---
title: "Hiscox vs Kinro"
description: "Hiscox underwrites its own small-business policies online; Kinro is an agency that compares options and displays Hiscox among other markets. Compare carrier-direct quoting with an agency shopping path."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-kinro"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "Hiscox", "Kinro"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-kinro)

# Hiscox vs Kinro

Hiscox underwrites its own small-business policies online; Kinro is an agency that compares options and displays Hiscox among other markets. Compare carrier-direct quoting with an agency shopping path.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Hiscox and Kinro against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. sells admitted small-business general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP directly through Hiscox. Kinro Insurance Services LLC is an agency that starts with a business-activity selector, shops more than 50 companies, and displays brands including Hiscox. Kinro is a complement when you want market comparison; it is not the Hiscox underwriting company. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages") [28](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance") [37](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers "For Carriers And MGAs")



## Introduction

A consultant who wants a same-day GL and E&O certificate can start online through Hiscox or start a Kinro quote that may return Hiscox, NEXT, Pie, Coterie or another displayed market. Kinro’s job is to compare options through an agency. Hiscox’s job is to underwrite Hiscox policies. The useful question is whether you want Hiscox paper specifically or a shopped panel. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [28](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### Hiscox

- Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer, handles online small-business sales; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated admitted insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Eligible applicants can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [8](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [9](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [10](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

### Kinro

- Buyers can start with a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before considering replacement options. [31](https://kinro.com/policy-review "Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.; verified: 2026-09-15.)
- Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and provides text updates linking to documents, certificates and coverage support. [28](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance") [32](https://kinro.com/text-updates "Text Updates From Kinro") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Hiscox | Kinro |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed [10](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Commercial auto | Listed [12](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Cyber liability | Listed [9](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| General liability | Listed [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Medical malpractice | Listed [13](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") | Not listed |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed [8](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") [41](https://kinro.com/products/professional-liability "Professional Liability / E&O") |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Trucking | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed [11](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") | Listed [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between Hiscox and Kinro

### Insurer Versus Agency Shopping

Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. for its consumer small-business products. Kinro identifies Kinro Insurance Services LLC (NPN 22233799) as an agency and says it works with more than 50 companies, displaying Progressive, GEICO, AmTrust, Pie, Coterie and NEXT among others. Kinro’s carrier-partners page is not a promise that every quote is Hiscox. [24](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile "Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile") [32](https://kinro.com/text-updates "Text Updates From Kinro")

### Zip-Code Start Versus Activity Selector

Hiscox begins with zip code and business type and may send some classes to specialists or partner carriers. Kinro’s public start is a four-step activity selector without login, with AI-assisted collection and licensed-agent follow-up. Kinro also offers a free policy-review upload of up to three files. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [29](https://kinro.com/account/application/start?new_quote=1&source_page=homepage "Start A New Quote")

### Catalogues and Published Consultant Benchmarks

Both sites talk about GL, BOP, professional liability, cyber and workers compensation, but Kinro’s catalogue also includes trucking and tools, and Hiscox routes WC, auto and group health through partners. Kinro publishes monthly consultant price benchmarks; those figures are Kinro’s marketing ranges, not Hiscox rates. [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **Named insurer** on the Kinro proposal if you thought you were buying Hiscox. [37](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers "For Carriers And MGAs")

- **Eligibility for Hiscox’s online small-business products** for the same class if you prefer carrier-direct paper. [23](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide")

- **Whether Kinro’s consultant price benchmarks** apply to your state and class at all. [44](https://kinro.com/industries/consultants "Consultant Insurance")



