---
title: "Cowbell vs The Hartford"
description: "How Cowbell’s broker-placed cyber and technology E&O programs differ from The Hartford’s insurer cyber, FailSafe and small-business package."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-the-hartford"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "Cowbell", "The Hartford"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-the-hartford)

# Cowbell vs The Hartford

How Cowbell’s broker-placed cyber and technology E&O programs differ from The Hartford’s insurer cyber, FailSafe and small-business package.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Cowbell and The Hartford against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

Cowbell is a specialty cyber platform and agency whose U.S. products are quoted by appointed brokers, with named paper such as Palomar or Chaucer on some programs. The Hartford underwrites cyber, FailSafe technology E&O and a broader small-business catalogue through its own subsidiaries. [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice")



## Introduction

A Series B SaaS company that already has a BOP and workers’ compensation elsewhere is usually comparing **cyber specialists**, not two full-stack small-business insurers. Cowbell does not replace Hartford workers’ compensation. Hartford cyber does not automatically include Cowbell’s Prime One AI-incident wording. [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### Cowbell

- A range of primary and excess cyber programs serves different business sizes and risk profiles, with eligibility and terms varying by program. [9](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [12](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [13](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current U.S. broker-resource catalogue and product overviews. Product descriptions are illustrative and actual forms control.; verified: 2026-09-15.)
- Cowbell pairs cyber insurance with risk insights, training and security services. Included services vary; some require a subscription. [22](https://cowbell.insure/crs/ "Cowbell Resiliency Services") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### The Hartford

- The Hartford designs small-business packages for SaaS and other software companies, typically starting from a business owner’s policy. [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [24](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [45](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Small-business buyers can start an online quote-and-buy flow or call, or use an independent Hartford agent; commercial auto is not sold on that self-serve path. [24](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [30](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Cowbell | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed [31](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed [39](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed [33](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance "Commercial Property Insurance") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Crime | Listed [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Cyber liability | Listed [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [12](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [13](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") | Listed [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Directors and officers | Listed [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers "Directors and Officers Liability Insurance") |
| Employee health and benefits | Not listed | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") |
| Employment practices liability | Listed [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") | Listed [38](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed [32](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed [40](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Management liability | Listed [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Professional liability / E&O | Not listed | Listed [37](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") |
| Technology errors and omissions | Listed [16](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [17](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") | Listed [36](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed [45](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed [43](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover "Business Insurance Coverage") |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed [34](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between Cowbell and the Hartford

### Specialty Agency Versus Risk-Bearing Group

Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC may act as a general agent; the issuing insurer remains responsible for the policy. Zurich is described as an investor and Select Plus technology partner, not as Cowbell’s parent or the writer of every product. [2](https://cowbell.insure/terms/ "Terms And Conditions") [4](https://cowbell.insure/blog/our-next-era-cowbell-closes-60m-series-c-round/ "Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round")

The Hartford’s affiliates listed in its legal notice underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. You can buy some small-business lines without a broker; Cowbell’s U.S. path is broker-first. [26](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [8](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/ "Find An Agent")

### Program Stack Versus Hartford Cyber Paths

Cowbell separates admitted Prime 100 and 100 Pro, surplus Prime 250 and Prime One, excess Prime Plus, Prime Tech (technology errors and omissions plus cyber) and Zurich Select Plus management liability via excess-and-surplus wholesalers. Revenue bands and limit advertisements differ by program and remain illustrative. [10](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-CowbellOverview.pdf "Cowbell Overview") [16](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview")

Hartford distinguishes BOP data-breach add-ons, stand-alone CyberChoice First Response (agent-directed for more complex non-tech risks) and FailSafe Technology E&O for technology businesses that need professional liability plus network-security features. Management liability sits in Private Choice Premier through agents. These are different packaging trees, not interchangeable “cyber.” [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote")

### How You Shop and What Sits Around the Policy

A U.S. buyer uses Cowbell’s agent directory; appointed agents quote on Cowbell’s platform. Hartford eligible small-business buyers use the quote portal or phone, then agents for auto, FailSafe placement questions and management liability. [9](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [30](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote")

Cowbell markets ratings, training and connectors, some time-limited, plus 24/7 in-house cyber claims intake. Hartford markets a Cyber Center and FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605. Neither description is a claims-quality score. [21](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **Issuing company:** Palomar, Chaucer, another insurer Cowbell has not named on that program page, or Zurich on Cowbell; which Hartford subsidiary on FailSafe or CyberChoice. [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [26](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice")
- **Admitted versus surplus** and California surplus-lines producer if Prime 250/Tech applies. [5](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/ "License Information")
- **Whether you still need a Hartford (or other) BOP and WC** beside a Cowbell tower. [31](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance")



