---
title: "Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance"
description: "USI names CNA as underwriter only for its CPA-specific AICPA program; Hiscox names its own underwriter for every policy it sells online."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)

# Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

USI names CNA as underwriter only for its CPA-specific AICPA program; Hiscox names its own underwriter for every policy it sells online.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Hiscox and USI Insurance Services for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

USI's named CNA underwriting applies only to its CPA-specific AICPA program, while Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as underwriter for every professional liability policy it sells online. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance")

## What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. [1](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance")

[Hiscox profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)

## What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. [7](https://www.usi.com/about-usi "The Power of ONE") [8](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") [9](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/ "Commissions and Fees")

[USI Insurance Services profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi)

## What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. [13](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html "FAQ: Professional liability insurance") [14](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance "Professional liability insurance") [15](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance "Get business insurance") [16](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf "Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance")

## Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

### A Universal Insurer Versus a Program-Specific One

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as the underwriter of every admitted professional liability policy it sells online. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") USI names CNA as underwriter only for its AICPA Professional Liability Program; its separate Business Services E&O placements for other business types don't name an insurer. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

### Who Qualifies

USI has offered CPA coverage since 1967 and been the endorsed AICPA Program provider since 1994, so its named-insurer program applies specifically to accounting firms. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") Hiscox instead sells its general professional liability product to small businesses broadly online, licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses")

### What Comes With the Policy

USI says AICPA program firms get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates:

USI says firms enrolled in the program get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, in addition to the coverage itself. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description..)

Hiscox instead describes a 24/7 claims phone line for current customers and licensed advisors available by phone during the buying process, rather than pre-built risk-management materials. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?")

## What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

- If you're a CPA firm, confirm you qualify for USI's AICPA-endorsed, CNA-underwritten program rather than its general Business Services placement. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") [12](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/ "Business Services")
- Confirm whether Hiscox sells this product directly in your state, since it excludes Alaska. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses")
- Ask USI which risk-management resources apply outside the AICPA program if you're not a CPA firm. [12](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/ "Business Services")
- Ask both firms for the policy limit and retention, since neither publishes figures. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance | AICPA Professional Liability Program (USI Affinity) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated online small-business channel..) | For CPA firms, USI runs the AICPA Professional Liability Program through its USI Affinity division as the endorsed producer, rather than underwriting the policy itself. USI's general Business Services practice separately brokers errors and omissions/professional liability coverage for other business types. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") [12](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/ "Business Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: AICPA program page and Business Services practice page..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote..) | USI's own page states that the AICPA Professional Liability Program is "underwritten by CNA," naming the carrier for that specific program. USI's general Business Services E&O placements do not name an insurer. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Direct quote from the AICPA program page; CNA underwrites only this named program, not USI's other professional-liability placements..) |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant..) | USI markets the AICPA program to sole practitioners and regional CPA firms. It has offered CPA coverage since 1967 and has been the endorsed AICPA Program provider since 1994. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description..) |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy..) | USI describes the policy as insuring a CPA and their practice against third-party claims that professional services caused financial harm, providing a defense and paying damages for covered claims arising from high-risk situations tied to new clients, changing business plans, or new laws and regulations. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description; actual insuring agreements, exclusions and conditions are set by the issued CNA policy form..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed..) | The AICPA program page does not publish limit, retention or premium figures; it says coverage plans allow a firm to tailor coverage to its risk profile. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Page as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI says firms enrolled in the program get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, in addition to the coverage itself. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description..) |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application..) | USI directs CPA firms seeking a quote or renewal to contact USI Affinity, with a dedicated Affinity_APL@usi.com address for the AICPA program specifically. [10](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Contact instructions on the AICPA program page..) |
| Claims Support | A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |

## Full Comparison

- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions): Professional E&O insurance addresses claims that a mistake in your advice or services caused a client financial loss.
- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/cyber)
- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/workers-compensation)
- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox/professional-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-hiscox/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)

## Sources

### Hiscox

1. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [What is Professional Liability Insurance?](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq). Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.

### USI Insurance Services

7. [The Power of ONE](https://www.usi.com/about-usi). USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Technology Insurance](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/). USI Insurance Services; Technology practice client types, seed-to-IPO range, and listed insurance placement lines including PrivaSafe. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Commissions and Fees](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/). USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/). USI Insurance Services; Quality Professional Liability Insurance Exclusively for CPA Firms; "The AICPA Professional Liability Program, underwritten by CNA, has been offering coverage to CPAs since 1967 and has been the endorsed provider of the AICPA Program since 1994."; supportive claims handling and exclusive access to extensive risk management resources, including engagement letter templates; Email Affinity_APL@usi.com. Accessed 2026-09-23.
11. [USI Specialty Program Solutions](https://www.usi.com/programs/). USI Insurance Services; USI Affinity delivers high-quality insurance and financial solutions to members of affinity organizations and targeted industry segments...for professional associations, law firms, alumni and collegiate organizations, travel groups, and insurance administrators.. Accessed 2026-09-23.
12. [Business Services](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/). USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Errors & Omissions/Professional Liability.... Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

13. [FAQ: Professional liability insurance](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html). Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
14. [Professional liability insurance](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance). Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
15. [Get business insurance](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance). U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
16. [Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf). Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