## Service Comparison

Hiscox vs Kinro: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | Hiscox | Kinro |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Hiscox is the brand name used by its U.S. insurance businesses. Website terms identify Hiscox Inc., a Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, as a licensed insurance intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business. About Hiscox US names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the affiliated insurer and Hiscox Inc. as its general agent. Broker-only pages are restricted to licensed market professionals; the small-business section is the consumer product path. [5](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [4](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>In California, Hiscox Inc. says it does business as Hiscox Insurance Agency and publishes producer license number 0F09668. Its current producer-license status remains independently unverified; the number is company-reported. [6](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") [23](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [11](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: California producer identity as published on Hiscox pages accessed 16 September 2026. Not a substitute for a live CDI Check a License search at purchase.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Kinro’s website identifies Kinro Insurance Services LLC and displays National Producer Number (NPN) 22233799. It describes the business as a commercial insurance brokerage: the intermediary helping arrange coverage. The insurer issuing your policy is a separate role. [32](https://kinro.com/text-updates "Text Updates From Kinro") [37](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers "For Carriers And MGAs") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Website identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro’s public pages use several names: the footer names Kinro Insurance Services LLC, text-message disclosures name Kinro, Inc., and the Terms of Service name Kinro AI. Those terms describe selling AI sales-agent technology to financial-services companies under commercial orders. They do not clearly explain how those names or contracts relate to an insurance buyer’s agency agreement. [33](https://kinro.com/terms-of-service "Terms Of Service") [32](https://kinro.com/text-updates "Text Updates From Kinro") (Evidence: Conflicting sources; scope: Unresolved entity and service-scope mismatch within current official pages; no inference of corporate ownership, renaming or misconduct. Terms effective August 10, 2026.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro also offers market access and technology to independent agencies and agents. Its partner page says they retain the customer relationship, subject to their written agreement. Its separate commercial-placement service asks the parties to allocate advice, binding, billing, endorsements, certificates, renewals, and communication before placing business. [35](https://kinro.com/partners/agencies "Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents") [36](https://kinro.com/partners/commercial-placement "Commercial Insurance Placement Support") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: B2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Application process | Hiscox says eligible buyers can get a small-business quote online by entering a zip code and answering questions, and that general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP are offered online. Licensed advisors are available by phone at posted Eastern Time hours. The general-liability FAQ says that after the application is completed, the policy is issued by email and a certificate appears in welcome documents. These are company-described steps; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [1](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance "Hiscox Small Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Kinro’s public “Start a new quote” page opens without a login and begins with a business-activity selector, labeled step 1 of 4. Later application steps, quote results, payment, and binding were not inspected. [29](https://kinro.com/account/application/start?new_quote=1&source_page=homepage "Start A New Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Observed initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro says AI helps collect information and present available quote options, with licensed-agent support. Its homepage describes agent follow-up after submission and advertises a roughly two-minute reply. That is a response-time claim, not a verified deadline for receiving or binding insurance. [28](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro offers a free review starting with an upload of a declarations page, renewal packet, or policy. It accepts up to three PDF, PNG, or JPG files, each up to 25 MB. Its promise to seek a better price with equivalent or higher coverage is a company claim; no replacement quote or coverage comparison was tested. [31](https://kinro.com/policy-review "Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Coverage lines | Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. [16](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [8](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [9](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [10](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [2](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability "Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance") [21](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime "Commercial crime insurance for small businesses") [10](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hiscox also markets partner coverage for workers’ compensation (Hartford Fire, generally requiring a Hiscox general-liability policy), commercial auto (GEICO referral and, separately, CyberPolicy), medical malpractice (NOW Insurance), short-term liability (Thimble/Markel), and CyberPolicy quotes for umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability. Those pages are partner access paths, not proof that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. [11](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [12](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") [13](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") [14](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance "Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages") [26](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability "Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current partner product pages. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is a different offering from the CyberPolicy D&O/EPLI links.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Kinro lists general liability, business owner’s policies, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, trucking, commercial property, tools and equipment, hired and non-owned auto, umbrella or excess liability, professional liability, cyber, and directors and officers insurance. These are shopping categories; the catalogue does not establish eligibility or a single package containing them all. [30](https://kinro.com/products "Commercial Insurance Products") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Advertised product catalogue for U.S. businesses. No specimen contract, issuing-insurer mapping or state-specific eligibility inferred.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro describes a business owner’s policy as a package that can combine general liability and business property for eligible businesses. Its intake guidance asks about the premises, inventory, equipment, improvements, and required limits. [39](https://kinro.com/products/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company product overview, not policy wording; no finding about business interruption, catastrophe coverage or particular insurer terms.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>For professional liability—also called errors and omissions, or E&O—Kinro asks about your services, clients, contracts, prior claims, and existing coverage. Its cyber guide separately asks about data, multi-factor authentication, backups, vendor access, and prior incidents. [41](https://kinro.com/products/professional-liability "Professional Liability / E&O") [42](https://kinro.com/products/cyber-liability "Cyber Liability") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Published inputs, not a tested underwriting process or guarantee of cyber incident, funds-transfer, professional or technology coverage.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Kinro’s directors and officers guide addresses businesses with investors, boards, or financing requirements. It calls for funding, ownership, board, debt, and claims information, and treats employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverage as additional questions to review. [43](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product guidance; companion lines are not automatically included.