## Service Comparison

Cowbell vs The Hartford: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | Cowbell | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency, not the insurer named on every policy. Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC says it is a U.S. property-and-casualty producer and may act as a general agent for one or more carriers; the issuing insurer remains responsible for the policy. [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [5](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/ "License Information") [2](https://cowbell.insure/terms/ "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. website and producer disclosure; the exact role can vary by product and placement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Cowbell identifies Zurich as a $60 million Series C investor and partner, while Zurich describes Cowbell as its technology collaborator for Select Plus. The reviewed sources do not describe Cowbell as a Zurich subsidiary or say that Zurich underwrites every Cowbell product. [4](https://cowbell.insure/blog/our-next-era-cowbell-closes-60m-series-c-round/ "Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") [3](https://cowbell.insure/about-cowbell/ "Company") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Ownership and commercial relationship characterization in Cowbell's 26 July 2024 financing announcement and current Zurich Select Plus page; no capitalization table was available.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., a financial holding company whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance, employee benefits and other financial products. Independent agents and brokers, and Hartford employees who sell insurance, distribute those products. The brand is not itself the insurer on a policy. [26](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [47](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [43](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Coverage lines | Cowbell's current U.S. cyber catalogue includes admitted Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro, non-admitted Prime 250 and Prime One, and follow-form excess Prime Plus. These are separate programs with different revenue appetites, limits, coverage descriptions and jurisdictional bases—not interchangeable versions of one policy. [9](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [12](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [13](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current U.S. broker-resource catalogue and product overviews. Product descriptions are illustrative and actual forms control.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Prime 100 Pro advertises limits up to $3 million; Prime One advertises up to $10 million for select risks and expressly describes AI-incident and quantum-computing coverage; Prime Plus advertises up to $5 million above a primary cyber policy. All remain subject to underwriting and issued policy terms. [12](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Selected differentiators in current U.S. product overviews; these are maximum advertised limits, not guaranteed buyer terms.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Prime Tech combines non-admitted Technology E&O with cyber coverage for eligible technology businesses up to $1 billion in revenue and advertises limits up to $5 million. Prime Tech Plus is a separate follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber product with up to $5 million in excess limits. [16](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [17](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current U.S. Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus marketing overviews; product appetite and actual terms are subject to underwriting.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Cowbell's U.S. management-liability offering is Zurich Select Plus, a modular product with private-company D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage options. Zurich says appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers access the Cowbell-powered platform; the target is private businesses under 250 employees and under $50 million in assets. [18](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [19](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Current Zurich Select Plus U.S. wholesale offering. Availability through a wholesaler does not guarantee eligibility or inclusion of all four modules.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Cowbell's product overviews say their coverage examples are illustrative and do not amend a policy. Actual coverage, conditions, limits, exclusions, availability and underwriting approval come from the issued policy and can vary by state and product. [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [12](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [13](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") [16](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [17](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Disclaimers in the current U.S. Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus overviews.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [31](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [36](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [38](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [43](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [45](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. [38](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | A U.S. buyer works through an insurance agent or broker. Cowbell provides a state-filtered agent directory, while appointed agents use Cowbell's platform to quote, bind and issue eligible products; no direct-to-buyer quote path was documented in the reviewed sources. [8](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/ "Find An Agent") [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [9](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current public U.S. buyer and broker paths. This does not establish that every listed agent can access every Cowbell product.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. [24](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [23](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [30](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Servicing and renewals | Cowbell describes continuous risk ratings, policyholder insights, security connectors, cybersecurity training and resiliency support alongside its cyber products. Some services are complimentary or limited to a trial or first policy year; managed detection, penetration testing, identity monitoring and compliance support also appear as subscription services for qualified customers. [22](https://cowbell.insure/crs/ "Cowbell Resiliency Services") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [15](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Cowbell's FAQ directs policyholders to their agent for cancellation and directs agents to Cowbell for endorsements. It describes different renewal workflows: Prime 100 proposals are generated roughly 60 days before expiration, while Prime 250 requires a signed renewal application and underwriting review before a quote is released. [20](https://cowbell.insure/faqs/ "Frequently Asked Questions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current public FAQ for P100 and P250; other products and individual policy terms may use different servicing and renewal procedures.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. [24](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [37](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [48](https://www.thehartford.com/claims "Insurance Claim Center") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Claims assistance | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team and incident-response panel are available around the clock. Its public intake instructions ask for the policy number or company name, the incident date and details, and a point of contact; coverage and claim payment still depend on the issuing insurer and policy. [21](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services") [11](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [14](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. cyber claims-services page and product overviews; company-reported service description, not an independently measured outcome.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford provides phone and online claim reporting, including 800-327-3636 for general liability and other commercial claims, a cyber FirstResponse hotline at 800-370-0605, online claim-status tools and a mobile app. Offering claims intake is not evidence of how any claim would be paid. [48](https://www.thehartford.com/claims "Insurance Claim Center") [49](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance/claims "General Liability Claims | File A Claim") [35](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [33](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance "Commercial Property Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company claims-center and product pages as of 16 September 2026. No claim file or payment outcome was reviewed. A commercial-property page listed 800-327-3638; confirm the number on the policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Cowbell Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell)
- [What Is The Hartford?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Amelia Risk vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Armilla vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-cowbell)
- [Armilla vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-the-hartford)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell)
- [At-Bay vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-the-hartford)
- [Beazley vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cowbell)
- [Beazley vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-the-hartford)
- [CFC vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell)
- [CFC vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-the-hartford)
- [Chubb vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-cowbell)
- [Chubb vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coalition vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-cowbell)
- [Coalition vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-the-hartford)
- [Corgi vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-cowbell)
- [Corgi vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-cowbell)
- [Coterie Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coverdash vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-cowbell)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford)
- [Cowbell vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-embroker)
- [Cowbell vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-foundershield)
- [Cowbell vs Gallagher](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-gallagher)
- [Cowbell vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-harper)
- [Cowbell vs Heffernan](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-heffernan)
- [Cowbell vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-hiscox)
- [Cowbell vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-hub-international)
- [Cowbell vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-kinro)
- [Cowbell vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-layr)
- [Cowbell vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-lockton)
- [Cowbell vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-marsh)
- [Cowbell vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-mylo)
- [Cowbell vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-newfront)
- [Cowbell vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-next-insurance)
- [Cowbell vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Cowbell vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-relm)
- [Cowbell vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience)
- [Cowbell vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-riskcube)
- [Cowbell vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-risklytics)
- [Cowbell vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Cowbell vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-techinsurance)
- [Cowbell vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-travelers)
- [Cowbell vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-usi)
- [Cowbell vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-vouch)
- [Cowbell vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-withcoverage)
- [Embroker vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-the-hartford)
- [Founder Shield vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-the-hartford)
- [Gallagher vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-the-hartford)
- [Harper vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-the-hartford)
- [Heffernan vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [HUB International vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-the-hartford)
- [Kinro vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-the-hartford)
- [Layr vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/layr-vs-the-hartford)
- [Lockton vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/lockton-vs-the-hartford)
- [Marsh vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/marsh-vs-the-hartford)
- [Mylo vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/mylo-vs-the-hartford)
- [Newfront vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/newfront-vs-the-hartford)
- [ERGO NEXT Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/next-insurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [Pie Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [Relm vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/relm-vs-the-hartford)
- [Resilience vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/resilience-vs-the-hartford)
- [RiskCube vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/riskcube-vs-the-hartford)
- [Risklytics vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-the-hartford)
- [StartupInsurance.ai vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/startupinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [TechInsurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/techinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [The Hartford vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-travelers)
- [The Hartford vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-usi)
- [The Hartford vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-vouch)
- [The Hartford vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [Cowbell Official Website](https://cowbell.insure/)

