---
title: "HUB International vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance"
description: "HUB brokers key person cover inside executive benefits; RiskCube sizes death-only life policies to venture covenants."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/key-person"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-24"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/key-person)

# HUB International vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance

HUB brokers key person cover inside executive benefits; RiskCube sizes death-only life policies to venture covenants.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate HUB International and RiskCube for Key Person Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

HUB brokers key person life and disability as part of executive-benefits packages for C-suite retention. RiskCube places company-owned key person life often required by investor term sheets or venture-debt covenants, and treats disability as outside the described death benefit. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [3](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/ "Insurance for Technology Companies") [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups")

## What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. [1](https://www.hubinternational.com/about-us/ "About Us") [2](https://www.hubinternational.com/contact-us/ "Contact Us") [3](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/ "Insurance for Technology Companies")

[HUB International profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hub-international)

## What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. [5](https://riskcubeai.com/ "Startup Business Insurance") [6](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses "Licenses & Disclosures") [7](https://riskcubeai.com/disclosures "Disclosures & Compensation")

[RiskCube profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/riskcube)

## What Is Key Person Insurance?

Key person insurance pays the business, not the person’s family, when a founder, partner or employee it relies on dies. Disability, overhead expense and buyout funding are separate products to discuss on their own. [10](https://content.naic.org/consumer/small-business.htm "Small Business Insurance") [11](https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/publication-lig-lp-consumer-life.pdf "Life Insurance Buyer’s Guide") [12](https://www.principal.com/businesses/protect-my-business/key-person-protection "Key person protection") [13](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1043846/000119312517327052/d481410dex99e.htm "Specimen Application for Life Insurance")

## Key Differences in Key Person Insurance

### Two Brokerage Homes for the Same Line

HUB brokers key person life and disability inside its executive-benefits practice and does not underwrite the policies. RiskCube also acts as broker, placing a company-owned life policy where the business is owner and beneficiary. Neither reviewed set of pages names the issuing life insurer, so the carrier on each quote is a fact you still have to collect. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups")

### Life and Disability Versus Death During the Term

HUB lists key person life and key person disability as separate offerings, next to term or permanent life and individual disability for executives. RiskCube lists death of the insured during the term as the covered event and says disability, critical illness, voluntary departure, and a personal beneficiary are excluded or handled separately. If the board wants disability income to the company, that sits in HUB’s described lineup, not in RiskCube’s described death benefit. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups")

### How You Apply

HUB directs you to a Contact HUB form rather than a self-serve quote. RiskCube uses a company-level digital intake plus a separate proposed-insured process that can require written consent before the policy is submitted. Plan for an extra consent step on the RiskCube path that HUB’s executive-benefits page does not describe. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [9](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice")

## What to Confirm in Key Person Insurance Quotes

- Ask HUB whether disability is included and which insurer issues the policy. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite")
- Confirm RiskCube’s quote is death-only and which life insurer issues it. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [6](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses "Licenses & Disclosures")
- Match the face amount to any venture-debt covenant or executive-benefits design. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups")
- Confirm written consent from the proposed insured on both files. [9](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | HUB International Key Person Life and Disability Insurance | RiskCube Key Person Life Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers key person life and disability insurance as one line within its executive benefits practice, alongside private wealth management and other individual coverages, rather than underwriting the policies itself. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Executive benefits product page offerings list; the page does not name an issuing insurer..) | RiskCube places key person life insurance as a business-owned policy in which the company is both the policy owner and beneficiary; RiskCube acts as broker and does not itself carry the risk. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product page description of policy structure..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Neither the executive benefits page nor the technology-industry page names the insurer that issues a key person life or disability policy. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [3](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/ "Insurance for Technology Companies") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Checked both pages on 2026-09-23..) | RiskCube's key person page and notice do not name the issuing life insurer. Its licenses page lists only property-and-casualty producer/broker licenses for California and Delaware, and does not show a life-line license for RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [6](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses "Licenses & Disclosures") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public pages checked on 2026-09-23; a life-line license or appointment could exist without being listed on this page..) |
| Who It’s For | HUB markets key person insurance as part of executive benefits packages aimed at organizations seeking to attract and retain C-suite and other high-performing leaders; its technology-industry page separately lists key person life and disability among coverages it arranges for technology companies. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [3](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/ "Insurance for Technology Companies") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Executive benefits page target-client framing and the technology-industry page's People Protection list; not an underwriting appetite statement..) | RiskCube says key person coverage is most often driven by investor term-sheet closing conditions, venture-lender loan covenants (naming Hercules, Silicon Valley Bank and Western Technology Investment as examples), and is most commonly triggered for solo founders because there is no co-founder fallback. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page description of typical buyers; a specific investor or lender requirement still governs the required amount..) |
| Coverage Features | HUB lists Key Person life insurance and Key Person disability insurance as separate offerings within its executive benefits lineup, alongside term or permanent life insurance and individual disability insurance for executives. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Executive benefits page offerings list; the reviewed pages do not describe policy terms, exclusions or triggers for either product..) | RiskCube lists the death of the insured person during the policy term as the covered event, paying the company a lump-sum benefit; disability, critical illness, voluntary departure or resignation, and a personal (non-company) beneficiary are excluded or handled separately, per the page's "What is not covered" section. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page summary of standard term life structure; the issued policy and any riders control..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Published key person life or disability benefit amounts, limits or pricing were not found on the reviewed pages. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") [3](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/ "Insurance for Technology Companies") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Checked the executive benefits page and technology-industry page on 2026-09-23; amounts depend on underwriting and the client's chosen benefit design..) | RiskCube says common key person benefit structures are 5-10x the key person's annual compensation, the outstanding venture-debt balance, or a fixed term-sheet amount commonly between $1 million and $5 million, with the exact amount set by the investor or lender rather than a RiskCube maximum. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Illustrative structures from the FAQ; actual amount depends on underwriting and the specific investor or lender requirement..) |
| Risk Services | HUB says clients working on executive benefits, including key person coverage, get access to specialists across retirement services, private wealth management, employee benefits, risk services and personal insurance. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Executive benefits page specialist description; not specific to a single key person engagement..) | RiskCube says it can replace a key person policy when the insured individual changes, such as a change in CEO, to help maintain compliance with a venture-debt covenant. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Single example cited on the product page; not a documented standard servicing process..) |
| How to Apply | The executive benefits page directs prospective clients to "Contact HUB" through a form rather than describing a self-service quote process for key person coverage. [4](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/ "Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Executive benefits page call-to-action text..) | Applying involves two separate steps: a company-level digital intake describing the business and the proposed insured's role, and a separate proposed-insured process requiring the individual's own consent and, before medical or underwriting information is collected, carrier-specific authorization and application forms. [8](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [9](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Combines the product page's process description with the notice's proposed-insured participation section..) |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube's notice says a company or authorized party may require the proposed insured's separate written consent before any key person policy is submitted, issued, delivered or placed in force, and that the general notice does not itself substitute for that required consent. [9](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Placement/binding condition rather than a post-claim handling process; the notice does not describe claims filing or payout timelines..) |