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The reviewed product guides did not identify an issuing insurer or provide specimen policy forms for these placements. Limits, deductibles, exclusions, and the precise coverage wording need the actual proposal and policy. [38](https://kinro.com/products/general-liability "General Liability") [39](https://kinro.com/products/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [41](https://kinro.com/products/professional-liability "Professional Liability / E&O") [42](https://kinro.com/products/cyber-liability "Cyber Liability") [43](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Scoped to cited current product pages; no claim that forms are unavailable on request or elsewhere.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Claims assistance | Hiscox says customers can start a claim online, by phone or by mail. The claims center lists 1-866-424-8508 with weekday and weekend Eastern hours; a professional-liability FAQ separately tells current customers that 866-424-8508 is open 24 hours a day. Hiscox says it assigns a specialized claims professional, validates coverage and may appoint an attorney for covered liability claims. Policies placed with Hartford, GEICO, NOW Insurance, Markel/Thimble or CyberPolicy markets may use different notice instructions. These statements describe a reporting process, not independently measured claims outcomes. [17](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center "Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail") [27](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | The reviewed contact page, text-update disclosures, and placement terms did not establish a dedicated claims-reporting procedure or identify who adjusts a claim. Ask for the policy’s reporting instructions and the responsible insurer or claims administrator; general agency support does not establish claims-payment responsibility. [46](https://kinro.com/contact "Contact Kinro") [32](https://kinro.com/text-updates "Text Updates From Kinro") [36](https://kinro.com/partners/commercial-placement "Commercial Insurance Placement Support") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Scoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Fees and compensation | Hiscox’s general-liability FAQ says buyers may pay annually or monthly with no additional fees, using debit or credit card. The California small-business page also lists monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual options with no fees. Product pages advertise up to a 5% discount for bundling certain Hiscox coverages. Published tables of monthly cost are labeled illustrative and are not quotes. [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [6](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") [10](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The reviewed Hiscox small-business, terms-of-use and appetite pages do not publish a buyer-facing commission, producer-fee or contingent-commission schedule. The 2026 appetite guide states that actual cost, commission, premium and coverage may vary with underwriting. Amounts payable besides premium therefore remain not disclosed in those sources. [23](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [5](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [7](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Kinro discloses that it may receive compensation when it places a policy. Its agency-partner page also describes commissions, with the basis, deductions, chargebacks, and payment timing set by agreement. The reviewed disclosures do not state what Kinro or another producer would earn on your policy, or whether your purchase would include a separate buyer-paid fee. [45](https://kinro.com/blog/reviews/methodology "Insurance Review Methodology") [35](https://kinro.com/partners/agencies "Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Placement-compensation disclosure and partner economics only. No disclosed retail rate schedule; do not apply B2B commission examples or technology-service fees to consumers.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>For consultants, Kinro publishes monthly benchmarks of $25–$35 for general liability, $50–$65 for professional liability, and $90–$105 for cyber. It labels these market benchmarks, not quotes or guaranteed prices. They do not specify a matched insurer, limit, deductible, and policy form for your business. [44](https://kinro.com/industries/consultants "Consultant Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: One industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Hiscox?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)
- [What Is Kinro Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Alliance Risk vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-kinro)
- [Amelia Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Amelia Risk vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-kinro)
- [Armilla vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-hiscox)
- [Armilla vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-kinro)
- [At-Bay vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox)
- [At-Bay vs Kinro Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-kinro)
- [Beazley vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-hiscox)
- [Beazley vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-kinro)
- [CFC vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-hiscox)
- [CFC vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-kinro)
- [Chubb vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-hiscox)
- [Chubb vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-kinro)
- [Coalition vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-hiscox)
- [Coalition vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-kinro)
- [Corgi vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-hiscox)
- [Corgi vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-kinro)
- [Coterie vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-hiscox)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-kinro)
- [Coverdash vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-hiscox)
- [Coverdash vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-kinro)
- [Cowbell vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-hiscox)
- [Cowbell vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-kinro)
- [Embroker vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-hiscox)
- [Embroker vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-kinro)
- [Founder Shield vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hiscox)
- [Founder Shield vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-kinro)
- [Gallagher vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-hiscox)
- [Gallagher vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-kinro)
- [Harper vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-hiscox)
- [Harper vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-kinro)
- [Heffernan vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-hiscox)
- [Heffernan vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-kinro)
- [Hiscox vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-hub-international)
- [Hiscox vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-layr)
- [Hiscox vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-lockton)
- [Hiscox vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-marsh)
- [Hiscox vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-mylo)
- [Hiscox vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-newfront)
- [Hiscox vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-next-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Relm](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-relm)
- [Hiscox vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-resilience)
- [Hiscox vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-riskcube)
- [Hiscox vs Risklytics](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-risklytics)
- [Hiscox vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-techinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-travelers)
- [Hiscox vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi)
- [Hiscox vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-vouch)
- [Hiscox vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-withcoverage)
- [HUB International vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-kinro)
- [Kinro vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-layr)
- [Kinro vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-lockton)
- [Kinro vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-marsh)
- [Kinro vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-mylo)
- [Kinro vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-newfront)
- [Kinro vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-next-insurance)
- [Kinro vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Kinro vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-relm)
- [Kinro vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-resilience)
- [Kinro vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-riskcube)
- [Kinro vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-risklytics)
- [Kinro vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Kinro vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-techinsurance)
- [Kinro vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-the-hartford)
- [Kinro vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-travelers)
- [Kinro vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-usi)
- [Kinro vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-vouch)
- [Kinro vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [Hiscox Official Website](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance)

