---
title: "Coverdash vs The Hartford"
description: "How Coverdash’s multi-carrier brokerage and Technology Access Fee differ from buying The Hartford’s own small-business policies."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "Coverdash", "The Hartford"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford)

# Coverdash vs The Hartford

How Coverdash’s multi-carrier brokerage and Technology Access Fee differ from buying The Hartford’s own small-business policies.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Coverdash and The Hartford against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

Coverdash is a brokerage and embedded-insurance platform that compares quotes from many insurers and charges a Technology Access Fee on purchased policies. The Hartford underwrites through subsidiaries and sells eligible small-business coverage online, by phone or through independent agents. [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") [5](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure "Compensation Disclosure") [31](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote")



## Introduction

An ecommerce or startup buyer who wants several carrier options in one dashboard is shopping a broker. A buyer who specifically wants a Hartford-issued policy can quote with The Hartford. Coverdash displays logos such as Chubb, Travelers, Hiscox and Nationwide; those names are not a promise that a Hartford company, or any one name, will quote. [1](https://www.coverdash.com/ "Business Insurance Online Instantly") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### Coverdash

- Small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers can compare quotes and buy coverage online or through a partner’s embedded insurance service. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") [8](https://www.coverdash.com/about "About Us") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current business model and intended customers; company-described functions, not an observed completed purchase.; verified: 2026-09-15.)
- One account provides access to applications, policies, billing requests, certificates and an account manager. [11](https://app.coverdash.com/login "Customer Sign In") [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public product description and service documentation; authenticated functions were not tested. Editing an account profile is not assumed to endorse a policy.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### The Hartford

- The Hartford designs small-business packages for SaaS and other software companies, typically starting from a business owner’s policy. [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [51](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [50](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Small-business buyers can start an online quote-and-buy flow or call, or use an independent Hartford agent; commercial auto is not sold on that self-serve path. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [35](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Coverdash | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Builders risk | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [36](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Cargo and transit | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [44](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Commercial property | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [38](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance "Commercial Property Insurance") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Crime | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Cyber liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [40](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Directors and officers | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [47](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers "Directors and Officers Liability Insurance") |
| Employee health and benefits | Not listed | Listed [51](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") |
| Employment practices liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [43](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Equipment breakdown | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed [21](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/surety-bond "Surety Bonds") | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| General liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [37](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed [45](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Liquor liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") |
| Media liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Product recall | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [42](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") |
| Representations and warranties | Listed [20](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/transactional-risk "Transactional Risk Insurance") | Not listed |
| Surety bonds | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [41](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [50](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") |
| Trucking | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [48](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [49](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover "Business Insurance Coverage") |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") | Listed [39](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between Coverdash and the Hartford

### Broker of Record Versus Writing Company

Coverdash Insurance Services, LLC arranges coverage and says it does not underwrite. Using the brokerage typically appoints Coverdash exclusively for those services. A partner site can embed Coverdash, but solicitation still sits with Coverdash. [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") [9](https://www.coverdash.com/partnerships "Partner With Coverdash")

The Hartford’s subsidiaries issue policies listed in its legal notice. You can buy eligible coverage without appointing Coverdash. This comparison does not assume Coverdash will submit to a Hartford company. [31](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent")

### Catalogue Breadth Versus Underwriting Catalogue

Coverdash’s published menu spans a business owner’s policy, workers’ compensation, technology errors and omissions, cyber, directors and officers, crime, inland marine, commercial auto, surety, representations and warranties and many other labels. A label missing from Hartford’s public catalogue is not proof Hartford never writes it through agents, and listing it at Coverdash is not proof your class is eligible. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub")

Hartford documents BOP, WC, FailSafe technology E&O, cyber options, management-liability packages and employee benefits, with inland marine aimed at midsize and large accounts and small-business commercial auto off the self-serve path. Scope every line to the proposal, not the union of two websites. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote")

### Binding Language, Fees and Certificates

Coverdash’s FAQ and terms disagree on whether payment happens after binding or can be collected before an insurer rejects or reprices. Confirm the effective date in writing. It discloses a fully earned Technology Access Fee on each purchased policy without stating the amount, plus possible contingent commissions and Ascend financing. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") [5](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure "Compensation Disclosure") [12](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901641-what-is-a-premium-finance-agreement-who-is-ascend "What Is A Premium Finance Agreement? Who Is Ascend?")

