---
title: "The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance"
description: "Baldwin serves a broad professional-services audience, while USI’s named CNA-backed AICPA program targets sole-practitioner and regional CPA firms."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "baldwin-vs-usi"
provider-a: "baldwin"
provider-b: "usi"
coverage-line: "professional-errors-omissions"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance questions about The Baldwin Group versus USI Insurance Services. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance, The Baldwin Group or USI Insurance Services?
- What does The Baldwin Group or USI Insurance Services publish about Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance from The Baldwin Group or USI Insurance Services?

**Key facts:**
- Line: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance. Providers: The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions) — coverage explainer for this line
- [The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin) — provider profile (evidence)
- [USI Insurance Services profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi) — provider profile (evidence)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/crime) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/employment-practices) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/fiduciary) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Representations and Warranties Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/representations-warranties) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Surety Bonds](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/surety-bonds) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [At-Bay vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-three/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Baldwin serves a broad professional-services audience, while USI’s named CNA-backed AICPA program targets sole-practitioner and regional CPA firms.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

USI identifies a CNA-underwritten AICPA program with CPA-specific defense and risk resources; Baldwin names a wider set of professional-services clients. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

## What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. [1](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm "The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025") [2](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/ "Business Insurance")

[The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin)

## What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI suits software and hardware companies from seed stage through IPO seeking consultative broker support; buyers wanting a self-serve quote should compare digital agencies. Insurer commissions are typical and contingent compensation may also apply. [4](https://www.usi.com/about-usi "The Power of ONE") [5](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") [6](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/ "Commissions and Fees")

[USI Insurance Services profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi)

## What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. [10](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html "FAQ: Professional liability insurance") [11](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance "Professional liability insurance") [12](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance "Get business insurance") [13](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf "Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance")

## Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

### A broad advisory audience versus a CPA program

The Baldwin Group names accountants alongside architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, consultants and surveyors. USI’s AICPA Professional Liability Program is narrower: USI markets it to sole practitioners and regional CPA firms and identifies itself as the endorsed producer. A CPA firm can compare the program’s stated audience with Baldwin’s wider professional-services practice, while a non-CPA should ask USI about its separate business E&O placements. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

### Coverage and support detail

USI says the AICPA policy covers third-party financial-harm claims tied to professional services, with defense and damages for covered claims, and provides enrolled firms engagement-letter templates and risk resources. Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation guidance but publishes no comparable policy terms. USI names CNA as underwriter for this program; Baldwin’s specific insurer remains placement-dependent. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

## What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

- If you are not a CPA firm, ask USI which other E&O placement and insurer it can offer. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")
- Ask both brokers for policy limits, retentions and the precise professional services insured. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Baldwin Professional Liability and E&O Brokerage Advisory | AICPA Professional Liability Program (USI Affinity) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Professional Liability and E&O. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement..) | For CPA firms, USI runs the AICPA Professional Liability Program through its USI Affinity division as the endorsed producer, rather than underwriting the policy itself. USI's general Business Services practice separately brokers errors and omissions/professional liability coverage for other business types. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") [9](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/ "Business Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: AICPA program page and Business Services practice page..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | USI's own page states that the AICPA Professional Liability Program is "underwritten by CNA," naming the carrier for that specific program. USI's general Business Services E&O placements do not name an insurer. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Direct quote from the AICPA program page; CNA underwrites only this named program, not USI's other professional-liability placements..) |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin names accountants, architects, engineers, financial advisers, lawyers, management consultants and surveyors as professional-services clients. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability..) | USI markets the AICPA program to sole practitioners and regional CPA firms. It has offered CPA coverage since 1967 and has been the endorsed AICPA Program provider since 1994. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description..) |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin lists professional liability/E&O coverage for its professional-services practice. The page does not define the professional services insured, covered errors, claims-made conditions, limits or exclusions. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown..) | USI describes the policy as insuring a CPA and their practice against third-party claims that professional services caused financial harm, providing a defense and paying damages for covered claims arising from high-risk situations tied to new clients, changing business plans, or new laws and regulations. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description; actual insuring agreements, exclusions and conditions are set by the issued CNA policy form..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources..) | The AICPA program page does not publish limit, retention or premium figures; it says coverage plans allow a firm to tailor coverage to its risk profile. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Page as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes tailored insurance and risk-mitigation solutions for professional firms and guidance on market shifts and business exposures. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established..) | USI says firms enrolled in the program get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, in addition to the coverage itself. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page description..) |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | USI directs CPA firms seeking a quote or renewal to contact USI Affinity, with a dedicated Affinity_APL@usi.com address for the AICPA program specifically. [7](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/ "Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Contact instructions on the AICPA program page..) |

## Full Comparison

- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions): Professional liability can help pay covered defense costs and losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm; check services and reporting terms.
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/commercial-property)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/crime)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/employment-practices)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/fiduciary)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Representations and Warranties Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/representations-warranties)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Surety Bonds](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/surety-bonds)
- [The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions)
- [AIG vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions)
- [At-Bay vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [The Baldwin Group vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-three/professional-errors-omissions)

## Sources

### The Baldwin Group

1. [The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm). U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
2. [Business Insurance](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/). The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Professional Liability Insurance & Services](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/). The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### USI Insurance Services

4. [The Power of ONE](https://www.usi.com/about-usi). USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Technology Insurance](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/). USI Insurance Services; Technology practice client types, seed-to-IPO range, and listed insurance placement lines including PrivaSafe. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Commissions and Fees](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/). USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity](https://www.usi.com/programs/affinity-programs/accountants-professional-liability/). USI Insurance Services; Quality Professional Liability Insurance Exclusively for CPA Firms; "The AICPA Professional Liability Program, underwritten by CNA, has been offering coverage to CPAs since 1967 and has been the endorsed provider of the AICPA Program since 1994."; supportive claims handling and exclusive access to extensive risk management resources, including engagement letter templates; Email Affinity_APL@usi.com. Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [USI Specialty Program Solutions](https://www.usi.com/programs/). USI Insurance Services; USI Affinity delivers high-quality insurance and financial solutions to members of affinity organizations and targeted industry segments...for professional associations, law firms, alumni and collegiate organizations, travel groups, and insurance administrators.. Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [Business Services](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/business-services/). USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Errors & Omissions/Professional Liability.... Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

10. [FAQ: Professional liability insurance](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html). Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Professional liability insurance](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance). Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [Get business insurance](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance). U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf). Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## The Baldwin Group Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin/reviews).

## USI Insurance Services Reviews

Review Score: 6.4 / 10 from 1 rated source, equally weighted.

USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.

- BBB: BBB complaint count 4. BBB business-profile grade is distinct from customer-review stars; branch/parent scope matters. Period: three years preceding access 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [BBB result for USI Insurance Services](https://www.bbb.org/us/ny/valhalla/profile/insurance-agency/usi-insurance-services-0121-97856/complaints)
- Google reviews via Birdeye: Birdeye office listing rating from Google reviews 3.2 (5 stars); 9 reviews. One Louisville office listing, not firmwide. Birdeye shows Google-origin reviews (9) and 0 Birdeye-native reviews; this duplicates a Google source stream and is not independent of Google. Period: accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [USI office, Louisville, KY — Birdeye listing of Google reviews](https://reviews.birdeye.com/usi-insurance-145632496752867)

Reviewed 2026-09-25. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
