---
title: "Coverdash vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance"
description: "The Hartford publishes five separate minimum monthly premiums by product; Coverdash's professional liability page shows no pricing at all."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)

# Coverdash vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

The Hartford publishes five separate minimum monthly premiums by product; Coverdash's professional liability page shows no pricing at all.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Coverdash and The Hartford for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums for five professional liability products, ranging from $38 for healthcare professionals to $239 for architects and engineers. Coverdash's professional liability page describes coverage in four cards without publishing any pricing figures. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance")

## What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. [1](https://www.coverdash.com/faq "Frequently Asked Questions") [2](https://www.coverdash.com/about "About Us") [3](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions")

[Coverdash profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/coverdash)

## What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. [6](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [7](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [8](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent")

[The Hartford profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. [10](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html "FAQ: Professional liability insurance") [11](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance "Professional liability insurance") [12](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance "Get business insurance") [13](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf "Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance")

## Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

### Pricing Disclosure

Coverdash's professional liability page does not publish premium figures. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") The Hartford instead breaks pricing out by named product:

The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits..)

### Policy Form and Reporting Period

The Hartford says many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period, typically 30 to 60 days and extendable to a year or more for an added cost, though some are written on an occurrence basis. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") Coverdash's page does not describe a claims-made or occurrence structure or mention an extended reporting period; it instead frames coverage around four scenario cards. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance")

### Product Breadth

The Hartford sells professional liability as five separate named products by profession, each with its own listed minimum premium, including a technology-specific Errors & Omissions product. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") Coverdash instead sells one general professional liability product and routes technology or legal businesses to its separately catalogued Tech E&O or Lawyers Professional Liability listings. [5](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub")

## What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

- Confirm which of The Hartford's five named products applies to your profession before comparing its quoted price to Coverdash's single product. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")
- Get the actual limit and retention on your quote from each; neither publishes limit figures publicly. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")
- Ask what an extended reporting period would cost if you cancel The Hartford's policy, since the base period is only 30 to 60 days. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")
- Ask Coverdash to name the issuing insurer, since its professional liability page does not disclose one. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance | The Hartford Professional Liability Insurance (Errors & Omissions) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. [3](https://www.coverdash.com/terms "Terms And Conditions") [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state..) | The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Who It’s For | Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite..) | The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Coverage Features | Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made..)<br><br>Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. [5](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage "Coverage Hub") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue..) | The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page..) | The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits..) |
| How to Apply | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. [4](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability "Professional Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page company information and cross-sell section..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |

## Full Comparison

- [Coverdash vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions): Professional E&O insurance addresses claims that a mistake in your advice or services caused a client financial loss.
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/business-owners-policy)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Commercial Auto Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/commercial-auto)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/commercial-property)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/crime)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/cyber)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/directors-officers)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/employment-practices)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/fiduciary)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/general-liability)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Inland Marine Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/inland-marine)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Kidnap and Ransom Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/kidnap-ransom)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/management-liability)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Coverdash vs The Hartford Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/workers-compensation)
- [Alliance Risk vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-coverdash/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-coverdash/professional-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-coverdash/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)

## Sources

### Coverdash

1. [Frequently Asked Questions](https://www.coverdash.com/faq). Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
2. [About Us](https://www.coverdash.com/about). Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
3. [Terms And Conditions](https://www.coverdash.com/terms). Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
4. [Professional Liability Insurance](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage/professional-liability). Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Coverage Hub](https://www.coverdash.com/coverage). Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### The Hartford

6. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Professional Liability Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance). The Hartford; What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence). Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

10. [FAQ: Professional liability insurance](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html). Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Professional liability insurance](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance). Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [Get business insurance](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance). U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf). Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
