---
title: "The Baldwin Group vs Kinro: D&O Insurance"
description: "Kinro documents the intake inputs it uses to place startup D&O, while Baldwin documents public-company and pre-IPO D&O advisory and benchmarking."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "baldwin-vs-kinro"
provider-a: "baldwin"
provider-b: "kinro"
coverage-line: "directors-officers"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/directors-officers)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of The Baldwin Group and Kinro for D&O Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for D&O Insurance questions about The Baldwin Group versus Kinro. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- The Baldwin Group vs Kinro for D&O Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for D&O Insurance, The Baldwin Group or Kinro?
- What does The Baldwin Group or Kinro publish about D&O Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for D&O Insurance from The Baldwin Group or Kinro?

**Key facts:**
- Line: D&O Insurance. Providers: The Baldwin Group and Kinro.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [D&O Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) — coverage explainer for this line
- [The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Kinro profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro) — provider profile (evidence)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Commercial Auto Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/commercial-auto) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Inland Marine Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/inland-marine) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/umbrella-excess) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-baldwin/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-baldwin/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# The Baldwin Group vs Kinro: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Kinro documents the intake inputs it uses to place startup D&O, while Baldwin documents public-company and pre-IPO D&O advisory and benchmarking.

## How to Use the The Baldwin Group vs Kinro D&O Insurance Comparison

Use this comparison to evaluate The Baldwin Group and Kinro for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## The Baldwin Group vs Kinro D&O Insurance Summary

Kinro collects funding stage, board structure and investor requirements to match a D&O carrier; Baldwin describes benchmarking and program guidance for larger and pre-IPO companies. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")

## What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. [1](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm "The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025") [2](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/ "Business Insurance")

[The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin)

## What Is Kinro Insurance?

Kinro fits U.S. small businesses that want a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet and agent help comparing quotes online. Its pages don't name the insurer behind a given quote, so ask which markets Kinro approached before you switch. [5](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance") [6](https://kinro.com/policy-review "Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy") [7](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers "For Carriers And MGAs")

[Kinro profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms") [10](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf "The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance") [11](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95 "Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage")

## What Are the Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and Kinro D&O Insurance?

### Startup placement or program advisory

Kinro says D&O commonly fits startups, funded companies and boards with outside investors or debt covenants [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers"). Baldwin's management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC programs, and its real estate practice names owners, managers and REITs [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance").

### What each asks or offers

Kinro collects ownership, funding stage, board structure, revenue, headcount, prior claims and investor requirements, and often reviews D&O with EPLI, cyber and E&O [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers"). Baldwin offers advice, benchmarking and program guidance [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance").

### Shared points and gaps

Both are brokers rather than insurers, and neither publishes limits or retentions [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers"). Kinro says fit depends on carrier appetite, while Baldwin notes its coverage descriptions are general education and not a buyer's wording [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management").

## What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and Kinro D&O Insurance Quotes?

- Which carrier appetite applies to your funding stage? [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")
- Would benchmarking inform your limit and retention choices? [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance")
- Is EPLI or fiduciary coverage folded into the program? [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")

## The Baldwin Group vs Kinro D&O Insurance Compared

| Criteria | Baldwin Directors and Officers Liability Brokerage and Advisory | Kinro Directors & Officers |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Directors and Officers Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement..) | Kinro is a broker: it matches a business to a D&O carrier rather than underwriting the policy itself, saying the product "can underwrite differently" by operation and that market fit depends on carrier appetite. [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Routing" and "Market fit" sections..) |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin’s management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC D&O programs; its real-estate practice names owners, managers, REITs, lenders and associations. These contexts do not guarantee placement eligibility. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability..) | Kinro says D&O commonly fits startups, funded companies, boards and executive teams, and typically comes up when a business has outside investors, a formal board or debt covenants, or a financing or customer contract requires management liability coverage. [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Common fit" and "Triggers" sections..) |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin describes D&O insurance as protecting individual directors/officers and the entity against certain alleged management-related losses, and discusses Coverage A, B and C as common policy grants. This is general product education, not a buyer’s policy wording. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown..) | Kinro says D&O placements typically address claims involving management decisions, governance, investors or executives, and that a management-liability program may also fold in EPLI (employment practices) or fiduciary coverage. [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Coverage" section; actual terms depend on the carrier and policy placed..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources..) | The reviewed page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premiums; carriers use inputs such as funding stage, cap table and debt to quote, and amounts are not published. [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Directors & Officers page "Quote file" section as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes management-liability advice, D&O benchmarking and program guidance, including public-company and pre-IPO contexts. Benchmarking is not a coverage term or quote. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/ "Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/ "Directors & Officers Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | To quote D&O, Kinro collects ownership, funding stage, board structure, revenue and headcount, prior claims and investor or lender requirements, and often reviews D&O together with EPLI, cyber and E&O coverage. [8](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Quote file" and "Reviewed with" sections..) |

## Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs Kinro D&O Insurance

- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): D&O insurance can protect leaders and, in some policies, the company from covered management claims; company coverage, defense costs and limits differ by quote.
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Commercial Auto Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/commercial-auto)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/commercial-property)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/cyber)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/general-liability)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Inland Marine Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/inland-marine)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/professional-errors-omissions)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/umbrella-excess)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Kinro Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-kinro/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-baldwin/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-baldwin/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers)

## Sources for The Baldwin Group vs Kinro D&O Insurance

### Sources About The Baldwin Group

1. [The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm). U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
2. [Business Insurance](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/). The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/real-estate/). The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29.. Accessed 2026-09-30.
4. [Directors & Officers Liability Insurance](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/management-liability/). The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Sources About Kinro

5. [Kinro Business Insurance](https://kinro.com/). Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy](https://kinro.com/policy-review). Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [For Carriers And MGAs](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers). Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
8. [Directors & Officers](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers). Kinro; Common fit; Product file; Coverage — What it usually handles; Triggers — When it comes up; Quote file — Inputs carriers usually need; Routing — Match the product to the operation; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

9. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf). Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95). Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## The Baldwin Group Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin/reviews).

## Kinro Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: not enough ratings.

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-kinro/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