## Full Comparison

- [HUB International vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Key Person Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/key-person): Key person life insurance is intended to pay your business money if an insured founder or employee it depends on dies.
- [HUB International vs RiskCube Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/crime)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/cyber)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/directors-officers)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/employment-practices)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/fiduciary)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/general-liability)
- [HUB International vs RiskCube Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs HUB International Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hub-international/key-person)
- [Alliance Risk vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-riskcube/key-person)
- [Embroker vs HUB International Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-hub-international/key-person)
- [Embroker vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-riskcube/key-person)
- [Founder Shield vs HUB International Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hub-international/key-person)
- [Founder Shield vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-riskcube/key-person)

## Sources

### HUB International

1. [About Us](https://www.hubinternational.com/about-us/). HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Contact Us](https://www.hubinternational.com/contact-us/). HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Insurance for Technology Companies](https://www.hubinternational.com/industries/technology-company-insurance/). HUB International; People Protection list: Workers' Compensation, Employee Benefits, Key Person Life & Disability, Retirement Plan Solutions, Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.
4. [Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite](https://www.hubinternational.com/products/financial-services/executive-benefits/). HUB International; Core Executive Benefits Offerings list including Key Person life insurance and Key Person disability insurance; target-client description; Contact HUB call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### RiskCube

5. [Startup Business Insurance](https://riskcubeai.com/). RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Licenses & Disclosures](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses). RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses: California (resident, No. 6017028) and Delaware (No. 3004000392); no life-line license listed. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Disclosures & Compensation](https://riskcubeai.com/disclosures). RiskCube; Sections 1–5; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Key Person Life Insurance for Startups](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance). RiskCube; Key Person Life Insurance product introduction; Who needs it; What is key person life insurance; What's covered / What is not covered; benefit-amount and cost FAQ; replacement-of-insured example. Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [Key Person Life Insurance Notice](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice). RiskCube; Sections 1-6, effective June 23, 2026: what key person life insurance is; company representative authority; proposed insured participation; employer-owned life insurance consent; information sharing; no tax/legal advice. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Key Person Insurance Guide

10. [Small Business Insurance](https://content.naic.org/consumer/small-business.htm). National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Key Person Life Insurance Q&A; Tips & Tools > Key Person Life Insurance; Tips & Tools > Disability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Life Insurance Buyer’s Guide](https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/publication-lig-lp-consumer-life.pdf). National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Compare policy types p.5; premiums/beneficiary/application p.6; policy review pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [Key person protection](https://www.principal.com/businesses/protect-my-business/key-person-protection). Principal; Key person insurance > Key person replacement disability insurance; Key person life insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Specimen Application for Life Insurance](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1043846/000119312517327052/d481410dex99e.htm). John Hancock Life Insurance Company of New York; filed with SEC; Insured p.1; owner/beneficiary and coverage details p.2; existing/pending pp.3–4; Business Insurance Q36 p.5; declarations p.6. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-24. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube/key-person.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
