---
title: "Founder Shield vs Hiscox"
description: "Founder Shield is a Baldwin Group broker for venture-backed companies; Hiscox is a small-business carrier with online quoting. Compare a high-growth brokerage program with carrier-direct small-business policies."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hiscox"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "Founder Shield", "Hiscox"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hiscox)

# Founder Shield vs Hiscox

Founder Shield is a Baldwin Group broker for venture-backed companies; Hiscox is a small-business carrier with online quoting. Compare a high-growth brokerage program with carrier-direct small-business policies.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Founder Shield and Hiscox against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

Founder Shield (Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions / Foundershield LLC) places coverage across a large carrier panel, including generative-AI liability distributed with Testudo as underwriter. Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. underwrites general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy available online. Hiscox’s listed online products do not include the Testudo generative-AI facility Founder Shield describes. [1](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [3](https://foundershield.com/about-us/ "About Us") [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [32](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance")



## Introduction

A company raising a priced round often needs directors and officers liability, sometimes a generative-AI placement, and a broker that markets access to more than 200 carriers. Founder Shield describes that brokerage. Hiscox markets admitted general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy for eligible small businesses. A Hiscox small-business policy is not, by itself, the directors and officers product Founder Shield describes, and appointing Founder Shield does not mean Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. will be the insurer. [6](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### Founder Shield

- A focus on venture-backed and high-growth businesses spans early funding rounds through an initial public offering. [1](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [6](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee.; verified: 2026-09-15.)
- Founder Shield asks clients to flag new products, business models, offices and territories so its team can review coverage changes. [19](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-if-our-company-grows-a-lot-or-things-change-during-the-year/ "What If Our Company Grows A Lot or Things Change During the Year?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Changes FAQ. Does not establish automatic increases in limits, approval of new activities or protection without a policy change.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### Hiscox

- Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer, handles online small-business sales; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated admitted insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. [33](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [32](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Eligible applicants can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [36](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [37](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [38](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [30](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Founder Shield | Hiscox |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed [38](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") |
| Cargo and transit | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed [40](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") |
| Commercial property | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Contract frustration | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Crime | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Listed [37](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [30](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") |
| Digital assets | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Directors and officers | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Employee health and benefits | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Listed [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") |
| Generative AI liability | Listed [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance") | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Intellectual property | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Key person | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Last-mile delivery | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed [28](https://foundershield.com/coverage/content-creator/ "Content Creator Insurance") | Not listed |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed [41](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") |
| Product liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Listed [36](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [30](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") |
| Representations and warranties | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Venture capital asset protection | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") | Listed [39](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between Founder Shield and Hiscox

### Baldwin Brokerage Versus Hiscox Underwriting

Founder Shield operates within The Baldwin Group and describes itself as a commercial broker that does not issue the insurance. Hiscox describes Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as the company behind Hiscox small-business products. The legal producer names on Founder Shield materials (including Foundershield LLC in license text) are brokerage entities, not Hiscox. [1](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [52](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile "Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile")

### Venture Catalogue Versus Small-Business Core Lines

Founder Shield’s menu includes workers compensation, directors and officers, cyber, errors and omissions and a standalone generative-AI liability product distributed with Testudo as underwriter. Hiscox lists general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy for online quoting, and refers workers compensation, commercial auto and group health to partner pages. Hiscox small-business product pages used as sources here do not describe a Testudo generative-AI facility. [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

### Application and Bind

Founder Shield advertises a portal account and an application that takes under 15 minutes—an application-time claim, not a guaranteed bind. After you approve a proposal, choose payment and a start date, its team binds with the insurer. Hiscox starts with zip-code questions and can still send some classes to a specialist. [6](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **Whether D&O or generative-AI liability is required** this round; those sit on Founder Shield’s menu, not Hiscox’s core consumer list. [13](https://foundershield.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-insurance/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance")

- **Issuing carrier** on any Founder Shield proposal versus Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. [6](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") [10](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/ "How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?")

