---
title: "Cowbell vs Resilience Cyber Insurance"
description: "Cowbell's largest published limit is $10 million, while Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience/cyber)

# Cowbell vs Resilience Cyber Insurance

Cowbell's largest published limit is $10 million, while Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Cowbell and Resilience for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Cowbell's Prime One tier offers limits up to $10 million for select risks, while Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million with a separate eCrime sublimit of up to $500,000. [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [8](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [2](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [3](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability")

[Cowbell profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell)

## What Is Resilience Insurance?

Resilience combines cyber and technology E&O insurance with cybersecurity risk-management services. Its offerings address both insurance placement and security investment decisions. [9](https://cyberresilience.com/ "Home Page") [10](https://cyberresilience.com/products/technology-errors-and-omissions-insurance "Technology E&O")

[Resilience profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/resilience)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. [14](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### Published Limit Ceilings

Cowbell's Prime One tier offers limits up to $10 million for select risks, with Prime Plus adding up to $5 million in excess capacity above a primary cyber policy. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [8](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") Resilience instead advertises cyber limits up to $20 million on a primary or excess basis, with a separate eCrime sublimit of up to $500,000. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

### How Each Names Its Underwriting Structure

Cowbell names its carriers directly by tier: Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, varying by which Prime product is placed. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") Resilience separates distribution from underwriting: its US disclosure names Ocrea Risk Services, LLC, doing business as Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions, as the distributor, with the policy underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Delaware, both subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA. [12](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/ "Disclaimer")

### Security Services Bundled With the Policy

Cowbell bundles Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Resiliency Services and free Wizer security-awareness training into every Prime policy. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") Resilience instead gives policyholders proactive threat monitoring from its Risk Operations Center and access to breach-and-attack simulations powered by AttackIQ. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask Resilience which of its two named underwriting entities would issue your specific policy. [12](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/ "Disclaimer")
- Ask which Cowbell Prime tier and underwriter fits your revenue band. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview")
- Ask Resilience for its minimum limits and retentions, since only the maximum figures are published. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")
- Ask Cowbell for base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures, which aren't published for those two tiers. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Cowbell Prime Cyber Insurance (Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus) | Resilience Cyber Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Cowbell operates as an insurance agency that markets its own named 'Prime' cyber product line, rather than distributing another carrier's off-the-shelf policy under its own brand. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product overview PDFs for Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus..) | Resilience pairs a cyber insurance policy with security services such as threat monitoring and breach-and-attack simulations. In the US, the policy is placed by a distributor rather than underwritten by the Resilience brand itself. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber Insurance product page description of the combined offering, accessed 2026-09-23..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell says Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro paper is provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company (AM Best A rating), Prime 250 by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, and Prime One by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company; the insurer therefore varies by which Prime product is placed. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Footer/underwriting statements in each product PDF..) | Resilience's US disclosure states that cyber insurance products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260), doing business as Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions, and underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, both subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC. The disclosure does not say which of the two Homeland entities issues a given policy. [12](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/ "Disclaimer") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: US paragraph of Resilience's disclaimer page, accessed 2026-09-23; product- and state-specific issuer mapping is not published..) |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell markets Prime 100 (admitted) to SMEs with up to $100M in revenue, Prime 100 Pro (admitted, available in 47 states) to a similar SME band with broader endorsements, Prime 250 (non-admitted) to businesses up to $1B in revenue, and Prime One (non-admitted) to organizations with more advanced digital exposure, typically $250M+ in annual revenue. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Risk Appetite sections of each PDF..) | Resilience markets US cyber insurance across industries including healthcare, higher education, financial institutions and services, manufacturing, construction, law firms, professional services, public entities, retail, hospitality, technology, life sciences, medical devices and pharmaceuticals. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Broad Market Appetite" availability table for the United States, accessed 2026-09-23; the table does not state a minimum revenue or company-size threshold for cyber (unlike the separate tech E&O appetite range)..) |
| Coverage Features | Base Prime 100 coverages include security breach liability, social engineering, hardware replacement, business income and extra expense, extortion threats, computer and funds transfer fraud, and restoration of electronic data; Prime One adds affirmative AI-incident and quantum-computing-incident coverage for more advanced digital exposures. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime 100 Coverages and Prime One 'Emerging risk coverage' sections; illustrative, subject to the issued policy's terms..) | Resilience lists privacy wrongful-act coverage, eCrime coverage up to $500,000, coverage for incident costs that exceed the policy limit (such as legal, forensics and crisis communications), and funds-transfer-fraud recovery assistance among its cyber policy features. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Policy Coverage" section of the product page; actual insuring agreements, sublimits and exclusions are set by the issued policy..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro adds endorsements with limits up to $3M, Prime One offers limits up to $10M for select risks, and Prime Plus is an excess layer offering up to $5M above a primary cyber policy; base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures are not published in the reviewed PDFs. [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [8](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product overview PDFs; actual issued limits depend on underwriting..) | Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million, available on a primary or excess basis, with a separate eCrime sublimit of up to $500,000. The page does not publish minimum limits, retentions or deductibles. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Top-Rated Insurance with Broad Market Appetite" and "Policy Coverage" sections; figures are marketing maximums, not a specific quote..) |
| Risk Services | Cowbell says every Prime policy includes Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Insights guidance, Cowbell Connectors integrations with cloud/security providers, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first policy year. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: 'The Cowbell Advantage' section, repeated across the reviewed product PDFs..) | Resilience says policyholders get proactive threat monitoring from its Risk Operations Center and access to breach-and-attack simulations powered by AttackIQ, in addition to the policy itself. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "The Resilience Advantage" section of the cyber product page..) |
| How to Apply | Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 policies in less than five minutes, and that Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50M in revenue; Prime products are distributed through appointed agents rather than direct to consumers. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro overview PDFs; speed figures are company-reported, not independently timed..) | The reviewed cyber product page does not describe a self-service online application or quoting process; it routes visitors to request a quote or watch a product overview rather than showing an application flow. [11](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Cyber Insurance product page, accessed 2026-09-23..) |
| Claims Support | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team has over 80 years of combined claims-handling experience and provides 24/7 in-house claims support from initial triage through resolution. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime One 'When an incident occurs' section and 'Expert Claims Support' feature repeated across the product PDFs..) | Resilience describes a fully in-house claims and incident-response team available 24/7, with a dedicated claims manager who stays with the policyholder from initial triage through settlement, backed by an outside panel of privacy-law, forensics and crisis-communications specialists. [13](https://cyberresilience.com/products/claims-incident-response "Claims & Incident Response") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Claims & Incident Response page, accessed 2026-09-23; response-time and outcome statistics on that page are company-reported and not independently verified..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Cowbell vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay your response costs and covered claims against your business after a cyber incident.
- [Cowbell vs Resilience Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-resilience/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-resilience/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-resilience/cyber)