1. [Hiscox Small Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance). Hiscox; Product selector (GL, professional liability/E&O, cyber, workers compensation, commercial auto, medical malpractice, short-term liability); FAQ that Hiscox is licensed in 49 states and D.C. and unavailable in Alaska; partnership language for workers’ compensation; online quote statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [IT Professional & General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance). Hiscox; IT/technology professional audience; general liability, BOP, professional liability/E&O and cyber security descriptions for IT businesses; illustrative cyber breach-response example. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Insurance for IT Consultants](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance/it-consultant-insurance). Hiscox; IT consultant professional-liability and general-liability descriptions, including the phrase technology professional liability insurance as a label for E&O for IT work. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [California Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance). Hiscox; California product list (GL, professional liability, BOP, workers compensation, cyber); IT/technology profession link; payment-option and worldwide-claim-filing statements; footer that products are approved by the California Department of Insurance and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware licensed producer; California d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency license no. 0F09668; coverage subject to underwriting and may not be available in all states; company-stated Illinois license number 8754. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Online quote; 49-state and D.C. availability with Alaska excluded; broker-referral if not sold online; payment annually or monthly with no additional fees; online 24/7 claim reporting; policy issued via email and certificate in welcome documents; illustrative California consultant pricing table labeled as illustrative; electronic data liability for IT professions; coverage subject to underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance). Hiscox; Standalone cyber security/cyber liability product with online quote; data-breach, cyberattack and related-loss descriptions; licensed-agent phone number 1-833-816-2811. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy). Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table labeled with asterisks; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with The Hartford; general liability required to purchase workers comp; not available for all classes; footer that coverage is made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance, One Hartford Plaza, Hartford, CT 06155. Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance). Hiscox; Commercial auto product page; quote redirect to a site not owned by Hiscox; customers referred to GEICO by Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA; products underwritten by Government Employees Insurance Company and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Medical Malpractice Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with NOW Insurance for medical malpractice quotes; footer that NOW Insurance is not affiliated with the Hiscox group and that Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA provides access to coverage available through NOW Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
14. [Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with Thimble for short-term general and professional liability; not available in all jurisdictions or classes; underwritten by Markel Insurance Company, Ten Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015. Accessed 2026-09-16.
15. [Specific Business Insurance Coverages](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with CyberPolicy for additional coverages including commercial auto, umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability, with quote links to sme.cyberpolicy.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
16. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
17. [Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center). Hiscox; Online claim filing; phone 1-866-424-8508 with posted hours; specialized claims professional assignment; coverage validation; liability claims attorney-appointment description; broker-reported claims option; company marketing phrase award-winning claims service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
18. [Manage your policy](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy). Hiscox; Online account functions: download policy documents, certificates, authorized person, same-state address and business-name changes, loss runs, waiver of subrogation, certificate holder, document submission; phone-only changes including payment method, limits, new-state address, coverage adjustments and cancellation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
19. [Get a Certificate of Insurance (COI)](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/get-certificate-of-insurance). Hiscox; Online ACORD/certificate generation using policy number and policy email address. Accessed 2026-09-16.
20. [Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability). Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner’s policy and part of that policy’s occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
21. [Commercial crime insurance for small businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime). Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
22. [Contact Us](https://www.hiscox.com/contact-us). Hiscox; U.S. locations including Atlanta headquarters and a Los Angeles office; statement that Hiscox operates in 49 U.S. states and D.C. and offers specialty products through U.S. brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
23. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Document 23295 07/26; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia; technology classes including IT consultants and software development; footer that products are made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; commission and premium may vary. Accessed 2026-09-16.
24. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; NAIC 10200; California Company ID 1439-9; authorized in California 09/14/1953; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Illinois; NAIC Group 4666 Hiscox Ins Grp; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, surety and others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
25. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=59700&s=Active&t=INS). Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; P&C Domestic Stock; domicile County of Cook, Illinois; parent Hiscox Ltd.; status Active; NAIC 4666 10200; incorporated 11/26/1952; 125 South Wacker Drive Suite 2080 Chicago, IL 60606. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability). Hiscox; Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite management liability and crime solution; statement we are no longer entertaining risks in the metro areas of California; add-on references to media, cyber, crime and technology; not the consumer small-business online catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [What is Professional Liability Insurance?](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq). Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number 866-424-8508 described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.