- **Testudo versus Hiscox forms** if AI liability is in scope. [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance")



## Service Comparison

Founder Shield vs Hiscox: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | Founder Shield | Hiscox |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Founder Shield is a commercial insurance broker: it helps businesses choose coverage and arrange policies with insurers. Its terms say it does not insure the risk or decide whether a claim is covered. [1](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [2](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brand’s documented intermediary role. No assertion of current state licensure or universal underwriting authority.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield operates within The Baldwin Group, which lists it among its acquired firms. Founder Shield describes itself as the group’s innovation arm. [3](https://foundershield.com/about-us/ "About Us") [4](https://baldwin.com/partnerships/ "Partnerships") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current brand relationship corroborated by the group’s own site. No claim about ultimate investors, public listing status or a current intermediary ownership chain.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The terms name The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC as the contracting company, but the License Status section identifies Foundershield LLC as the producer. The reviewed records do not resolve which entity would appear on a new engagement; ask for its legal name and applicable license. [2](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") [5](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/exhibit-211fy2025q4.htm "List of Subsidiaries as of February 26, 2026") [24](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf "Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: The SEC subsidiary list names Specialty Solutions; the 2025 New York record names Foundershield LLC. Neither establishes a name change, merger, successor relationship or the producer on every current transaction.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>New York’s Department of Financial Services reported a $36,600 fine against Foundershield LLC for late filing of excess-line documents for recording and stamping during January 2019–March 2023. The consent order was approved on June 26, 2025. The notice concerns filing compliance, not a finding about claims payments. [24](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf "Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025") (Evidence: Verified; scope: August 21, 2025 disciplinary notice, PDF page 6, visually checked against the original. Does not establish current license status, remediation, policy invalidity or a pattern of claims conduct.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Hiscox is the brand name used by its U.S. insurance businesses. Website terms identify Hiscox Inc., a Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, as a licensed insurance intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business. About Hiscox US names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the affiliated insurer and Hiscox Inc. as its general agent. Broker-only pages are restricted to licensed market professionals; the small-business section is the consumer product path. [33](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [32](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>In California, Hiscox Inc. says it does business as Hiscox Insurance Agency and publishes producer license number 0F09668. Its current producer-license status remains independently unverified; the number is company-reported. [34](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") [51](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [39](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [33](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: California producer identity as published on Hiscox pages accessed 16 September 2026. Not a substitute for a live CDI Check a License search at purchase.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Coverage lines | Founder Shield’s catalogue includes general liability, property, workers’ compensation, cyber, errors and omissions, directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary and crime insurance. Specialized options include intellectual property, product liability, last-mile delivery, representations and warranties for acquisitions, and venture-capital asset protection. [11](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Published offer categories only. Coverage availability, limits and wording are carrier- and risk-specific; no blanket package entitlement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield offers individual coverages as well as startup packages. Its FAQ describes adjusting limits and deductibles, adding endorsements, and including or removing coverage types to match the business. [12](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-we-purchase-a-la-carte-commercial-insurance/ "How Do We Purchase “A La Carte” Commercial Insurance?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Endorsements are changes to policy wording. Customization is company-described, not automatic insurer acceptance of every requested term.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Its D&O guide distinguishes protection for individual directors and officers, reimbursement when the company pays to defend them, and coverage for the company itself. It also flags exclusions for claims brought by major shareholders. The actual form and endorsements determine which protections a quote includes. [13](https://foundershield.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-insurance/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O educational product page, not a proprietary Founder Shield specimen. No universal Side C wording, exclusion threshold, retention or form number established.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield markets a standalone generative-AI liability product for US businesses using AI in their operations, with revenue up to $10 billion. Its page excludes companies selling AI products, standard cyberattacks and intentional misuse. [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company product summary; a business that both sells and uses AI needs account-specific eligibility review. Do not treat broad AI-industry marketing as acceptance into this product.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The AI product page describes claims-made-and-reported coverage, so the timing of both the claim and its reporting matters. It describes a duty to defend covered claims, with defense spending reducing the available policy limit. Listed risks include AI-output errors, intellectual-property infringement or defamation, data disclosure, bodily injury and property damage. [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product description only. No specimen policy inspected; exact reporting windows, definitions, exclusions, sublimits and retention remain quote-specific.