Hartford advertises 24/7 online certificates and a quote-and-buy portal. Producer compensation is insurer-paid commission structures, and independent agents may add their own fees. Compare Coverdash’s access fee plus premium with a Hartford-direct or Hartford-agent invoice. Automatic Coverdash renewals can allow up to a 20% premium increase without new consent when terms are otherwise unchanged. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [52](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [6](https://www.coverdash.com/auto-renewal-authorization "Policy Auto-Renewal Authorization")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **Whether Coverdash’s panel includes Hartford paper** for your class, or only other carriers. [1](https://www.coverdash.com/ "Business Insurance Online Instantly") [31](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice")
- **Tech E&O versus cyber packaging** on both sides, including whether cyber is bundled. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses")
- **All-in cost and BOR:** Technology Access Fee, finance interest, Hartford producer or employee compensation, and who holds broker of record. [5](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure "Compensation Disclosure") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions")



## Service Comparison

Coverdash vs The Hartford: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | Coverdash | The Hartford |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Coverdash’s terms name Coverdash, Inc. and Coverdash Insurance Services, LLC; the LLC provides the insurance brokerage service. It arranges coverage with insurance companies and says it does not underwrite policies. [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal identities and stated roles in sections 1, 12 and 15. No independent multi-state license verification or insurer authority asserted.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The reviewed corporate pages identify Coverdash, Inc. and Coverdash Insurance Services, LLC but do not establish their precise ownership relationship or a current controlling parent. [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") [8](https://www.coverdash.com/about "About Us") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Public About page, terms and ownership-focused searches; investor logos do not establish control. Do not describe the LLC as wholly owned or the brand as an independent brokerage without evidence.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>A partner can put Coverdash’s quote and policy-management experience inside its own website or software. Coverdash’s terms assign insurance solicitation and service to Coverdash rather than the host platform. [9](https://www.coverdash.com/partnerships "Partner With Coverdash") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Embedded distribution, not insurance underwriting by a payroll, banking or other affinity partner.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., a financial holding company whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance, employee benefits and other financial products. Independent agents and brokers, and Hartford employees who sell insurance, distribute those products. The brand is not itself the insurer on a policy. [31](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [52](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [48](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Coverage lines | Coverdash’s core catalogue lists general liability, business owner’s policies, commercial property and workers’ compensation. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Four offerings in Core Business. Product marketing establishes availability to request a quote, not entitlement or a state mandate.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Professional and management offerings include professional E&O, technology E&O, lawyers professional liability, management liability, directors and officers, standalone D&O Side A, a D&O and employment-practices bundle, employment practices, fiduciary liability, media liability and transactional risk. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Full Professional & Management group. E&O means errors and omissions; EPLI means employment practices liability. Bundles and D&O variants consolidate into existing shared keys.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The cyber and crime group lists cyber insurance, commercial crime, and kidnap and ransom. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Full Cyber & Crime group. Distinct offerings, not interchangeable policies.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Property specialties include inland marine, equipment breakdown, builders risk, flood, wind and hail, earthquake, property difference-in-conditions insurance and terrorism. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Full Property & Catastrophe group. Several have no exact shared sidebar key and remain explicitly recorded here.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Transport offerings include commercial auto, automobile physical damage, garagekeepers, motor truck cargo, non-trucking liability and ocean marine. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Full Auto & Transport group. Garagekeepers is not conflated with garage liability; ocean marine is not reduced to cargo only.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash also markets umbrella, excess liability, product liability, product recall, pollution, liquor liability, special-event, abuse and molestation, workplace violence, global-package, business travel accident and surety products. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Full Excess & Specialty group. Offerings without exact shared keys remain in this fact and prose, not mislabeled in sidebar.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Its bond page lists license and permit, contract, court, and fidelity bonds. It describes fidelity protection for client losses caused by employee dishonesty. [21](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/surety-bond "Surety Bonds") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Direct offering cards, not a glossary reference. Fidelity is separately mapped from fiduciary liability and surety.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash describes a business owner’s policy as combining general liability, property and business-interruption protection. Its FAQ says eligibility depends on industry, location and premises, and some higher-risk businesses may need separate policies. [16](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product description, not a specific carrier form. The FAQ qualifies interruption as often included; require actual schedule and trigger.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash separately markets technology E&O for financial harm alleged from technology work and cyber insurance for breaches and attacks. Its Tech E&O FAQ says cyber is bundled in some policies, but not all. [17](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/tech-eo "Tech E&O Insurance") [22](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/cyber "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: No assertion that every Tech E&O policy includes breach response or that every cyber incident is insured.