](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses") [10](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability "General Liability Insurance") [9](https://www.pieinsurance.com/errors-and-omissions-insurance "Errors And Omissions Insurance") [4](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal/terms-of-use "Terms Of Use") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie says it stopped accepting commercial-auto submissions on December 1, 2025 and will issue no new or renewal commercial-auto policies on or after January 1, 2026. Existing policyholders retain coverage through their policy term and can still use Pie’s claim channels. [14](https://www.pieinsurance.com/claims/comm-auto-faq "Commercial Auto Claim FAQs") [20](https://www.pieinsurance.com/claims "File Your Claim Within 24 Hours") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Pie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie’s terms say website coverage descriptions are not part of an insurance contract and do not change a policy or endorsement; eligibility and product availability can vary by geography and applicant. [4](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal/terms-of-use "Terms Of Use") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Website descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [38](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [43](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [49](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [48](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. [41](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Availability | Pie’s dedicated state page and AM Best describe workers’ compensation in 40 states and Washington, D.C., but Pie’s homepage and January 2026 release say 39 states plus D.C. Confirm the business locations and class codes in the current quote or agent portal. [11](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/states-we-serve "Workers’ Comp Coverage By State") [12](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/document-library "Agency Document Library") [1](https://www.pieinsurance.com/ "Pie Insurance") [13](https://www.pieinsurance.com/resource-center/press/2025-year-in-review "Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025") [22](https://ratings.ambest.com/DisclosurePDF.aspx?AMBNum=12272&PCA=0 "AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company") (Evidence: Conflicting sources; scope: Public workers’ compensation footprint as of 15 September 2026; the state-page selector, document library and other marketing surfaces were not internally consistent.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The reviewed BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability pages do not publish a product-by-state availability table. Pie’s terms also say products are not available in every US area or situation. [7](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [8](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses") [10](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability "General Liability Insurance") [9](https://www.pieinsurance.com/errors-and-omissions-insurance "Errors And Omissions Insurance") [4](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal/terms-of-use "Terms Of Use") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public availability for Pie’s partner-carrier products; no quote or contact form was submitted.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford states that products are not available in all states or for all businesses, and that listing a writing company as authorized to transact insurance does not guarantee that coverage will be offered. Workers’ compensation pages also say that in some states coverage can be bought only from a state-run program, not from a private insurer such as The Hartford. [27](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company availability footnotes and workers’ compensation quiz copy as of 16 September 2026. The reviewed pages did not publish a complete product-by-state matrix for SaaS or BOP.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The Hartford operates a California small-business insurance page that lists BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property and professional liability and says California buyers can get a quote online or by phone. Hartford Fire Insurance Company is independently listed by the California Department of Insurance as an authorized property-and-casualty insurer (NAIC 19682). Those facts do not identify which affiliate would issue a particular California policy or whether a given SaaS risk will be accepted. [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/california "California Business Insurance") [53](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=2664&event=companyProfile "Hartford Fire Insurance Company") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company California marketing plus CDI company profile accessed 16 September 2026. Office location and nationwide authorization tables were not treated as product eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | A small business can start a workers’ compensation quote on Pie’s website or work through an insurance agent; appointed agencies use a separate partner portal. [2](https://www.pieinsurance.com/about "About Pie Insurance") [1](https://www.pieinsurance.com/ "Pie Insurance") [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The live direct quote starts with the business ZIP code. Pie’s workers’ compensation page says applicants also need their name, business name, annual payroll and class-code information. [6](https://quote.pieinsurance.com/ "Pie Insurance — Quote") [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie advertises an online workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, while expressly stating that individual quote times vary. This is a company claim and does not establish how long underwriting or binding will take for a particular risk. [3](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp "Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses") [1](https://www.pieinsurance.com/ "Pie Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. [27](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [33](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [32](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Fees and compensation | Published workers’ compensation options include annual, semi-annual, quarterly and monthly schedules, plus pay-as-you-go. The monthly schedule requires 16.6% upfront followed by ten monthly payments; pay-as-you-go uses reported payroll and no initial deposit. [17](https://www.pieinsurance.com/payment-options "Payment Options") [18](https://www.pieinsurance.com/pay-as-you-go "Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie publishes a 3% credit-card convenience fee for new, single-state workers’ compensation policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island. Its page does not describe this fee for multi-state or renewal