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield’s AI page describes five coverage categories. Testudo’s current broker page lists six, adding AI regulatory violations. The summaries differ; confirm the proposed form and whether that additional coverage is included before relying on it. [14](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance") [15](https://www.testudo.co/brokers "AI Liability Insurance for Brokers") (Evidence: Conflicting sources; scope: Unresolved difference between linked distributor and underwriting-provider summaries as accessed September 15, 2026. Could reflect different versions or scope; no inference that every Founder Shield quote includes or excludes the sixth agreement.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [36](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [37](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [38](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [30](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. [48](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability "Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance") [49](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime "Commercial crime insurance for small businesses") [38](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hiscox also markets partner coverage for workers’ compensation (Hartford Fire, generally requiring a Hiscox general-liability policy), commercial auto (GEICO referral and, separately, CyberPolicy), medical malpractice (NOW Insurance), short-term liability (Thimble/Markel), and CyberPolicy quotes for umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability. Those pages are partner access paths, not proof that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. [39](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [40](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") [41](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") [42](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance "Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [43](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages") [54](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability "Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current partner product pages. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is a different offering from the CyberPolicy D&O/EPLI links.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | The Get a Quote link opens a portal with Create Account and Sign In options. Registration offers Google, Microsoft, or an email address and password. [7](https://apx.foundershield.com/ "Quote Portal") [8](https://apx.foundershield.com/register "Create Account") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Public interface directly observed in Chrome on September 15, 2026. No sign-in, identity-provider flow, registration submission, quote or authenticated workflow tested.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield advertises an application that takes under 15 minutes. That is an application-time claim, not a guaranteed time to receive insurer terms or put coverage in force. [6](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Startup page marketing claim. No timed application or binding exercise performed.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>To buy coverage, Founder Shield’s FAQ says you approve a proposal, select a payment method and choose the desired start date. Its team then follows up on documents needing electronic signatures and handles the insurer’s paperwork. [9](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/ "How Do I Bind Coverage?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Documented general process; the actual carrier’s outstanding requirements and confirmation determine the transaction. No completed purchase observed.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Hiscox says eligible buyers can get a small-business quote online by entering a zip code and answering questions, and that general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP are offered online. Licensed advisors are available by phone at posted Eastern Time hours. The general-liability FAQ says that after the application is completed, the policy is issued by email and a certificate appears in welcome documents. These are company-described steps; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. [44](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance "Hiscox Small Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Fees and compensation | Founder Shield’s pricing FAQ says quotes generally cover one year, unless stated otherwise, and include the fees and charges for that policy period. It describes full payment, carrier installments and financing through premium-finance companies, depending on the policy and payment arrangement. [22](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-am-i-actually-getting-for-the-price-of-business-insurance/ "What Am I Actually Getting For the Price of Business Insurance?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: General billing description, not a quoted premium, guaranteed financing eligibility or a statement that borrowing costs are included in the insurance price.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield discloses compensation through commissions, fees or interest and invites questions about the amount and nature of that compensation. Its terms say customer charges will be disclosed in advance. [2](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Fees and Charges section. No account-specific compensation amount or universally applicable fee schedule obtained.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The Baldwin Group’s January 2026 disclosure also describes client fees, commissions tied to volume or profitability, compensation for affiliated placement services, and referral fees from providers such as premium-finance companies. These are possible group arrangements, not a finding that each applies to your Founder Shield policy. [23](https://baldwin.com/transparency-disclosure/ "Transparency & Disclosure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Group-wide disclosure, not account-specific remuneration. Client fees can be in lieu of or additional to retail commissions. No inferred misconduct or automatic financial conflict outcome.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Hiscox’s general-liability FAQ says buyers may pay annually or monthly with no additional fees, using debit or credit card. The California small-business page also lists monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual options with no fees. Product pages advertise up to a 5% discount for bundling certain Hiscox coverages. Published tables of monthly cost are labeled illustrative and are not quotes. [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [34](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") [38](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The reviewed Hiscox small-business, terms-of-use and appetite pages do not publish a buyer-facing commission, producer-fee or contingent-commission schedule. The 2026 appetite guide states that actual cost, commission, premium and coverage may vary with underwriting. Amounts payable besides premium therefore remain not disclosed in those sources. [51](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [33](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Claims assistance | Founder Shield describes claims advocacy that includes reporting guidance, help with disputes and policy review when defense counsel is needed. Its claims page says you can report through the portal at any time or directly to the insurer using the notice details in the policy. [21](https://foundershield.com/claims/ "Claims") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company description of reporting and advocacy, not evidence of response speed, settlement quality or coverage entitlement. The public claims link redirected to login; no claim submitted.