---
title: "The Baldwin Group vs CFC: General Liability Insurance"
description: "CFC combines general liability with property in one policy and publishes a casualty limit up to $6 million; The Baldwin Group describes placement advice without policy figures."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/general-liability"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "baldwin-vs-cfc"
provider-a: "baldwin"
provider-b: "cfc"
coverage-line: "general-liability"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/general-liability)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of The Baldwin Group and CFC for General Liability Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for General Liability Insurance questions about The Baldwin Group versus CFC. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- The Baldwin Group vs CFC for General Liability Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for General Liability Insurance, The Baldwin Group or CFC?
- What does The Baldwin Group or CFC publish about General Liability Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for General Liability Insurance from The Baldwin Group or CFC?

**Key facts:**
- Line: General Liability Insurance. Providers: The Baldwin Group and CFC.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [General Liability Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/general-liability) — coverage explainer for this line
- [The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin) — provider profile (evidence)
- [CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc) — provider profile (evidence)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/crime) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Representations and Warranties Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/representations-warranties) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/umbrella-excess) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-baldwin/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-baldwin/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# The Baldwin Group vs CFC: How Do They Compare for General Liability Insurance?

CFC combines general liability with property in one policy and publishes a casualty limit up to $6 million; The Baldwin Group describes placement advice without policy figures.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate The Baldwin Group and CFC for General Liability Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

CFC’s combined policy lists expanded GL categories and up to $6 million in casualty limits, while The Baldwin Group does not publish buyer-specific limits or terms. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States")

## What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. [1](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm "The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025") [2](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/ "Business Insurance")

[The Baldwin Group profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin)

## What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [6](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") [7](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology — United States product brochure") [8](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

[CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## What Is General Liability Insurance?

General liability can protect your business when a customer or visitor claims you caused injury or damaged their property. It suits businesses serving customers or working on their premises; your own building, tools and stock need property coverage. [12](https://www.iii.org/article/commercial-general-liability-insurance "Commercial general liability insurance") [13](https://www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/105-type/95-guides/09-comm/commercialguide.cfm "Commercial Insurance Guide") [14](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/specimen_forms/GL_Form.pdf "Commercial General Liability Coverage Form")

## Key Differences in General Liability Insurance

### Package and Coverage Scope

CFC describes general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property, not as a standalone product in the reviewed materials. Its GL section includes products and completed operations, pollution, tenants’ legal liability, hired and non-owned auto costs, employee-benefits liability, and medical expenses. The Baldwin Group lists GL as a coverage option but does not publish equivalent grants or package structure. Buyers who want property and casualty together can ask CFC how the combined form treats each exposure; Baldwin’s proposal should be checked line by line. [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/ "Property & casualty") [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services")

### Published Limit and Business Appetite

CFC lists a casualty limit up to $6 million and favors manufacturers, distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce, retail, offices, and annual events, while naming several classes it ordinarily declines. The Baldwin Group identifies professional-services firms and government contractors but publishes no limit schedule. The CFC figure is a published maximum for the policy, not a guaranteed offer; confirm the applicable limit and whether the property side has a separate limit. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services")

