---
title: "Hiscox vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy"
description: "Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. and seven state exceptions; The Hartford reports a $1,687 average and includes business income."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy)

# Hiscox vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. and seven state exceptions; The Hartford reports a $1,687 average and includes business income.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Hiscox and The Hartford for Business Owner’s Policy against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. underwrites admitted Hiscox NOW BOPs with optional cyber, hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime, unavailable in seven states. The Hartford sells a BOP that bundles commercial property, general liability and business income, reports an average of $1,687 a year, and does not name which Hartford subsidiary would issue a given policy. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance")

## What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. [1](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance")

[Hiscox profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)

## What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. [8](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [9](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [10](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent")

[The Hartford profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?

A business owner’s policy packages property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses. [12](https://content.naic.org/insurance-topics/business-interruption-and-business-owner-policy "Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy")

## Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy

### Writing Company Disclosure

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) for admitted Hiscox NOW BOPs. The Hartford's BOP page does not name which property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. Both sell a packaged small-business BOP rather than brokering a third-party form. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") [8](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice")

### Income in the Bundle Versus Hiscox Upgrades

The Hartford includes business income in the base BOP and says workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and data breach can be added, plus off-premises utility business-income coverage. Hiscox describes optional cyber, hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime as BOP upgrades tied to the occurrence limit, and lists seven states where the BOP itself is unavailable. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide")

### Average Premium Versus Illustrative Pricing

The Hartford reports customers paid an average of $1,687 a year. Hiscox's BOP page uses an illustrative California IT consultant table labeled as not a quote and does not publish standard limits. Both offer an online quote path; The Hartford also lists a phone number. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage")

## What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes

- Confirm Hiscox BOP availability in your state. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide")
- Get the Hartford writing company from the quote. [8](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice")
- Compare business income on The Hartford form with Hiscox's upgrade set. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage")
- Treat The Hartford's $1,687 figure as an estimate, not your premium. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Hiscox Business Owner's Policy | The Hartford Business Owner's Policy (BOP) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc. sells a business owner's policy directly online to small businesses, combining general liability and commercial property into one package as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted catalogue. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated online small-business channel..) | The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: BOP product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW business owner's policies. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [3](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Admitted small-business BOP coverage as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote..) | The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") [8](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox's 2026 appetite guide says its business owner's policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia, a narrower footprint than the 49-state-plus-D.C. availability Hiscox states for its overall online small-business catalogue. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: State-exception list as of the 2026 agent appetite guide; does not by itself establish eligibility for a specific class or business..) | The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: BOP product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes optional add-ons to its business owner's policy including cyber coverage, hired/non-owned commercial auto, and commercial crime; hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades tied to the BOP's own occurrence limit and are not sold as standalone Hiscox policies. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability "Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance") [6](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime "Commercial crime insurance for small businesses") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page and upgrade-page descriptions; commercial crime is also stated as not available in all states..) | The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: BOP product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The BOP page does not publish standard coverage limits; the illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table on the page is explicitly labeled illustrative rather than a quote. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public product page as previously reviewed..) | The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business..) |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy a business owner's policy online, and can select add-on coverages such as cyber or commercial crime during that process where available. [4](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application..) | The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?](https://spot.insure/coverage/business-owners-policy): A business owner's policy (BOP) combines property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses.
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/cyber)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/general-liability)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/workers-compensation)
- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox/business-owners-policy)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy)
- [Amelia Risk vs Hiscox Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-hiscox/business-owners-policy)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy)
- [Chubb vs Hiscox Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-hiscox/business-owners-policy)
- [Chubb vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy)

## Sources

### Hiscox

1. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy). Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability). Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner's policy and part of that policy's occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Commercial crime insurance for small businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime). Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Accessed 2026-09-16.

### The Hartford

8. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; P&C writing-company table; statement that coverages may be offered by one or more subsidiaries of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc.. Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy). The Hartford; What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Business Owner’s Policy Guide

12. [Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy](https://content.naic.org/insurance-topics/business-interruption-and-business-owner-policy). National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