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield says its app offers claim updates, progress tracking and requests for information from the insurer. The insurer’s coverage decision remains separate from the broker’s assistance. [21](https://foundershield.com/claims/ "Claims") [2](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public claims-page capabilities and terms’ no-coverage-determinations disclosure. No claim file or payment outcome reviewed.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Hiscox says customers can start a claim online, by phone or by mail. The claims center lists 1-866-424-8508 with weekday and weekend Eastern hours; a professional-liability FAQ separately tells current customers that 866-424-8508 is open 24 hours a day. Hiscox says it assigns a specialized claims professional, validates coverage and may appoint an attorney for covered liability claims. Policies placed with Hartford, GEICO, NOW Insurance, Markel/Thimble or CyberPolicy markets may use different notice instructions. These statements describe a reporting process, not independently measured claims outcomes. [45](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center "Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail") [55](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") [35](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Founder Shield Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foundershield)
- [What Is Hiscox?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-foundershield)
- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Amelia Risk vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-foundershield)
- [Amelia Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Armilla vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-foundershield)
- [Armilla vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-hiscox)
- [At-Bay vs Founder Shield Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-foundershield)
- [At-Bay vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox)
- [Beazley vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-foundershield)
- [Beazley vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-hiscox)
- [CFC vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-foundershield)
- [CFC vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-hiscox)
- [Chubb vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-foundershield)
- [Chubb vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-hiscox)
- [Coalition vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-foundershield)
- [Coalition vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-hiscox)
- [Corgi vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-foundershield)
- [Corgi vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-hiscox)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-foundershield)
- [Coterie vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-hiscox)
- [Coverdash vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-foundershield)
- [Coverdash vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-hiscox)
- [Cowbell vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-foundershield)
- [Cowbell vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-hiscox)
- [Embroker vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-foundershield)
- [Embroker vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-hiscox)
- [Founder Shield vs Gallagher](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-gallagher)
- [Founder Shield vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-harper)
- [Founder Shield vs Heffernan](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-heffernan)
- [Founder Shield vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hub-international)
- [Founder Shield vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-kinro)
- [Founder Shield vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-layr)
- [Founder Shield vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-lockton)
- [Founder Shield vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-marsh)
- [Founder Shield vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-mylo)
- [Founder Shield vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-newfront)
- [Founder Shield vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-next-insurance)
- [Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Founder Shield vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-relm)
- [Founder Shield vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-resilience)
- [Founder Shield vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-riskcube)
- [Founder Shield vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-risklytics)
- [Founder Shield vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Founder Shield vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-techinsurance)
- [Founder Shield vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-the-hartford)
- [Founder Shield vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-travelers)
- [Founder Shield vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-usi)
- [Founder Shield vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-vouch)
- [Founder Shield vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-withcoverage)
- [Gallagher vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-hiscox)
- [Harper vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-hiscox)
- [Heffernan vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-hiscox)
- [Hiscox vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-hub-international)
- [Hiscox vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-kinro)
- [Hiscox vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-layr)
- [Hiscox vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-lockton)
- [Hiscox vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-marsh)
- [Hiscox vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-mylo)
- [Hiscox vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-newfront)
- [Hiscox vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-next-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Relm](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-relm)
- [Hiscox vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-resilience)
- [Hiscox vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-riskcube)
- [Hiscox vs Risklytics](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-risklytics)
- [Hiscox vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-techinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-travelers)
- [Hiscox vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi)
- [Hiscox vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-vouch)
- [Hiscox vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [Founder Shield Official Website](https://foundershield.com)