1. [Cowbell](https://cowbell.insure/). Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [Terms And Conditions](https://cowbell.insure/terms/). Cowbell; Opening paragraphs identifying Cowbell Cyber, Inc. and its subsidiaries; Paid Services §3; footer producer disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
3. [Company](https://cowbell.insure/about-cowbell/). Cowbell; Technology That Signals Protection; Backed By Prominent Venture And Growth Investors; office locations; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
4. [Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round](https://cowbell.insure/blog/our-next-era-cowbell-closes-60m-series-c-round/). Cowbell; 26 July 2024 announcement describing Zurich as a Series C investor and partner. Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [License Information](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/). Cowbell; Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC producer and surplus-lines license lists for 50 states and the District of Columbia; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [Business Name Search](https://cdicloud.insurance.ca.gov/cal/BusinessNameSearch). California Department of Insurance; Search for Cowbell Insurance Agency on 15 September 2026 returned ‘Captcha validation failed’; no license result was obtained. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Palomar Specialty Insurance Company — Company Profile](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3880&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; Company information: NAIC 20338, California ID 1969-5, Unlimited-Normal status, property-and-casualty company, Oregon domicile. Accessed 2026-09-15.
8. [Find An Agent](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/). Cowbell; State selector and directory of appointed U.S. agents and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-15.
9. [Broker Resources](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/). Cowbell; Current U.S. sales enablement catalogue listing Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus materials. Accessed 2026-09-15.
10. [Cowbell Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-CowbellOverview.pdf). Cowbell; Our Products: cyber, Professional Indemnity, Zurich management liability and Cowbell Resiliency Services; product-level qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
11. [Prime 100 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $100 million revenue; Palomar paper; coverage descriptions; US0001 1025 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
12. [Prime 100 Pro Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted cyber for businesses up to $100 million; enhanced options and $3 million limit; 47-state list; Palomar paper; US0001 0826 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
13. [Prime 250 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; 50 states and D.C.; Palomar and Chaucer paper; illustrative-coverage disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
14. [Prime One Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: non-admitted cyber for advanced digital exposures, typically $250 million-plus revenue; selected risks up to $10 million; Chaucer Specialty; US0001 0426. Accessed 2026-09-15.
15. [Prime Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–2: non-admitted follow-form excess cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million excess limits; unnamed A-rated carriers; US0001 0226. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [Prime Tech Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [Prime Tech Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; unnamed A-rated paper; US0002 1025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/). Cowbell; Zurich Select Plus description; admitted paper; private-company D&O, employment practices, fiduciary and crime modules; wholesaler access and target account FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [Small And Midsize Business Management Liability](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; four modular coverages; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [Frequently Asked Questions](https://cowbell.insure/faqs/). Cowbell; Policy cancellation; direct- and agency-bill payment; 2.99% credit-card fee; premium financing; P100 and P250 renewals; endorsements; risk-engineering call. Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Claims And Incident Response Services](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/). Cowbell; Cowbell Claims Approach; incident-response panel; reporting channels; initial company, incident-date and contact information; claims assistance description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [Cowbell Resiliency Services](https://cowbell.insure/crs/). Cowbell; Cybersecurity services; policyholder access and trials; subscription services; service-provider and insurance-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.