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash describes D&O as the core of management liability, with options for employment practices, fiduciary and crime protection. It also markets standalone Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them—pay their defense or liability costs. [18](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/management-liability "Management Liability") [19](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-side-a "Directors & Officers Side A") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product structure and ordinary-language explanation. No single policy wording or mandatory bundle assumed.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Its transactional-risk offering includes representations and warranties insurance for acquisition-related breaches, plus tax and contingent-liability products. [20](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/transactional-risk "Transactional Risk Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Direct specialist offering, not general corporate liability or automatic inclusion in a startup package.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>No insurer-specific specimen forms or complete carrier-by-product schedule were found in the reviewed coverage pages. The product descriptions do not establish your exclusions, deductibles, limits or claims-reporting requirements. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") [16](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy") [17](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/tech-eo "Tech E&O Insurance") [18](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/management-liability "Management Liability") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: All 44 linked product pages and their outgoing main-content links inspected; no completed quote or private policy documents available. This is not a claim that forms cannot be obtained from an advisor.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [36](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy "Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [41](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [43](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [45](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto "Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") [48](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance "Commercial Insurance") [51](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits "Employee Benefits Insurance") [50](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance "Inland Marine Insurance Solutions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. [43](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance "Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | Coverdash’s public application begins with an email-address field. Its FAQ says to have your business name, address, industry, annual revenue and employee count ready; it describes online quote comparison and purchasing, with same-day coverage for most policies. [10](https://www.coverdash.com/quote "Get A Quote") [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Only initial public interface observed; no personal information, form submission, account creation or bind. Timing is company-reported and not tested.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The FAQ says payment follows choosing and binding a policy, but the terms allow collecting payment before binding and later insurer rejection or repricing. Confirm the effective date and binding confirmation before relying on coverage. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Conflicting sources; scope: FAQ Is there any cost or obligation to get a quote? versus terms section 13. Payment and binding sequence unresolved for particular products; legal conditions are presented explicitly rather than silently choosing the marketing description.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Using the brokerage service means appointing Coverdash as broker or agent of record and working exclusively with it for those services unless otherwise agreed. [2](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Section 2. This records the contractual wording, not a legal opinion about enforceability or a prohibition on researching other providers.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [35](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp "Small Business Insurance Quote") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [44](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage") [46](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance "Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Fees and compensation | Coverdash discloses a Technology Access Fee on each purchased policy, in addition to policy charges, and calls it fully earned and nonrefundable. The disclosure does not give its amount. [5](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure "Compensation Disclosure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Technology Access Fee paragraph. The same page calls software use free; free software is not a fee-free insurance purchase.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash may receive insurer or payment-servicer commissions, performance-related contingent or supplemental commissions, and negotiated client fees. It also discloses affinity-referral and administrative-service income. [5](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure "Compensation Disclosure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: No universal commission rate or client-fee amount disclosed. No inference that every compensation category applies to every customer.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash’s help center identifies Ascend as its payment and premium-finance partner. It explains that financing pays the annual premium upfront while the customer repays in installments. Confirm the current lender, interest and fees in the payment agreement. [12](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901641-what-is-a-premium-finance-agreement-who-is-ascend "What Is A Premium Finance Agreement? Who Is Ascend?") [6](https://www.coverdash.com/auto-renewal-authorization "Policy Auto-Renewal Authorization") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Help article dated 17 January 2023, re-accessed 15 September 2026; current renewal agreement also explicitly discusses premium financing but does not name Ascend. Relationship not independently confirmed with Ascend.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. [52](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation "Producer Compensation Property & Casualty") [34](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent") [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [28](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Producer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Servicing and renewals | The public sign-in page describes resuming applications, reviewing policies and billing requests, downloading certificates and contacting an account manager. Coverdash’s FAQ directs customers through their account to request coverage changes or cancellation. [11](https://app.coverdash.com/login "Customer Sign In") [4](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public product description and service documentation; authenticated functions were not tested. Editing an account profile is not assumed to endorse a policy.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Coverdash’s certificate guide describes self-service PDF certificates, selection of multiple policies and an e-commerce marketplace template. It says requests for agent assistance can take up to two business days. [13](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901646-how-do-i-get-a-coi "How Do I Get A COI?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Article dated 18 July 2024. Self-service speed and assisted turnaround are company-described, not measured; certificate generation does not amend underlying coverage.