---
title: "CFC vs Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance"
description: "Both package Tech E&O with cyber; Cowbell’s Prime Tech is surplus-lines up to $5M, while CFC publishes a $10M E&O/media/cyber maximum."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-24"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions)

# CFC vs Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance

Both package Tech E&O with cyber; Cowbell’s Prime Tech is surplus-lines up to $5M, while CFC publishes a $10M E&O/media/cyber maximum.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate CFC and Cowbell for Tech E&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Cowbell’s Prime Tech is a non-admitted Tech E&O and cyber combination with limits up to $5 million, sold through agents. CFC’s Technology package publishes a $10 million E&O/media/cyber maximum and includes incident-response service at a $0 deductible. [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview")

## What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. [1](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") [4](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

[CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell is a specialty-insurance platform and agency focused on cyber risk for small and midsize businesses. Its U.S. catalogue also includes combined Technology E&O and cyber products and a Zurich management-liability offering distributed through appointed wholesalers. [6](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [8](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability")

[Cowbell profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell)

## What Is Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Technology errors and omissions (E&O) insurance addresses claims that a technology product or service caused a customer or other third party a financial loss. It doesn't extend to cyber incidents, bodily injury or professional services outside the quoted product. [10](https://doas.ga.gov/sites/default/files/2025-08/SPD-SP048%20Insurance%20and%20Bonding%20Guidelines%20August%202025.pdf "Insurance and Bonding Guidelines") [11](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology "Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance") [12](https://www.chubb.com/content/dam/chubb-sites/chubb-com/us-en/business-insurance/digitech-enterprise-risk-management-digitech-erm/documents/pdf/17010186-digitech-erm-12.17.pdf "DigiTech Enterprise Risk Management")

## Key Differences in Tech E&O Insurance

### Surplus Prime Tech Versus CFC’s Technology Package

Cowbell markets Prime Tech as a non-admitted professional-indemnity product that combines Technology E&O with cyber in one policy, plus Prime Tech Plus as a follow-form excess layer. CFC also bundles E&O and cyber, but as its Technology package that also names breach-of-contract and IP/media cover in the same form. Neither Cowbell PDF names the issuing insurer; CFC’s application likewise does not name US paper. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") [5](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies Insurance application form (US)")

### Limits, Audience and Contract Wording

Cowbell states Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus each offer limits up to $5 million and targets technology businesses with up to $1 billion in revenue. CFC publishes a $10,000,000 E&O/media/cyber maximum and says the product can fit start-ups, mid-size and multinational tech companies without a published revenue cutoff. Cowbell lists delay in delivery, negligence, misrepresentation, breach of warranty or contract, product failures and software copyright disputes, and says Prime Tech includes expansive breach-of-contract cover and no exclusions for guarantees, consequential damages or breach of warranties. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC")