### [The Hartford Official Website](https://www.thehartford.com)

23. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); BOP contents; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); cyber, EPLI, technology professional liability mentions; online quote claim; company-reported industry-average premiums footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
24. [Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance). The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
25. [California Business Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/california). The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results](https://ir.thehartford.com/news/news-details/2025/The-Hartford-Announces-First-Quarter-2025-Financial-Results/default.aspx). The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
28. [About Us](https://www.thehartford.com/about-us). The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [Small Business Insurance Quote](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp). The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Viewed without submitting an application. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy). The Hartford; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; last updated May 20, 2026; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; last updated May 20, 2026; subsidiary-offering disclosure referencing the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Commercial Property Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance). The Hartford; Property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms listed among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation). The Hartford; State-requirement quiz noting some states require purchase from a state-run program rather than a private insurer; pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance). The Hartford; BOP-endorsed cyber versus CyberChoice First Response versus FailSafe Technology E&O; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology). The Hartford; FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite features including E&O, security, data privacy/network security, personal injury, intellectual property and media liability; software and SaaS-relevant buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [Professional Liability Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Miscellaneous professional liability and a listed Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies product; claims-made versus occurrence discussion; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance). The Hartford; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion claim; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnotes that built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York and that the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance). The Hartford; Statement that The Hartford does not currently offer this coverage online for small businesses and may route quotes through a local agency or Tivly; hired and non-owned auto description; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto). The Hartford; Hartford offering of hired and non-owned auto; liability-only limitations; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
41. [Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Private Choice Premier package (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion); option to add certain coverages to a BOP; instruction to find a local agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
42. [Directors and Officers Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers). The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations via Private Choice Premier. Accessed 2026-09-16.
43. [Commercial Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance). The Hartford; Insurer self-description; optional commercial umbrella; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages may be offered by one or more P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
44. [Business Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover). The Hartford; Commercial umbrella, EPL, data breach and other coverage descriptions; last updated July 28, 2025; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
45. [Inland Marine Insurance Solutions](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance). The Hartford; Midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
46. [Employee Benefits Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits). The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
47. [Producer Compensation Property & Casualty](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation). The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
48. [Insurance Claim Center](https://www.thehartford.com/claims). The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
49. [General Liability Claims | File A Claim](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance/claims). The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
50. [Hartford Fire Insurance Company](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=2664&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-the-hartford.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