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>For policies whose billing and premium payment it facilitates, Coverdash’s renewal authorization permits automatic renewal with a premium increase of up to 20% if no material coverage terms change. Larger increases or material changes require renewed consent. [6](https://www.coverdash.com/auto-renewal-authorization "Policy Auto-Renewal Authorization") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Renewal Pricing Conditions; threshold is relative to expiring term, not an annual price guarantee or maximum possible premium.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>The authorization permits necessary renewal paperwork, including a new premium-finance agreement. Customers can opt out or request cancellation through the dashboard, with processing time; the insurer still decides whether to renew. [6](https://www.coverdash.com/auto-renewal-authorization "Policy Auto-Renewal Authorization") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Renewal Documentation, Right to Opt Out or Cancel and No Guarantee. Full-pay renewals remain full-pay; financed renewals remain financed per Payment section. No tested renewal workflow.; verified: 2026-09-15.) | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. [29](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance "Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote") [39](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation "Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans") [40](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [42](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [53](https://www.thehartford.com/claims "Insurance Claim Center") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Coverdash Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/coverdash)
- [What Is The Hartford?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-coverdash)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Amelia Risk vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-coverdash)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-the-hartford)
- [Armilla vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-coverdash)
- [Armilla vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-the-hartford)
- [At-Bay vs Coverdash Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-coverdash)
- [At-Bay vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-the-hartford)
- [Beazley vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-coverdash)
- [Beazley vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-the-hartford)
- [CFC vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-coverdash)
- [CFC vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-the-hartford)
- [Chubb vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-coverdash)
- [Chubb vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coalition vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-coverdash)
- [Coalition vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-the-hartford)
- [Corgi vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-coverdash)
- [Corgi vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-coverdash)
- [Coterie Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-the-hartford)
- [Coverdash vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-cowbell)
- [Coverdash vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-embroker)
- [Coverdash vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-foundershield)
- [Coverdash vs Gallagher](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-gallagher)
- [Coverdash vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-harper)
- [Coverdash vs Heffernan](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-heffernan)
- [Coverdash vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-hiscox)
- [Coverdash vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-hub-international)
- [Coverdash vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-kinro)
- [Coverdash vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-layr)
- [Coverdash vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-lockton)
- [Coverdash vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-marsh)
- [Coverdash vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-mylo)
- [Coverdash vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-newfront)
- [Coverdash vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-next-insurance)
- [Coverdash vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Coverdash vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-relm)
- [Coverdash vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-resilience)
- [Coverdash vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-riskcube)
- [Coverdash vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-risklytics)
- [Coverdash vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Coverdash vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-techinsurance)
- [Coverdash vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-travelers)
- [Coverdash vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-usi)
- [Coverdash vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-vouch)
- [Coverdash vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-withcoverage)
- [Cowbell vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-the-hartford)
- [Embroker vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-the-hartford)
- [Founder Shield vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-the-hartford)
- [Gallagher vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-the-hartford)
- [Harper vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-the-hartford)
- [Heffernan vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [HUB International vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hub-international-vs-the-hartford)
- [Kinro vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/kinro-vs-the-hartford)
- [Layr vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/layr-vs-the-hartford)
- [Lockton vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/lockton-vs-the-hartford)
- [Marsh vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/marsh-vs-the-hartford)
- [Mylo vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/mylo-vs-the-hartford)
- [Newfront vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/newfront-vs-the-hartford)
- [ERGO NEXT Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/next-insurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [Pie Insurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/pie-insurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [Relm vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/relm-vs-the-hartford)
- [Resilience vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/resilience-vs-the-hartford)
- [RiskCube vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/riskcube-vs-the-hartford)
- [Risklytics vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/risklytics-vs-the-hartford)
- [StartupInsurance.ai vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/startupinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [TechInsurance vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/techinsurance-vs-the-hartford)
- [The Hartford vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-travelers)
- [The Hartford vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-usi)
- [The Hartford vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-vouch)
- [The Hartford vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/the-hartford-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [Coverdash Official Website](https://www.coverdash.com)