### [Kinro Official Website](https://kinro.com)

28. [Kinro Business Insurance](https://kinro.com/). Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
29. [Start A New Quote](https://kinro.com/account/application/start?new_quote=1&source_page=homepage). Kinro; Unauthenticated browser view: New Autoquote, Start a new quote, step 1 of 4, business activity selector; no answers entered. Accessed 2026-09-15.
30. [Commercial Insurance Products](https://kinro.com/products). Kinro; Most common starting points; Vehicles, property, and field operations; Professional, cyber, and leadership risk; How Kinro narrows it down. Accessed 2026-09-15.
31. [Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy](https://kinro.com/policy-review). Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
32. [Text Updates From Kinro](https://kinro.com/text-updates). Kinro; Brokerage description; Who sends them (Kinro, Inc.); service and optional marketing consent; What you will receive; LLC footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
33. [Terms Of Service](https://kinro.com/terms-of-service). Kinro; Effective August 10, 2026; introduction names Kinro AI; sections 1 Services, 6 Mobile Messaging Terms, 7 Warranties & Disclaimers; LLC footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
34. [Privacy Policy](https://kinro.com/privacy-policy). Kinro; Effective August 10, 2026; Website Visitor Identification and Marketing Partners; Sharing and Disclosure; Mobile Messaging Privacy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
35. [Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents](https://kinro.com/partners/agencies). Kinro; Opening role description; Carrier access; High commission rates; approval and written-agreement qualifications; How to get started. Accessed 2026-09-15.
36. [Commercial Insurance Placement Support](https://kinro.com/partners/commercial-placement). Kinro; Appetite fit; Placement path; Client and servicing ownership; no-guarantee paragraph after step 3. Accessed 2026-09-15.
37. [For Carriers And MGAs](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers). Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
38. [General Liability](https://kinro.com/products/general-liability). Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Coverage comparison and actual-policy qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
39. [Business Owner’s Policy](https://kinro.com/products/business-owners-policy). Kinro; Introduction; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
40. [Workers Compensation](https://kinro.com/products/workers-compensation). Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including payroll by state, owner inclusion/exclusion and employee duties. Accessed 2026-09-15.
41. [Professional Liability / E&O](https://kinro.com/products/professional-liability). Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including services, client types, prior claims, retroactive dates and current coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
42. [Cyber Liability](https://kinro.com/products/cyber-liability). Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including data, MFA, backups, vendor access and prior incidents. Accessed 2026-09-15.
43. [Directors & Officers](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers). Kinro; Common fit; What it usually handles; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
44. [Consultant Insurance](https://kinro.com/industries/consultants). Kinro; How much does consultant insurance cost?; benchmark amounts; FAQ on reviewing a client insurance clause; Typical market benchmarks qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
45. [Insurance Review Methodology](https://kinro.com/blog/reviews/methodology). Kinro; Updated August 30, 2026; Reviews are general information; Authorship and insurance review; Editorial independence and automation (compensation and nonpublic access relationships). Accessed 2026-09-15.
46. [Contact Kinro](https://kinro.com/contact). Kinro; Opening policy-support description; direct contact channels and message form. Accessed 2026-09-15.
47. [Look Up A National Producer Number](https://nipr.com/licensing-center/look-up-a-national-producer-number). National Insurance Producer Registry; Definition: NPN is a unique NAIC identifier assigned during the licensing application process; assigned to individuals and business entities. Accessed 2026-09-15.
48. [Business Name Search](https://cdicloud.insurance.ca.gov/cal/BusinessNameSearch). California Department of Insurance; Search for Kinro on September 15, 2026 returned Captcha validation failed; no license result was retrieved. This is an access limitation, not a negative license search.. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-kinro.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