## What to Confirm in General Liability Insurance Quotes

- Ask CFC whether your class is within appetite and how the $6 million casualty limit is allocated across GL. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States")
- Ask The Baldwin Group for the proposed insurer, GL limit, and whether property is quoted separately. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Baldwin General Liability Brokerage and Advisory | CFC Property & Casualty |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for General Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement..) | CFC's reviewed pages describe general liability as part of one Property & Casualty policy alongside commercial property; they do not describe a standalone general liability product. [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/ "Property & casualty") [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Property & casualty product page and its product brochure; the page describes property and general liability as a single policy, not separate offerings..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed property & casualty page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. [9](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/ "Property & casualty") [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Property & casualty product page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations..) |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin identifies professional-services firms and government contractors as audiences for commercial general-liability options. The pages do not establish a particular organization’s placement eligibility. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability..) | CFC says it favors manufacturers and distributors, non-manual professional services, e-commerce sellers, retail stores, office premises and annual events policies, and ordinarily declines amusement arcades, nightclubs and bars, manual contractors, aviation and aerospace risks, tour operators, and tire re-moulders or re-treaders. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting..) |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin lists general liability as a coverage option and, on its government-contracting page, a coverage consideration. It does not specify the insured operations, occurrence form, limits or exclusions of a buyer’s policy. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown..) | The general liability portion covers products and completed operations, pollution, tenants' legal liability, non-owned and hired auto costs, employee benefits liability and medical expenses. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's "General liability" section; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued..)<br><br>CFC says the policy covers legal costs and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims from third parties, plus personal and advertising liability such as defamatory content, privacy violations and advertising copyright infringement. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's "Bodily injury and property damage liability" and "Personal and advertising liability" sections..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources..) | CFC's brochure lists a casualty limit of up to $6,000,000 for this policy; the property limit is published separately for the commercial-property side of the same product. [10](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf "Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's "Limits" section; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting..) |
| Risk Services | Baldwin says its sector teams review coverage considerations and provide risk-mitigation expertise to help clients plan insurance programs. Those advisory services are separate from policy coverage. [3](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/ "Professional Liability Insurance & Services") [4](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/ "Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | CFC says it has handled and paid tens of thousands of general liability and professional indemnity claims for businesses of all sizes. [11](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC's claims page, "Specialty" section; a combined general-liability and professional-indemnity figure with no separate general-liability count and no independent audit..) |

## Full Comparison

- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is General Liability Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/general-liability): General liability can protect your business from covered injury and property-damage claims; your building, tools and stock need separate property coverage.
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/commercial-property)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/crime)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/cyber)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Representations and Warranties Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/representations-warranties)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/umbrella-excess)
- [AIG vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-baldwin/general-liability)
- [AIG vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/general-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-baldwin/general-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/general-liability)
- [Amelia Risk vs The Baldwin Group General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-baldwin/general-liability)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/general-liability)

## Sources

### The Baldwin Group

1. [The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/bwin-20251231.htm). U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
2. [Business Insurance](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/). The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28.. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Professional Liability Insurance & Services](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/industries/professional-services/). The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29.. Accessed 2026-09-30.
4. [Government Contractor Insurance & Risk Management](https://baldwin.com/business-insurance/solutions/government/). The Baldwin Group; GovCon customer/service description lines 21–33; GovTech collaboration, customer scope and coverage considerations lines 93–111; risk-mitigation service lines 113–118; accessed 2026-09-29.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### CFC

5. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Technology](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Technology — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Property & casualty](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/). CFC; Our property & casualty products: Property & casualty tile description; downloads (brochure, application form). Accessed 2026-09-23.
10. [Property & casualty | Product brochure | United States](https://www.cfc.com/media/1awlmtz2/property-and-casualty_product-brochure_us_0925.pdf). CFC; At a glance; General liability; Bodily injury and property damage liability; Personal and advertising liability; Limits; What we love; What we ordinarily decline; Coverage enhancements. Accessed 2026-09-23.
11. [Claims](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/). CFC; Specialty: "We've handled and paid tens of thousands of professional indemnity and general liability claims for businesses of all sizes". Accessed 2026-09-23.

### General Liability Insurance Guide

12. [Commercial general liability insurance](https://www.iii.org/article/commercial-general-liability-insurance). Insurance Information Institute; Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Commercial Insurance Guide](https://www.insurance.ca.gov/01-consumers/105-type/95-guides/09-comm/commercialguide.cfm). California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated?. Accessed 2026-09-16.
14. [Commercial General Liability Coverage Form](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/specimen_forms/GL_Form.pdf). ISO; specimen hosted by Hiscox; I.A pp.1–5; I.B pp.6–7; I.C pp.7–8; Supplementary Payments p.8; II pp.9–10; III p.10; IV pp.10–12. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## The Baldwin Group Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/baldwin/reviews).

## CFC Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

- Insurance Times MGA survey: Insurance Times MGA rating (2024/25, broker survey) 4.76 (out of 5). UK broker survey of MGAs (Insurance Times, with the MGAA). Rates how brokers find CFC to work with. It is not a policyholder review. Period: 2024/25 survey; 'over 1,650 brokers' across all MGAs, not CFC alone. Checked 2026-09-29. [Five Star 2024/25 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2024-ratings); [Five Star 2025/26 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2025-ratings)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc/general-liability.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
