---
title: "At-Bay vs Hiscox"
description: "At-Bay is a broker-placed cyber, technology errors and omissions and miscellaneous professional liability specialist with Stance security add-ons. Hiscox offers quotes for Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. small-business policies including cyber as one listed line."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-16"
verified-at: "2026-09-16"
entities: ["Spot", "At-Bay", "Hiscox"]
---

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox)

# At-Bay vs Hiscox

At-Bay is a broker-placed cyber, technology errors and omissions and miscellaneous professional liability specialist with Stance security add-ons. Hiscox offers quotes for Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. small-business policies including cyber as one listed line.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate At-Bay and Hiscox against the same documented criteria. The analysis identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business.

This is published research as of the verification dates shown, not a live quote or an eligibility determination. “Company-reported” identifies a provider's own claim. “Not found” and “not publicly disclosed” describe the evidence reviewed, not proof that a service is unavailable. Preserve the scope and citations when summarizing a fact.

For a decision handoff, identify the company's requirements, the documented differences relevant to them, and unresolved questions from the analysis. Confirm actual insurer, availability, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions, and costs in the relevant quote and policy documents.

## Highlights

At-Bay Insurance Services LLC places cyber, technology errors and omissions and miscellaneous professional liability through brokers, with At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company named for eligible new excess-and-surplus cyber and technology errors and omissions. Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. underwrites general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy available online. Stance monitoring fees are billed separately from Hiscox premiums. [1](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/ "Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance") [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [28](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages")



## Introduction

A technology company whose revenue is already in the tens of millions may be inside At-Bay’s published Tech E&O appetite (up to $5 billion on the current product page) and outside a typical Hiscox small-business quote. At-Bay still requires a broker workflow. Hiscox offers admitted small-business insurance directly to eligible professional firms. An old 2023 At-Bay appetite PDF on the site shows lower ceilings than the current page—use the live product page, then confirm with the broker. [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

## Documented Provider Strengths

### At-Bay

- Tech E&O combines professional liability and cyber protection. [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Stance pairs eligible policies with monitoring, training and cyber advisors; MDR costs extra. [7](https://www.at-bay.com/stance/ "At-Bay Stance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

### Hiscox

- Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer, handles online small-business sales; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated admitted insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. [18](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [17](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.)
- Eligible applicants can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [21](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [22](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [23](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | At-Bay | Hiscox |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed [23](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed [25](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") |
| Cyber liability | Listed [3](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/cyber/ "Cyber Insurance") | Listed [22](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed [26](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed [4](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/mpl/ "MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite") | Listed [21](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") |
| Technology errors and omissions | Listed [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") [3](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/cyber/ "Cyber Insurance") | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed [24](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") |

Listed products and programs may be arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.

## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://cal.com/team/spotinsure/insurance-consultation). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage. Consult [Spot pricing](https://spot.insure/pricing.md) for ongoing service fees.

This is a service offered by the publisher, separate from the provider research.

## Key Differences Between at-Bay and Hiscox

### Specialist Paper Versus Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.

At-Bay announced that eligible new excess-and-surplus cyber and technology errors and omissions would be quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper. The current miscellaneous professional liability product page does not name its issuing insurer; a September 2023 announcement named United Specialty. Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. for products listed for online quoting. At-Bay’s product and licensing pages used as sources do not establish California eligibility for a specific startup, product and issuing insurer. [11](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-begins-issuing-policies-on-its-own-paper/ "At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper") [37](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile "Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile")

### Combined Tech E&O and Stance Versus Hiscox Packaged Cyber

At-Bay describes Tech E&O as combining professional liability and cyber (coding errors, failed implementations). Stance vulnerability monitoring is tied to an Embedded Security Fee; MDR/MXDR is purchased separately. Hiscox sells professional liability and cyber as listed core products without Stance. [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

### How Quoting Works

At-Bay’s broker workflow is application, limits, documents, effective date. Hiscox accepts online applications from eligible small businesses. At-Bay markets primary MPL for businesses of all revenue sizes with limits up to $5 million on that page—still not a Hiscox BOP. [6](https://www.at-bay.com/brokers/platform/ "Broker Platform") [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote")

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- **Issuing company** for cyber/Tech E&O versus MPL. [11](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-begins-issuing-policies-on-its-own-paper/ "At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper")

