---
title: "Cowbell vs Harper Cyber Insurance"
description: "Cowbell binds Prime policies through appointed agents in minutes, while Harper describes calling carriers and presenting the options."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-harper/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-24"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-harper/cyber)

# Cowbell vs Harper Cyber Insurance

Cowbell binds Prime policies through appointed agents in minutes, while Harper describes calling carriers and presenting the options.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Cowbell and Harper for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 in under five minutes, while Harper describes calling the insurance companies that write cyber coverage and presenting the resulting options to the buyer. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage")

## What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. [1](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [2](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [3](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability")

[Cowbell profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell)

## What Is Harper Insurance?

Harper is a commercial insurance brokerage for businesses with complex risks. Its specialists use AI tools to gather information, seek quotes from insurers and help customers manage coverage. [9](https://www.harperinsure.com/sms-terms "Text Messaging Terms and Conditions") [10](https://www.harperinsure.com/insurance-insights/harper-45m-funding-announcement "We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves")

[Harper profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/harper)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. [13](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### How the Policy Gets Bound

Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue a Prime 100 policy in under five minutes, and Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50 million in revenue. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage")

### Who Each Offering Targets

Cowbell sorts eligibility by revenue band across its Prime tiers, from SMEs up to $100 million to organizations up to $1 billion. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask Harper which specific carriers it's calling on your behalf and what options come back. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage")
- Ask which Cowbell Prime tier fits your revenue, since the underwriter and endorsements change by tier. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview")
- Ask Harper for limit, retention and claims-trigger figures, none of which appear on its reviewed pages. [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")
- Confirm whether Harper's carrier options include any risk-management services comparable to Cowbell's bundled tools. [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Cowbell Prime Cyber Insurance (Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus) | Harper Cyber Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Cowbell operates as an insurance agency that markets its own named 'Prime' cyber product line, rather than distributing another carrier's off-the-shelf policy under its own brand. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product overview PDFs for Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus..) | For cyber insurance, Harper describes calling the insurance companies that write the coverage for a business and presenting the resulting options to choose from, rather than issuing a cyber policy itself. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage 'What we cover' introduction and coverage list, where cyber is one of the enumerated lines..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell says Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro paper is provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company (AM Best A rating), Prime 250 by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, and Prime One by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company; the insurer therefore varies by which Prime product is placed. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Footer/underwriting statements in each product PDF..) | Harper's public pages do not name the insurer or insurers that would underwrite a cyber policy; the homepage shows an unlabeled panel of insurer logos it says it works with, without listing carriers for cyber specifically. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Checked the homepage insurer-logo panel and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell markets Prime 100 (admitted) to SMEs with up to $100M in revenue, Prime 100 Pro (admitted, available in 47 states) to a similar SME band with broader endorsements, Prime 250 (non-admitted) to businesses up to $1B in revenue, and Prime One (non-admitted) to organizations with more advanced digital exposure, typically $250M+ in annual revenue. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Risk Appetite sections of each PDF..) | Harper positions cyber coverage as relevant to online retailers, dropshipping businesses, marketplace sellers and private-label or direct-to-consumer brands on its eCommerce industry page, while also listing cyber as a general coverage option for any business on the homepage intake. [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: eCommerce industry page 'Who this is for' section combined with the homepage's general cyber checkbox; no cyber-specific eligibility criteria (such as revenue thresholds) were found..) |
| Coverage Features | Base Prime 100 coverages include security breach liability, social engineering, hardware replacement, business income and extra expense, extortion threats, computer and funds transfer fraud, and restoration of electronic data; Prime One adds affirmative AI-incident and quantum-computing-incident coverage for more advanced digital exposures. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime 100 Coverages and Prime One 'Emerging risk coverage' sections; illustrative, subject to the issued policy's terms..) | Harper's homepage summarizes cyber insurance as coverage for the cleanup if a business's systems or card payments get hacked. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage 'What we cover' blurb; the issued policy and declarations would control actual insuring agreements and exclusions..)<br><br>On its eCommerce industry page, Harper describes cyber protection as covering data breaches, payment fraud, hacking incidents and exposure of customer information, and its FAQ adds that cyber liability coverage may apply to customer notification costs, credit monitoring and certain regulatory expenses. [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: eCommerce industry page; this description is given in the context of online retailers, dropshippers, marketplace sellers and DTC brands, and may not describe cyber coverage the same way for other industries..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro adds endorsements with limits up to $3M, Prime One offers limits up to $10M for select risks, and Prime Plus is an excess layer offering up to $5M above a primary cyber policy; base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures are not published in the reviewed PDFs. [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [8](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product overview PDFs; actual issued limits depend on underwriting..) | The reviewed pages do not publish cyber policy limits, retentions or a claims-made versus occurrence trigger; the eCommerce page's cost FAQ discusses eCommerce insurance overall rather than cyber coverage alone, so it is not used as a cyber-specific figure here. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") [11](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Checked the homepage and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Cowbell says every Prime policy includes Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Insights guidance, Cowbell Connectors integrations with cloud/security providers, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first policy year. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [6](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: 'The Cowbell Advantage' section, repeated across the reviewed product PDFs..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 policies in less than five minutes, and that Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50M in revenue; Prime products are distributed through appointed agents rather than direct to consumers. [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [5](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro overview PDFs; speed figures are company-reported, not independently timed..) | You can start a cyber quote through Harper's online intake by selecting the 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)' checkbox alongside the business's state, estimated annual revenue and a description of what it does. [12](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage quote-intake form..) |
| Claims Support | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team has over 80 years of combined claims-handling experience and provides 24/7 in-house claims support from initial triage through resolution. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [4](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime One 'When an incident occurs' section and 'Expert Claims Support' feature repeated across the product PDFs..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |

## Full Comparison

- [Cowbell vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-harper): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay your response costs and covered claims against your business after a cyber incident.
- [Alliance Risk vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-harper/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-harper/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [At-Bay vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-harper/cyber)

## Sources

### Cowbell

1. [Cowbell](https://cowbell.insure/). Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [Prime Tech Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Small And Midsize Business Management Liability](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Prime 100 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; The Cowbell Advantage; Prime 100 Coverages; 'Paper provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Prime 100 Pro Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Expanded coverage options; Streamlined process for agents; Confidence that resonates; Available In 47 U.S. States list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
6. [Prime 250 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Confidence at scale; Available in 50 states and D.C. on surplus papers; Prime 250 Coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Prime One Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Risk appetite: organizations with more advanced digital exposures, typically $250M+ in annual revenue; core and additional coverage elements; 'written on a non-admitted basis by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [Prime Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Why Prime Plus; 'offered on a non-admitted basis with paper provided by AM Best A (Excellent) rated carriers' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Harper

9. [Text Messaging Terms and Conditions](https://www.harperinsure.com/sms-terms). Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
10. [We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves](https://www.harperinsure.com/insurance-insights/harper-45m-funding-announcement). Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
11. [eCommerce Insurance](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce). Harper; Know your coverage: What is eCommerce insurance?; Cyber Protection callout; Who this is for; Why Harper; FAQ 'Does insurance cover data breaches or hacking?'. Accessed 2026-09-23.
12. [Harper Homepage](https://www.harperinsure.com/). Harper; What we cover: 'Cyber insurance — If your systems or card payments get hacked, this covers the cleanup.'; quote-intake checkbox 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)'. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

13. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-24. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-harper/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