1. [Business Insurance Online Instantly](https://www.coverdash.com/). Coverdash; Who do we insure?; How it works; carrier-logo strip; Our product policy and certificate demonstrations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [Terms And Conditions](https://www.coverdash.com/terms). Coverdash; Sections 1–2 (entities, broker-of-record and exclusivity), 10 (policy controls coverage), 12–13 (producer role and payment before binding), 15–17 (no underwriting; certificates; summaries), 32 (automatic payments). Accessed 2026-09-15.
3. [Coverage Hub](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage). Coverdash; Core Business; Professional & Management; Cyber & Crime; Property & Catastrophe; Auto & Transport; Excess & Specialty. Accessed 2026-09-15.
4. [Frequently Asked Questions](https://www.coverdash.com/faq). Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [Compensation Disclosure](https://www.coverdash.com/compensation-disclosure). Coverdash; Commissions; Contingent Commissions; Technology Access Fee; Supplemental Commissions; Client Fees; Affinity Partner Revenue; Other Compensation. No numerical Technology Access Fee schedule. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [Policy Auto-Renewal Authorization](https://www.coverdash.com/auto-renewal-authorization). Coverdash; Automatic Renewal; Renewal Documentation; Renewal Pricing Conditions (20% threshold); Payment; Right to Opt Out or Cancel; No Guarantee of Coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Licenses](https://www.coverdash.com/licenses). Coverdash; AK–WY license list, including DC and separate NY broker/agent entries. Accessed 2026-09-15.
8. [About Us](https://www.coverdash.com/about). Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
9. [Partner With Coverdash](https://www.coverdash.com/partnerships). Coverdash; How It Works; What’s Included (white-labeled UI); The Product. Describes embedded quoting, binding and policy management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
10. [Get A Quote](https://www.coverdash.com/quote). Coverdash; Embedded quote application, first question after Get Started: email address. Accessed 2026-09-15.
11. [Customer Sign In](https://app.coverdash.com/login). Coverdash; Customer Access and Customer Sign In panels. Accessed 2026-09-15.
12. [What Is A Premium Finance Agreement? Who Is Ascend?](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901641-what-is-a-premium-finance-agreement-who-is-ascend). Coverdash Help Center; 17 January 2023 article: premium financing and Ascend payment collection. Accessed 2026-09-15.
13. [How Do I Get A COI?](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901646-how-do-i-get-a-coi). Coverdash Help Center; Article dated 18 July 2024, steps 2–8: Certificates tab, self-service versus agent request (up to two business days), marketplace template, policy selection and PDF download. Accessed 2026-09-15.
14. [How Can I File A Claim?](https://support.coverdash.com/en/articles/6901644-how-can-i-file-a-claim). Coverdash Help Center; 17 January 2023 article: Claims tab and New Claim instructions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
15. [Coverdash Insurance Services Agency Listing](https://agency.nationwide.com/ny/brooklyn/11229/coverdash-insurance-services). Nationwide; Agency Website; Products; Our Insurance Products: Business Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [Business Owner’s Policy](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/business-owners-policy). Coverdash; Product introduction and coverage cards; FAQ: BOP versus general liability and Who qualifies (industry, location and premises). Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [Tech E&O Insurance](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/tech-eo). Coverdash; Product introduction; FAQ Does Tech E&O include cyber coverage?. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [Management Liability](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/management-liability). Coverdash; Introduction: D&O core with optional employment, fiduciary and crime protection; Types of Coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [Directors & Officers Side A](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-side-a). Coverdash; Introduction; Non-indemnifiable claims; FAQs distinguishing standalone Side A from other D&O. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [Transactional Risk Insurance](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/transactional-risk). Coverdash; Introduction; Reps and warranties, tax liability and contingent liability offering cards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Surety Bonds](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/surety-bond). Coverdash; Types of Coverage: license/permit, contract, court and fidelity bonds; FAQ on reimbursement to surety. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/cyber). Coverdash; Product introduction, Types of Coverage and Cyber Insurance FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
23. [Commercial Auto](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/commercial-auto). Coverdash; Product introduction and four coverage cards; hired and non-owned auto appears as optional coverage in FAQ, not a separately catalogued product. Accessed 2026-09-15.
24. [Motor Truck Cargo](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/motor-truck-cargo). Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage describes freight in transit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
25. [Non-Trucking Liability](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/non-trucking-liability). Coverdash; Product introduction and FAQs concerning personal use outside dispatch. Accessed 2026-09-15.
26. [Garage Keeper’s Liability](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/garage-keepers). Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage: customer vehicle damage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
27. [Global Package](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/global-package). Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage: international liability, foreign property, business travel and local compliance. Accessed 2026-09-15.