policies. [17](https://www.pieinsurance.com/payment-options "Payment Options") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie says each specific or blanket waiver-of-subrogation request carries a charge set by state rules and disclosed individually; the public FAQ does not give a dollar schedule. [16](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp/resources/frequently-asked-questions "Workers’ Comp FAQs") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Pie says partner agents receive commissions on new and renewal workers’ compensation policies, and its legal footer says compensation rates can vary among insurers. The reviewed current pages do not publish the standard rate or the amount attached to a buyer’s policy. [21](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/faq "Partner FAQ") [5](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal "Legal") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. [50](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [32](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [27](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Producer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Pie Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/pie-insurance)
- [What Is The Hartford?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Amelia Risk vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Armilla vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Armilla vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-the-hartford)
- [At-Bay vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-pie-insurance)
- [At-Bay vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-the-hartford)
- [Beazley vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Beazley vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-the-hartford)
- [CFC vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-pie-insurance)
- [CFC vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-the-hartford)
- [Chubb vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Chubb vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coalition vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Coalition vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-the-hartford)
- [Corgi vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Corgi vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Coterie Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coverdash vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford)
- [Cowbell vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Cowbell vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-the-hartford)
- [Embroker vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Embroker vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-the-hartford)
- [Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Founder Shield vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-the-hartford)
- [Gallagher vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Gallagher vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-the-hartford)
- [Harper vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Harper vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-the-hartford)
- [Heffernan vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Heffernan vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [HUB International vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-pie-insurance)
- [HUB International vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-the-hartford)
- [Kinro vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Kinro vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-the-hartford)
- [Layr vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/layr-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Layr vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/layr-vs-the-hartford)
- [Lockton vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/lockton-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Lockton vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/lockton-vs-the-hartford)
- [Marsh vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/marsh-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Marsh vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/marsh-vs-the-hartford)
- [Mylo vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/mylo-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Mylo vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/mylo-vs-the-hartford)
- [Newfront vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/newfront-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Newfront vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/newfront-vs-the-hartford)
- [ERGO NEXT Insurance vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/next-insurance-vs-pie-insurance)
- [ERGO NEXT Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/next-insurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [Pie Insurance vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-relm)
- [Pie Insurance vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-resilience)
- [Pie Insurance vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-riskcube)
- [Pie Insurance vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-risklytics)
- [Pie Insurance vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Pie Insurance vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-techinsurance)
- [Pie Insurance vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-travelers)
- [Pie Insurance vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-usi)
- [Pie Insurance vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-vouch)
- [Pie Insurance vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-withcoverage)
- [Relm vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/relm-vs-the-hartford)
- [Resilience vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/resilience-vs-the-hartford)
- [RiskCube vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/riskcube-vs-the-hartford)
- [Risklytics vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-the-hartford)
- [StartupInsurance.ai vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/startupinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [TechInsurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/techinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [The Hartford vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-travelers)
- [The Hartford vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-usi)
- [The Hartford vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-vouch)
- [The Hartford vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [Pie Insurance Official Website](https://www.pieinsurance.com/)

1. [Pie Insurance](https://www.pieinsurance.com/). Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [About Pie Insurance](https://www.pieinsurance.com/about). Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
3. [Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp). Pie Insurance; Quote inputs; coverage description; company-reported quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-15.