## Sources

### Cowbell

1. [Cowbell](https://cowbell.insure/). Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [Prime Tech Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Small And Midsize Business Management Liability](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Prime 100 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; The Cowbell Advantage; Prime 100 Coverages; 'Paper provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Prime 100 Pro Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Expanded coverage options; Streamlined process for agents; Confidence that resonates; Available In 47 U.S. States list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
6. [Prime 250 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Confidence at scale; Available in 50 states and D.C. on surplus papers; Prime 250 Coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Prime One Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Risk appetite: organizations with more advanced digital exposures, typically $250M+ in annual revenue; core and additional coverage elements; 'written on a non-admitted basis by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [Prime Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Why Prime Plus; 'offered on a non-admitted basis with paper provided by AM Best A (Excellent) rated carriers' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Resilience

9. [Home Page](https://cyberresilience.com/). Resilience; Cyber risk management; Broad market appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Technology E&O](https://cyberresilience.com/products/technology-errors-and-omissions-insurance). Resilience; Technology Errors & Omissions: technology risk categories; Key Benefits; primary and excess offering; A Broad Market Appetite (US revenue $25M–$10B). Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Cyber Insurance](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance). Resilience; Policy Coverage section: privacy wrongful act coverage, up to $500k eCrime coverage, coverage costs beyond policy limits, recovery for funds transfer fraud; "The Resilience Advantage" section; "Broad Market Appetite" availability table listing Cyber Insurance and Tech E&O in the United States. Accessed 2026-09-23.
12. [Disclaimer](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/). Resilience; USA paragraph: "Insurance products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260) dba Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions. Resilience products are underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, each subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC". Accessed 2026-09-23.
13. [Claims & Incident Response](https://cyberresilience.com/products/claims-incident-response). Resilience; "Our Claims Advantage" and "Our Difference" sections: 24/7 in-house Claims & Incident Response team, fully in-house claims staff, dedicated claims manager from triage through settlement, world-class outside panel. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

14. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-resilience/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