1. [Founder Shield](https://foundershield.com/). Founder Shield; Opening broker description; Specialized Practices; Smart Tech, Smarter People; quote and sign-in links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [Terms of Service](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/). Founder Shield; Opening agreement; License Status; Representations and Disclaimers Related to Products or Services; Fees and Charges; Void Where Prohibited. Accessed 2026-09-15.
3. [About Us](https://foundershield.com/about-us/). Founder Shield; Opening description and Charting Your path from MVP to IPO. Accessed 2026-09-15.
4. [Partnerships](https://baldwin.com/partnerships/). The Baldwin Group; Brand-change introduction and 2020–2024 acquisitions list, Founder Shield entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [List of Subsidiaries as of February 26, 2026](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/exhibit-211fy2025q4.htm). The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. (SEC filing); Exhibit 21.1, list as of February 26, 2026: The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC, Florida. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [Startup Insurance](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/). Founder Shield; Why Startups Choose Founder Shield; Industries We Serve; Essential Policies to Consider; What Coverage Does your Startup Need?. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Quote Portal](https://apx.foundershield.com/). Founder Shield; Public landing screen, Create Account and Sign In links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
8. [Create Account](https://apx.foundershield.com/register). Founder Shield; Public registration screen: Google, Microsoft, email and password options. Accessed 2026-09-15.
9. [How Do I Bind Coverage?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/). Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: proposal approval, payment, effective date and electronic signatures. Accessed 2026-09-15.
10. [How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/). Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: appetite, stated rating standard and carrier-selection criteria. Accessed 2026-09-15.
11. [Coverage](https://foundershield.com/coverage/). Founder Shield; Core Coverage and Specialized Coverage lists. Accessed 2026-09-15.
12. [How Do We Purchase “A La Carte” Commercial Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-we-purchase-a-la-carte-commercial-insurance/). Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: individual coverages, limits, deductibles and endorsements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
13. [Directors & Officers Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-insurance/). Founder Shield; What Does D&O Insurance Cover?; Major Shareholder Exclusion; D&O Insurance Cost and Enhancements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
14. [Generative AI Liability Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/). Founder Shield; Who Needs coverage; five coverage categories; Generative AI Liability Policy; exclusions; Speak with a Generative AI Liability Insurance Broker. Accessed 2026-09-15.
15. [AI Liability Insurance for Brokers](https://www.testudo.co/brokers). Testudo; What does the policy cover? (six insuring agreements); Limits & pricing; target customers; application materials via Broker Platform. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [About Testudo](https://www.testudo.co/about). Testudo; What we do; Coverage you can rely on when it matters. Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [Licenses and Regulatory Disclosures](https://www.testudo.co/licenses). Testudo; United States entity and non-risk-bearing role; United Kingdom entity disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [How Do I Get a Certificates of Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-get-a-certificates-of-insurance/). Founder Shield; Luke Kaltreider answer, November 25, 2024: email requests, contract wording and endorsement needs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [What If Our Company Grows A Lot or Things Change During the Year?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-if-our-company-grows-a-lot-or-things-change-during-the-year/). Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: operational changes and coverage adjustments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [The Ultimate Business Insurance Renewal Checklist for Startups](https://foundershield.com/blog/business-insurance-renewal-checklist-for-startups/). Founder Shield; January 12, 2026; Know Your Part in the Renewal Process; The Early Start Advantage (60–90 days). Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Claims](https://foundershield.com/claims/). Founder Shield; Our Approach; How We Support Claims Management, steps 1–5; Make a claim link. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [What Am I Actually Getting For the Price of Business Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-am-i-actually-getting-for-the-price-of-business-insurance/). Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: policy period, quoted charges, installments and premium financing. Accessed 2026-09-15.
23. [Transparency & Disclosure](https://baldwin.com/transparency-disclosure/). The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026; How The Baldwin Group is Compensated, including client fees, contingent commissions, affiliate services and referral fees. Accessed 2026-09-15.
24. [Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf). New York State Department of Financial Services; Page 6 of 12, Region: New York, Foundershield LLC; $36,600 fine; consent order approved June 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
25. [Insurance License Search](https://myportal.dfs.ny.gov/nylinxext/elsearch.alis). New York State Department of Financial Services; Producer-search entry point; CAPTCHA prevented an entity-specific result during this review. Accessed 2026-09-15.
26. [License](https://baldwin.com/license/). The Baldwin Group; California entity/license table; neither Foundershield LLC nor The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC is listed. Accessed 2026-09-15.
27. [Surplus Lines](https://content.naic.org/insurance-topics/surplus-lines). National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background, Issue; updated October 27, 2025: nonadmitted specialized insurers cover risks unavailable in the admitted market. Accessed 2026-09-15.
28. [Content Creator Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/content-creator/). Founder Shield; What Is Content Creator Insurance? Media liability coverage for creators. Accessed 2026-09-15.