### [The Hartford Official Website](https://www.thehartford.com)

28. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); BOP contents; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); cyber, EPLI, technology professional liability mentions; online quote claim; company-reported industry-average premiums footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance). The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [California Business Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/california). The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results](https://ir.thehartford.com/news/news-details/2025/The-Hartford-Announces-First-Quarter-2025-Financial-Results/default.aspx). The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [About Us](https://www.thehartford.com/about-us). The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [Small Business Insurance Quote](https://quotesmallbusiness.thehartford.com/quote-and-buy/quote-oqp). The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Viewed without submitting an application. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/business-owners-policy). The Hartford; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; last updated May 20, 2026; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; last updated May 20, 2026; subsidiary-offering disclosure referencing the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Commercial Property Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-property-insurance). The Hartford; Property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms listed among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans](https://www.thehartford.com/workers-compensation). The Hartford; State-requirement quiz noting some states require purchase from a state-run program rather than a private insurer; pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.thehartford.com/cyber-insurance). The Hartford; BOP-endorsed cyber versus CyberChoice First Response versus FailSafe Technology E&O; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
41. [Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology). The Hartford; FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite features including E&O, security, data privacy/network security, personal injury, intellectual property and media liability; software and SaaS-relevant buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
42. [Professional Liability Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Miscellaneous professional liability and a listed Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies product; claims-made versus occurrence discussion; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
43. [Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employment-practices-insurance). The Hartford; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion claim; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnotes that built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York and that the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
44. [Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance). The Hartford; Statement that The Hartford does not currently offer this coverage online for small businesses and may route quotes through a local agency or Tivly; hired and non-owned auto description; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
45. [Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-auto-insurance/hired-non-owned-auto). The Hartford; Hartford offering of hired and non-owned auto; liability-only limitations; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
46. [Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote](https://www.thehartford.com/management-liability-insurance). The Hartford; Private Choice Premier package (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion); option to add certain coverages to a BOP; instruction to find a local agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
47. [Directors and Officers Liability Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance-agents/resources-directors-officers). The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations via Private Choice Premier. Accessed 2026-09-16.
48. [Commercial Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/commercial-insurance). The Hartford; Insurer self-description; optional commercial umbrella; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages may be offered by one or more P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
49. [Business Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/what-does-business-insurance-cover). The Hartford; Commercial umbrella, EPL, data breach and other coverage descriptions; last updated July 28, 2025; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
50. [Inland Marine Insurance Solutions](https://www.thehartford.com/inland-marine-insurance). The Hartford; Midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
51. [Employee Benefits Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/employee-benefits). The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
52. [Producer Compensation Property & Casualty](https://www.thehartford.com/producer-compensation). The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
53. [Insurance Claim Center](https://www.thehartford.com/claims). The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
54. [General Liability Claims | File A Claim](https://www.thehartford.com/general-liability-insurance/claims). The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
55. [Hartford Fire Insurance Company](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=2664&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
