---
title: "Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance"
description: "Beazley underwrites private-company D&O up to $20 million; CFC puts D&O in a package and declines California and public companies."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/directors-officers)

# Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O up to $20 million; CFC puts D&O in a package and declines California and public companies.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Beazley and CFC for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O standalone or in ExecuGuard with advertised limits up to US $20 million, while CFC includes D&O inside its US Management Liability package, lists California-domiciled and US publicly traded companies among declined risks, and separately sells Side A DIC. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")

## What Is Beazley?

Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. [1](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/small-business-solutions-usa/mediatech-for-small-businesses/ "MediaTech for Small Businesses") [2](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/legal-information-en/ "Legal Information") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") [4](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/healthcare-usa/virtual-care "Virtual Care")

[Beazley profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/beazley)

## What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. [6](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") [8](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology — United States product brochure") [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

[CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. [13](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms")

## Key Differences in D&O Insurance

### Standalone Private D&O Versus a Package Slot

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O itself, offered as a standalone product and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability in ExecuGuard. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product, and separately sells Side A DIC as excess above an existing D&O tower. [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") Beazley also offers dedicated additional Excess Side A when the company cannot indemnify individuals or the underlying limit is exhausted. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") CFC’s DIC sits over a tower; Beazley’s Excess Side A is listed on the private-company D&O page.

### Appetite

Beazley’s D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") CFC’s brochure lists California domicile among package declines; Beazley’s private-company page does not.

### Defense Choice and Limits

Beazley lets the policyholder choose duty to defend or pay on behalf and advertises limits up to US $20 million on admitted or non-admitted paper. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") CFC’s brochure does not publish a dollar limit and lists an additional limit for insured persons without stating the amount. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") CFC provides a US claim-notification route with a dedicated claims adjuster. [12](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims") Beazley illustrates claims work with a securities class-action scenario on the ExecuGuard page. [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") Neither reviewed set names the specific issuing entity. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

## What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

- Ask whether a CFC quote is the Management Liability package or Side A DIC only. [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability")
- If you are California-domiciled or public, ask CFC whether the decline list applies. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")
- Ask Beazley whether the quote is duty to defend or pay on behalf, and whether Excess Side A is attached. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies")
- Confirm whether Beazley’s $20 million advertised maximum is the quoted limit, and whether paper is admitted or surplus. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Beazley D&O – Private Companies | CFC Directors & Officers Liability |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Beazley underwrites private-company directors and officers (D&O) liability itself, offered as a standalone product on its D&O - Private Companies page and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability coverage in its ExecuGuard package policy. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: US private-company D&O as described on the two reviewed product pages; does not establish which entity issues a particular policy..) | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Neither the D&O - Private Companies page nor the ExecuGuard page names the specific Beazley insurance entity that issues the policy; ExecuGuard states both admitted and non-admitted versions are available, so the issuing carrier depends on the policy placed. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Both product pages as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy's declarations control the actual insurer..) | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | The D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold on that page. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Private-company D&O only; ExecuGuard buyers can additionally choose to share limits across D&O, EPL and fiduciary coverages..) | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business..) |
| Coverage Features | The D&O product lets the policyholder choose between a "duty to defend" or "pay on behalf" claim-handling structure, and Beazley says it pays 100% of defense costs for covered loss. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O - Private Companies product page; actual defense obligations and cost-sharing are set by the issued policy..)<br><br>Beazley offers a dedicated additional Excess Side A limit that responds for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them or the underlying limit is exhausted, plus an optional employed-lawyers errors-and-omissions extension. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O - Private Companies product page; availability and pricing of the extension depend on underwriting..) | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms..)<br><br>CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages..)<br><br>CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Beazley advertises private-company D&O limits up to US $20 million, on either an admitted or non-admitted (surplus lines) basis; actual limits and retentions are set by underwriting and appear on the declarations. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Advertised maximum capacity, not a guaranteed quote amount..) | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. [11](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | D&O policyholders get pre-approved choice-of-counsel flexibility, and law-firm insureds can access a bespoke executive-risk wording through Beazley's related Practice Protect product. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O - Private Companies product page; scope and terms of the Practice Protect wording were not independently reviewed..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | Beazley lists a downloadable EPL renewal application as a tool on the D&O page and names regional Executive Risk underwriters and brokers as contacts, but the reviewed page does not describe a self-service online quoting flow for new D&O business. [5](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/ "D&O - Private Companies") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O - Private Companies product page as read on 2026-09-23; buyers typically work through a broker or underwriter contact..) | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Claims Support | Beazley illustrates its D&O claims approach with a securities class-action and shareholder derivative-action scenario in which its claims team worked with the insured's defense counsel toward a dismissal, avoiding a settlement; this is a single company-reported example, not audited claims-outcome data. [3](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary "Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: ExecuGuard page scenario section; outcome statistics are not independently verified..) | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. [12](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Beazley vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): Directors and officers insurance can help pay for covered claims against company leaders over decisions they make in running the business.
- [Beazley vs CFC Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/commercial-property)
- [Beazley vs CFC Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/crime)
- [Beazley vs CFC Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/cyber)
- [Beazley vs CFC Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/employment-practices)
- [Beazley vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/general-liability)
- [Beazley vs CFC Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/management-liability)
- [Beazley vs CFC Media Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/media)
- [Beazley vs CFC Product Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/product-liability)
- [Beazley vs CFC Product Recall Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/product-recall)
- [Beazley vs CFC Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs CFC Representations and Warranties Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/representations-warranties)
- [Beazley vs CFC Tech E&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/technology-errors-omissions)
- [Beazley vs CFC Telehealth Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/virtual-care-telehealth)
- [Alliance Risk vs Beazley D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-beazley/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Beazley D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-beazley/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Beazley vs Chubb D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-chubb/directors-officers)
- [Beazley vs Coalition D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-coalition/directors-officers)

## Sources

### Beazley

1. [MediaTech for Small Businesses](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/small-business-solutions-usa/mediatech-for-small-businesses/). Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Legal Information](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/legal-information-en/). Beazley; Website conditions: US jurisdiction availability, surplus lines and policy wording disclaimers; Beazley plc identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary)](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/executive-risk-usa/execuguard-combined-epl-do-and-fiduciary). Beazley; What we offer: separate or shared limits among EPL, D&O and fiduciary; Limits up to US $20,000,000, both admitted and non-admitted available; Examples or Scenarios: California securities class action/derivative action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
4. [Virtual Care](https://www.beazley.com/en-us/products/healthcare-usa/virtual-care). Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [D&O - Private Companies](https://www.beazley.com/en-US/products/executive-risk-usa/do-private-companies/). Beazley; What we offer; How can we help: duty to defend/pay on behalf, 100% defense for covered loss, Excess Side A limit, private placement coverage, Practice Protect for lawyers; Up to US $20,000,000; Tools & Resources: EPL_RenewalApp. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### CFC

6. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Technology](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Technology — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
10. [Management liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/). CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
11. [Management liability — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf). CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy?. Accessed 2026-09-23.
12. [Claims](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/). CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### D&O Insurance Guide

13. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