## What to Confirm in Tech E&O Insurance Quotes

- Get the named surplus-lines insurer on Cowbell Prime Tech and the unnamed US issuer on CFC Technology. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [5](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies Insurance application form (US)")
- Compare Cowbell’s $5 million primary (and optional $5 million excess) with CFC’s $10 million published maximum. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)")
- Ask whether Cowbell’s quoted form includes the listed “no exclusion” items for warranties and consequential damages. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview")
- Confirm whether you need Prime Tech Plus above another primary, or CFC’s single-package limit is enough for contract requirements. [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | CFC Technology Errors & Omissions | Cowbell Prime Tech / Prime Tech Plus |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | CFC's Technology product is a single package policy for technology companies that bundles errors & omissions liability, breach-of-contract cover, IP infringement and media liability, and cyber cover. [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC") [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Technology product page and US product brochure; the policy as issued controls the exact scope for any one customer..) | Cowbell markets Prime Tech as a non-admitted professional-indemnity product that combines Technology Errors & Omissions (E&O) with cyber coverage in one policy, and Prime Tech Plus as a follow-form excess layer that sits above a primary Tech E&O/cyber policy. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus overview PDFs..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The Technology application form names only CFC Underwriting Limited, a UK entity authorized and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, as the party administering the form. Neither the Technology product page nor the application discloses which specific insurer or Lloyd's syndicate capacity backs a given US Technology policy. [5](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies Insurance application form (US)") [4](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Technology application footer and the regulatory information page, both checked on 2026-09-23; CFC's US arm, CFC USA Inc., separately holds admitted producer licenses and E&S authorization in NY, TX, GA and CA, but that page does not tie a specific license to the Technology product..) | Neither reviewed PDF names the specific issuing insurer for Prime Tech or Prime Tech Plus; both state coverage, terms and availability vary by state and are subject to underwriting approval without naming a carrier. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Disclaimer paragraphs of both PDFs, read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | CFC says the Technology product is suitable for start-ups, mid-size and multinational tech companies, without publishing a specific revenue or headcount cutoff on the product page. [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Technology product page introduction; actual eligibility for a given applicant depends on underwriting review of the application..) | Cowbell targets Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus at technology businesses with up to $1B in revenue, listing example segments such as SaaS/app service providers, IT consultants, data analytics, hardware resellers, and web design or web services firms. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Risk Appetite sections of both PDFs..) |
| Coverage Features | CFC describes coverage for financial loss, bodily injury or property damage arising from a technology company's products and services, plus legal liability for breach of client contracts and IP infringement claims such as copyright and trademark disputes. [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product brochure feature descriptions; exclusions and conditions are set by the policy wording, which was not reviewed..)<br><br>The cyber portion of the policy includes network and privacy liability, business interruption, data rectification and recreation costs, extortion cover, and social engineering coverage, sitting inside the same Technology package rather than as a separate purchase. [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product brochure 'Comprehensive cyber cover' section..) | Cowbell lists Prime Tech coverage for delay in delivery, negligence, misrepresentation, breach of warranty/contract, product failures, and software copyright disputes, plus associated cyber-related costs like cyber extortion, data restoration, social engineering, and business interruption. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime Tech FAQ, 'What coverage is offered?' and 'other associated costs' lists..)<br><br>Cowbell says Prime Tech includes duty to defend, defense costs for privacy-related regulatory proceedings, contractual-indemnity coverage, expansive breach-of-contract coverage, broad intellectual-property infringement coverage, and no exclusions for guarantees, consequential damages, or breach of warranties. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list; illustrative, subject to the issued policy..) |
| Limits and Retentions | CFC publishes a maximum errors & omissions/media/cyber limit of $10,000,000 and a maximum commercial general liability limit of $6,000,000 for this product, with a minimum deductible of $0. [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure 'Limits and deductibles' table; the limit and deductible on an individual policy's declarations control..) | Cowbell states Prime Tech offers limits up to $5M, and Prime Tech Plus (the excess layer) also offers limits up to $5M above the underlying primary policy. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [9](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product overview PDFs..) |
| Risk Services | Policyholders get access to CFC's incident response service at a $0 deductible, sitting on a limit separate from the main policy limit, plus a free app with dark web monitoring, phishing simulations and network deep scanning. [3](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology | Product brochure (United States)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure 'Market leading cyber incident response' and 'Response app highlights' sections; CFC calls its incident response team one of the largest in-house teams in the industry, a characterization not independently verified here..) | Cowbell says Prime Tech is 'powered by Cowbell Co-Pilot,' its AI-driven assistive underwriting tool, and that policyholders get the same Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Connectors, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training offered on its cyber products. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Prime Tech PDF, page 2 (Cowbell Co-Pilot mention) and 'The Cowbell Advantage' list..) |
| How to Apply | The US Technology application asks for company revenue by year, funding-round history, subcontractor and hosting arrangements, and whether multi-factor authentication is enforced for remote network access and email; it is returned to your insurance broker. [5](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies Insurance application form (US)") [2](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Application form Sections 1, 2 and 4; CFC also lists Connect and named API partners as digital trading channels on the product page, which may bypass a paper application for some brokers..) | Cowbell says Prime Tech is available on a surplus-lines basis in all 50 states and is distributed through agents rather than direct to businesses. [7](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: 'Prime Tech Coverage Benefits' list, first bullet..) |

## Full Comparison

- [CFC vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/technology-errors-omissions): Technology E&O insurance addresses claims that a problem with your technology product or service caused a customer financial loss.
- [CFC vs Cowbell Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/crime)
- [CFC vs Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/cyber)
- [CFC vs Cowbell D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/directors-officers)
- [CFC vs Cowbell Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/employment-practices)
- [CFC vs Cowbell Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/management-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Amelia Risk vs Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs CFC Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cfc/technology-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions)

## Sources

### CFC

1. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Technology insurance | Start-ups and tech companies | CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Technology product summary; Key features: Products and services liability, Breach of contract, IP rights infringement and media liability, Comprehensive cyber cover and incident response; Downloads. Accessed 2026-09-23.
3. [Technology | Product brochure (United States)](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Products and services liability; Breach of contract; IP infringement and media liability; Comprehensive cyber cover; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles table. Accessed 2026-09-23.
4. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988; CFC USA Inc.. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Technology companies Insurance application form (US)](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf). CFC; Section 1: Company Details; Section 2: Activities; Section 3: Contract & Risk Management; Section 4: Cyber Security Risk Management; Section 6: Insurance Requirements; footer entity line. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cowbell

6. [Cowbell](https://cowbell.insure/). Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Prime Tech Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; Prime Tech Coverage Benefits; Prime Tech FAQ (typical Tech E&O claims scenarios, coverage offered, associated costs). Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [Small And Midsize Business Management Liability](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Prime Tech Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf). Cowbell; Product Overview; Seamless excess protection; Tailored for technology providers; Risk Appetite industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Tech E&O Insurance Guide

10. [Insurance and Bonding Guidelines](https://doas.ga.gov/sites/default/files/2025-08/SPD-SP048%20Insurance%20and%20Bonding%20Guidelines%20August%202025.pdf). Georgia Department of Administrative Services; Professional Liability / Errors and Omissions p.6; Technology Errors & Omissions (Cyber Liability) §9 pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance/errors-omissions-insurance/technology). The Hartford; What Is Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance?; differences between cyber liability and errors and omissions; How Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Works With Contracts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [DigiTech Enterprise Risk Management](https://www.chubb.com/content/dam/chubb-sites/chubb-com/us-en/business-insurance/digitech-enterprise-risk-management-digitech-erm/documents/pdf/17010186-digitech-erm-12.17.pdf). Chubb; Coverage Synopsis > Third-Party Liability Coverage > Technology Errors and Omissions; Cyber, Privacy and Network Security Liability; footer product-summary disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-24. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell/technology-errors-omissions.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
