---
title: "CFC vs Risklytics D&O Insurance"
description: "CFC embeds D&O in a US package with California and public declines; Risklytics places D&O with unnamed specialist insurers and cites a typical $1–3 million venture ask."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-24"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)

# CFC vs Risklytics D&O Insurance

CFC embeds D&O in a US package with California and public declines; Risklytics places D&O with unnamed specialist insurers and cites a typical $1–3 million venture ask.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate CFC and Risklytics for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

CFC includes D&O inside its US Management Liability package and declines California-domiciled and US publicly traded risks for that package. Risklytics Insurance Services describes itself as a licensed producer that places D&O with outside specialist insurers, says the typical venture-backed ask is $1 million to $3 million, and starts through an online application with no broker fee on top of premium. [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance")

## What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. [1](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology — United States product brochure") [4](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

[CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## What Is Risklytics Insurance?

Risklytics describes a commercial insurance brokerage for robotics, autonomy, hardware and AI businesses. It prepares applications and seeks coverage from insurers; California placement eligibility remains unconfirmed. [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") [9](https://www.risklytics.ai/ "Insurance for Frontier Tech") [10](https://www.risklytics.ai/terms/ "Terms of Service")

[Risklytics profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/risklytics)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. [13](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms")

## Key Differences in D&O Insurance

### Package Underwriter Versus Licensed Producer

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package. Risklytics Insurance Services (NPN 22311838) places Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance with outside carriers and says it does not underwrite; it does not name the carrier and says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk. [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are")

### First Priced Round Versus Package Declines

Risklytics says the norm is buying D&O at or before a startup’s first priced round, because term sheets and incoming board members typically require it, and lists a typical ask of $1 million to $3 million for venture-backed companies. CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among declined package risks and does not publish a D&O dollar limit. Risklytics describes D&O as protecting a founder’s personal assets when an investor or regulator sues, citing a down-round investor suit and a regulator inquiry into AI capability claims. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [12](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/ "How pricing and broker fees work") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")

### Online Application Versus Dedicated Adjuster

You start Risklytics D&O through its online application; it says there is no broker fee on top of premium and Risklytics says a licensed producer stays on the file until bind. CFC lists an additional insured-persons limit without a dollar amount, separately sells Side A DIC, and provides a US dedicated-adjuster claims path. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims")

## What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

- Ask Risklytics which specialist insurer would write the policy and whether the quoted limit is in the $1–3 million typical range. [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") [12](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/ "How pricing and broker fees work")
- Ask CFC whether California domicile or US-public status blocks the package. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")
- Ask CFC for the additional insured-persons amount and Side A DIC. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability")
- Confirm Risklytics’ no-broker-fee statement against any producer compensation on a CFC-placed quote. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | CFC Directors & Officers Liability | Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it..) | Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line..) |
| Issuing Insurer | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. [4](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) | Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line..) |
| Who It’s For | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business..) | Risklytics says the norm is buying D&O at or before a startup's first priced round, since term sheets and incoming board members typically require it as a closing condition. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page..) |
| Coverage Features | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms..)<br><br>CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages..)<br><br>CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here..) | Risklytics describes D&O as protecting a founder's personal assets when an investor or regulator sues over how the company was run, citing an investor suit after a down round and a regulator inquiry into AI capability claims as examples, and distinguishes it from Tech E&O, which answers a customer's product-failure claim instead. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) | Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million to $3 million for venture-backed companies for this line. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy..) |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Risklytics calls D&O easy to get for venture-backed companies with a clean story, describing quick placement for that segment. [11](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/ "Directors & Officers Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Lines page..) |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | You start Risklytics Directors & Officers Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. [12](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/ "How pricing and broker fees work") [8](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/ "About Risklytics: who we are") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form..) |
| Claims Support | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |

## Full Comparison

- [CFC vs Risklytics](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): Directors and officers insurance can help pay for covered claims against company leaders over decisions they make in running the business.
- [CFC vs Risklytics Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/commercial-property)
- [CFC vs Risklytics Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/cyber)
- [CFC vs Risklytics General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/general-liability)
- [CFC vs Risklytics Intellectual Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/intellectual-property)
- [CFC vs Risklytics Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/technology-errors-omissions)
- [CFC vs Risklytics Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/umbrella-excess)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)
- [Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Beazley vs Risklytics D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-risklytics/directors-officers)

## Sources

### CFC

1. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Technology](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Technology — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Management liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/). CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
6. [Management liability — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf). CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy?. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Claims](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/). CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Risklytics

8. [About Risklytics: who we are](https://www.risklytics.ai/about/). Risklytics; “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [Insurance for Frontier Tech](https://www.risklytics.ai/). Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Terms of Service](https://www.risklytics.ai/terms/). Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Directors & Officers Insurance](https://www.risklytics.ai/lines/management/). Risklytics; Coverage line: Directors & Officers; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
12. [How pricing and broker fees work](https://www.risklytics.ai/pricing/). Risklytics; Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### D&O Insurance Guide

13. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-24. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-risklytics/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