- **Stance and MDR fees** separate from premium. [7](https://www.at-bay.com/stance/ "At-Bay Stance")

- **California surplus-lines path.** [5](https://www.at-bay.com/licenses/ "Licenses")



## Service Comparison

At-Bay vs Hiscox: documented services and availability.

| Criteria | At-Bay | Hiscox |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Access to insurers | At-Bay announced in August 2023 that eligible new E&S Cyber and Tech E&O business would be quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper. That historical announcement does not identify the insurer on a current California quote or establish the issuer for MPL. [11](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-begins-issuing-policies-on-its-own-paper/ "At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Historical announcement effective August 7, 2023; no buyer-specific policy reviewed.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The current MPL product page does not name its issuing insurer. A September 2023 announcement names United Specialty Company for MPL, but that historical reference is insufficient to establish the current contracting insurer or California placement. [4](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/mpl/ "MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite") [13](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-doubles-mpl/ "At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Current issuer not established; preserve source spelling without converting historical brand wording into a verified legal-entity record.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. [37](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile "Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile") [38](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=59700&s=Active&t=INS "Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.") [17](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [36](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [19](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Admitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hiscox refers small-business buyers to other insurers or marketplaces for several products: workers’ compensation is underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance; the commercial-auto page refers customers to GEICO and affiliates; medical malpractice is accessed through NOW Insurance, which Hiscox says is not affiliated with the Hiscox group; short-term liability is underwritten by Markel Insurance Company through Thimble. A separate other-insurance page instead partners with CyberPolicy for commercial auto, umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability. The issuing company on a partner quote is therefore not assumed to be Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. [24](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [25](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") [26](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") [27](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance "Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [28](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox product-page footers and partner statements. Two commercial-auto routes (GEICO referral and CyberPolicy) are published simultaneously; this research did not determine which path a given zip code receives.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. [17](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance "About Hiscox US Insurance") [18](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Coverage lines | At-Bay describes Tech E&O as combining professional liability and cyber protection, including coding errors, failed implementations and customer contractual indemnity. It also describes service credits issued to settle a claim as payable damages, subject to policy terms. [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>At-Bay markets cyber coverage for direct and contingent business interruption and system failure, cyber extortion, privacy liability, and financial fraud exposures such as social engineering and invoice manipulation. Specific limits and conditions require the quote and policy. [3](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/cyber/ "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current cyber product offering; components are not separate catalogue products.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>At-Bay markets miscellaneous professional liability (MPL) on a primary basis for businesses of all revenue sizes, with limits up to $5 million and state restrictions. The product page describes claims-made-and-reported coverage, a duty to defend and a tailored definition of professional services. [4](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/mpl/ "MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current MPL page; eligibility and policy wording remain underwriting-specific.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>At-Bay advertises excess Cyber and Tech E&O alongside primary coverage. The excess catalogue entry refers to those specialist lines; it does not establish a general commercial umbrella offering. [3](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/cyber/ "Cyber Insurance") [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Shared umbrella-excess key used only for explicitly marketed excess products.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [21](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [22](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance "Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses") [23](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") [15](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance "IT Professional & General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. [33](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability "Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance") [34](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime "Commercial crime insurance for small businesses") [23](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Hiscox also markets partner coverage for workers’ compensation (Hartford Fire, generally requiring a Hiscox general-liability policy), commercial auto (GEICO referral and, separately, CyberPolicy), medical malpractice (NOW Insurance), short-term liability (Thimble/Markel), and CyberPolicy quotes for umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability. Those pages are partner access paths, not proof that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. [24](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance "Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses") [25](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance "Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses") [26](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance "Medical Malpractice Insurance") [27](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance "Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses") [28](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance "Specific Business Insurance Coverages") [39](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability "Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current partner product pages. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is a different offering from the CyberPolicy D&O/EPLI links.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | At-Bay describes a broker workflow of completing an application, adjusting limits and retentions, reviewing documents, selecting an effective date, and satisfying contingencies and signature requirements before binding. Brokers can also email submissions to underwriting. An online quote is not itself bound coverage. [6](https://www.at-bay.com/brokers/platform/ "Broker Platform") [4](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/mpl/ "MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Hiscox says eligible buyers can get a small-business quote online by entering a zip code and answering questions, and that general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP are offered online. Licensed advisors are available by phone at posted Eastern Time hours. The general-liability FAQ says that after the application is completed, the policy is issued by email and a certificate appears in welcome documents. These are company-described steps; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. [29](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business "Get A Small Business Insurance Quote") [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [14](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance "Hiscox Small Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Public quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Claims assistance | At-Bay describes an in-house claims team that coordinates with a breach coach and response partners after a cyber incident. Its claims page provides incident reporting routes, and Response & Recovery is integrated with the claims process. This establishes a described support process, not claims payment or service quality. [8](https://www.at-bay.com/claims/ "Claims Handling") [9](https://www.at-bay.com/security/response-recovery/ "Response & Recovery") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber incident process; confirm policy-specific notice obligations and consent requirements, including non-cyber E&O claims.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Hiscox says customers can start a claim online, by phone or by mail. The claims center lists 1-866-424-8508 with weekday and weekend Eastern hours; a professional-liability FAQ separately tells current customers that 866-424-8508 is open 24 hours a day. Hiscox says it assigns a specialized claims professional, validates coverage and may appoint an attorney for covered liability claims. Policies placed with Hartford, GEICO, NOW Insurance, Markel/Thimble or CyberPolicy markets may use different notice instructions. These statements describe a reporting process, not independently measured claims outcomes. [30](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center "Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail") [40](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq "What is Professional Liability Insurance?") [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Fees and compensation | Stance access uses an Embedded Security Fee and Endorsement, while MDR is separately purchased. Security costs should be distinguished from the insurance premium and any broker charges. [7](https://www.at-bay.com/stance/ "At-Bay Stance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Does not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>Commission rates, broker compensation arrangements and a complete placement-fee schedule were not disclosed in the reviewed product, platform and US terms pages. This does not establish that commissions or fees are absent; request an itemized quote and compensation disclosure. [2](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights") [6](https://www.at-bay.com/brokers/platform/ "Broker Platform") [10](https://www.at-bay.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Scoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.; verified: 2026-09-16.) | Hiscox’s general-liability FAQ says buyers may pay annually or monthly with no additional fees, using debit or credit card. The California small-business page also lists monthly, quarterly, semi-annual and annual options with no fees. Product pages advertise up to a 5% discount for bundling certain Hiscox coverages. Published tables of monthly cost are labeled illustrative and are not quotes. [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") [19](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance "California Business Insurance") [23](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy "Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.; verified: 2026-09-16.)<br><br>The reviewed Hiscox small-business, terms-of-use and appetite pages do not publish a buyer-facing commission, producer-fee or contingent-commission schedule. The 2026 appetite guide states that actual cost, commission, premium and coverage may vary with underwriting. Amounts payable besides premium therefore remain not disclosed in those sources. [36](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf "Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide") [18](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use "Website Terms & Conditions of Use") [20](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance "General Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Public consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is At-Bay Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/at-bay)
- [What Is Hiscox?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/hiscox)

