---
title: "Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance"
description: "Hiscox does not publish cyber limits; USI's PrivaSafe program advertises specific figures, including up to $2 million in notification costs."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/cyber)

# Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance

Hiscox does not publish cyber limits; USI's PrivaSafe program advertises specific figures, including up to $2 million in notification costs.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Hiscox and USI Insurance Services for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Hiscox's cyber page does not publish limit amounts, while USI's manuscripted PrivaSafe program advertises specific figures, including up to $10 million in loss prevention and $2 million in notification-cost coverage. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")

## What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. [1](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance")

[Hiscox profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)

## What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. [7](https://www.usi.com/about-usi "The Power of ONE") [8](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") [9](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/ "Commissions and Fees")

[USI Insurance Services profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. [12](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### Published Coverage Figures

Hiscox's cyber product page does not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts. USI's PrivaSafe program page instead advertises specific figures for its manuscripted form.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations..)

[4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses")

### Who Underwrites the Policy

Hiscox names its own underwriter, Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., for admitted cyber policies. USI is a broker rather than an insurer for this line; it layers its own manuscripted PrivaSafe coverage form on top of a placement, and the reviewed pages do not name the carrier that would issue a given PrivaSafe policy. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")

### Who Each Product Targets

Hiscox markets cyber insurance to small businesses broadly and IT and technology consultants specifically. USI instead markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, describing them as particularly vulnerable to cyber events because of limited in-house security expertise. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask USI which carrier would issue your PrivaSafe policy, since it describes PrivaSafe as manuscripted coverage negotiated with the market rather than tied to one insurer. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")
- Confirm which Hiscox entity underwrites your admitted policy for your state. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide")
- Ask USI whether the $10 million loss-prevention figure and the $2 million notification-cost figure are separate limits or apply within the same aggregate. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")
- Get Hiscox's specific limits and retentions in writing, since its cyber page does not publish them. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Hiscox Cyber Security Insurance | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc. sells cyber insurance directly online as a standalone product for small businesses, separate from its business owner's policy, which also offers an optional cyber add-on. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated standalone small-business cyber product; the BOP cyber add-on is a distinct package option described on a different page..) | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [8](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW cyber policies. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Admitted small-business cyber coverage as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote..) | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found..) |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox markets cyber insurance to small businesses broadly and specifically to IT and technology consultants, describing itself as customizing coverage for the technology sector's data-handling and security exposures. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated audience across the standalone cyber page and the IT-insurance page..) | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement..) |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes cyber coverage as responding to data breaches, cyberattacks and related losses, and its IT-insurance page shows an illustrative breach-response example describing notification and related costs after a data incident. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page description; the illustrative example is explicitly a hypothetical scenario, not a specific limit or claim outcome, and actual coverage terms are set by the issued policy..) | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The cyber product page does not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; figures shown elsewhere on the site are illustrative examples rather than quotes. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public product page as previously reviewed..) | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations..) |
| Risk Services | The reviewed cyber product page does not describe ongoing security-monitoring or risk-prevention services made available to policyholders; it describes post-incident breach-response coverage rather than a monitoring service. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Standalone cyber product page as previously reviewed..) | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [11](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty "P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page and property-casualty practice team description..) |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can get a cyber insurance quote online, with a licensed-agent phone line available for questions during the process. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application..) | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. [10](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page intake description..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay your response costs and covered claims against your business after a cyber incident.
- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Hiscox vs USI Insurance Services Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/workers-compensation)
- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Hiscox Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-hiscox/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-usi/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs Hiscox Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-usi/cyber)

## Sources

### Hiscox

1. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance). Hiscox; Standalone cyber security/cyber liability product with online quote; data-breach, cyberattack and related-loss descriptions; licensed-agent phone number. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [IT Professional & General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance). Hiscox; IT/technology professional audience; illustrative cyber breach-response example. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.. Accessed 2026-09-16.

### USI Insurance Services

7. [The Power of ONE](https://www.usi.com/about-usi). USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Technology Insurance](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/). USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe.... Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [Commissions and Fees](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/). USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [USI Exclusive PrivaSafe](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/). USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy.... Accessed 2026-09-23.
11. [P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty). USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

12. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