4. [Terms Of Use](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal/terms-of-use). Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [Legal](https://www.pieinsurance.com/legal). Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [Pie Insurance — Quote](https://quote.pieinsurance.com/). Pie Insurance; Live unauthenticated first step: Business ZIP Code; inspected without entering data or advancing. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Business Owner’s Policy](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy). Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; invitation to start a BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
8. [Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-insurance). Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
9. [Errors And Omissions Insurance](https://www.pieinsurance.com/errors-and-omissions-insurance). Pie Insurance; E&O and professional-liability equivalence; typical claims; carrier-partner placement statement; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
10. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.pieinsurance.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability). Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; carrier-partner quote invitation; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
11. [Workers’ Comp Coverage By State](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/states-we-serve). Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
12. [Agency Document Library](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/document-library). Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
13. [Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025](https://www.pieinsurance.com/resource-center/press/2025-year-in-review). Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
14. [Commercial Auto Claim FAQs](https://www.pieinsurance.com/claims/comm-auto-faq). Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
15. [Online Account Tutorial](https://www.pieinsurance.com/resource-center/online-account-tutorial). Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [Workers’ Comp FAQs](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp/resources/frequently-asked-questions). Pie Insurance; Certificates; waiver request timing and state-dependent charge; billing and payments; renewal timing; annual audit; claims. Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [Payment Options](https://www.pieinsurance.com/payment-options). Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance](https://www.pieinsurance.com/pay-as-you-go). Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit](https://www.pieinsurance.com/workers-comp/premium-audit). Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [File Your Claim Within 24 Hours](https://www.pieinsurance.com/claims). Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Partner FAQ](https://www.pieinsurance.com/agency/faq). Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation claim handling in 34 states; CorVel handling in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon; producer commissions on earned premium. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company](https://ratings.ambest.com/DisclosurePDF.aspx?AMBNum=12272&PCA=0). AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C.. Accessed 2026-09-15.
23. [The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details](https://insurance.mo.gov/find-insurance-company/company-details?id=104347111). Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
24. [Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=982281&s=Active&t=INS). Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
25. [Administrative Actions — January 2024](https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/PressReleases/AdminActions202401.aspx). Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

### [The Hartford Official Website](https://www.thehartford.com)

26. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); BOP contents; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); cyber, EPLI, technology professional liability mentions; online quote claim; company-reported industry-average premiums footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance). The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
28. [California Business Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/california). The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results](https://ir.thehartford.com/news/news-details/2025/The-Hartford-Announces-First-Quarter-2025-Financial-Results/default.aspx). The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [About Us](https://www.thehartford.com/about-us). The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Small Business Insurance Quote](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp). The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Viewed without submitting an application. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy). The Hartford; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; last updated May 20, 2026; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; last updated May 20, 2026; subsidiary-offering disclosure referencing the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Commercial Property Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance). The Hartford; Property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms listed among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation). The Hartford; State-requirement quiz noting some states require purchase from a state-run program rather than a private insurer; pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance). The Hartford; BOP-endorsed cyber versus CyberChoice First Response versus FailSafe Technology E&O; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology). The Hartford; FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite features including E&O, security, data privacy/network security, personal injury, intellectual property and media liability; software and SaaS-relevant buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [Professional Liability Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Miscellaneous professional liability and a listed Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies product; claims-made versus occurrence discussion; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
41. [Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance). The Hartford; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion claim; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnotes that built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York and that the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
42. [Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance). The Hartford; Statement that The Hartford does not currently offer this coverage online for small businesses and may route quotes through a local agency or Tivly; hired and non-owned auto description; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
43. [Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto). The Hartford; Hartford offering of hired and non-owned auto; liability-only limitations; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
44. [Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Private Choice Premier package (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion); option to add certain coverages to a BOP; instruction to find a local agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
45. [Directors and Officers Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers). The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations via Private Choice Premier. Accessed 2026-09-16.
46. [Commercial Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance). The Hartford; Insurer self-description; optional commercial umbrella; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages may be offered by one or more P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
47. [Business Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover). The Hartford; Commercial umbrella, EPL, data breach and other coverage descriptions; last updated July 28, 2025; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
48. [Inland Marine Insurance Solutions](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance). The Hartford; Midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
49. [Employee Benefits Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits). The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
50. [Producer Compensation Property & Casualty](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation). The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
51. [Insurance Claim Center](https://www.thehartford.com/claims). The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
52. [General Liability Claims | File A Claim](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance/claims). The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
53. [Hartford Fire Insurance Company](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=2664&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-the-hartford.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