### [Hiscox Official Website](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance)

29. [Hiscox Small Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance). Hiscox; Product selector (GL, professional liability/E&O, cyber, workers compensation, commercial auto, medical malpractice, short-term liability); FAQ that Hiscox is licensed in 49 states and D.C. and unavailable in Alaska; partnership language for workers’ compensation; online quote statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [IT Professional & General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance). Hiscox; IT/technology professional audience; general liability, BOP, professional liability/E&O and cyber security descriptions for IT businesses; illustrative cyber breach-response example. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Insurance for IT Consultants](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance/it-consultant-insurance). Hiscox; IT consultant professional-liability and general-liability descriptions, including the phrase technology professional liability insurance as a label for E&O for IT work. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [California Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance). Hiscox; California product list (GL, professional liability, BOP, workers compensation, cyber); IT/technology profession link; payment-option and worldwide-claim-filing statements; footer that products are approved by the California Department of Insurance and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware licensed producer; California d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency license no. 0F09668; coverage subject to underwriting and may not be available in all states; company-stated Illinois license number 8754. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Online quote; 49-state and D.C. availability with Alaska excluded; broker-referral if not sold online; payment annually or monthly with no additional fees; online 24/7 claim reporting; policy issued via email and certificate in welcome documents; illustrative California consultant pricing table labeled as illustrative; electronic data liability for IT professions; coverage subject to underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance). Hiscox; Standalone cyber security/cyber liability product with online quote; data-breach, cyberattack and related-loss descriptions; licensed-agent phone number 1-833-816-2811. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy). Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table labeled with asterisks; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with The Hartford; general liability required to purchase workers comp; not available for all classes; footer that coverage is made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance, One Hartford Plaza, Hartford, CT 06155. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance). Hiscox; Commercial auto product page; quote redirect to a site not owned by Hiscox; customers referred to GEICO by Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA; products underwritten by Government Employees Insurance Company and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
41. [Medical Malpractice Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with NOW Insurance for medical malpractice quotes; footer that NOW Insurance is not affiliated with the Hiscox group and that Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA provides access to coverage available through NOW Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
42. [Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with Thimble for short-term general and professional liability; not available in all jurisdictions or classes; underwritten by Markel Insurance Company, Ten Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015. Accessed 2026-09-16.
43. [Specific Business Insurance Coverages](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with CyberPolicy for additional coverages including commercial auto, umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability, with quote links to sme.cyberpolicy.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
44. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
45. [Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center). Hiscox; Online claim filing; phone 1-866-424-8508 with posted hours; specialized claims professional assignment; coverage validation; liability claims attorney-appointment description; broker-reported claims option; company marketing phrase award-winning claims service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
46. [Manage your policy](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy). Hiscox; Online account functions: download policy documents, certificates, authorized person, same-state address and business-name changes, loss runs, waiver of subrogation, certificate holder, document submission; phone-only changes including payment method, limits, new-state address, coverage adjustments and cancellation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
47. [Get a Certificate of Insurance (COI)](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/get-certificate-of-insurance). Hiscox; Online ACORD/certificate generation using policy number and policy email address. Accessed 2026-09-16.
48. [Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability). Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner’s policy and part of that policy’s occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
49. [Commercial crime insurance for small businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime). Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
50. [Contact Us](https://www.hiscox.com/contact-us). Hiscox; U.S. locations including Atlanta headquarters and a Los Angeles office; statement that Hiscox operates in 49 U.S. states and D.C. and offers specialty products through U.S. brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
51. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Document 23295 07/26; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia; technology classes including IT consultants and software development; footer that products are made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; commission and premium may vary. Accessed 2026-09-16.
52. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; NAIC 10200; California Company ID 1439-9; authorized in California 09/14/1953; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Illinois; NAIC Group 4666 Hiscox Ins Grp; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, surety and others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
53. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=59700&s=Active&t=INS). Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; P&C Domestic Stock; domicile County of Cook, Illinois; parent Hiscox Ltd.; status Active; NAIC 4666 10200; incorporated 11/26/1952; 125 South Wacker Drive Suite 2080 Chicago, IL 60606. Accessed 2026-09-16.
54. [Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability). Hiscox; Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite management liability and crime solution; statement we are no longer entertaining risks in the metro areas of California; add-on references to media, cyber, crime and technology; not the consumer small-business online catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-16.
55. [What is Professional Liability Insurance?](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq). Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number 866-424-8508 described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hiscox.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