## Related Comparisons

- [Alliance Risk vs At-Bay](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-at-bay)
- [Alliance Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Amelia Risk vs At-Bay Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-at-bay)
- [Amelia Risk vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-hiscox)
- [Armilla vs At-Bay](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-at-bay)
- [Armilla vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-hiscox)
- [At-Bay vs Beazley](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-beazley)
- [At-Bay vs CFC Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cfc)
- [At-Bay vs Chubb Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-chubb)
- [At-Bay vs Coalition](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-coalition)
- [At-Bay vs Corgi Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-corgi)
- [At-Bay vs Coterie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-coterie)
- [At-Bay vs Coverdash Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-coverdash)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell)
- [At-Bay vs Embroker Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-embroker)
- [At-Bay vs Founder Shield Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-foundershield)
- [At-Bay vs Gallagher Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-gallagher)
- [At-Bay vs Harper Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-harper)
- [At-Bay vs Heffernan Insurance Brokers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-heffernan)
- [At-Bay vs HUB International Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hub-international)
- [At-Bay vs Kinro Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-kinro)
- [At-Bay vs Layr Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-layr)
- [At-Bay vs Lockton Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-lockton)
- [At-Bay vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-marsh)
- [At-Bay vs Mylo Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-mylo)
- [At-Bay vs Newfront Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-newfront)
- [At-Bay vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-next-insurance)
- [At-Bay vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-pie-insurance)
- [At-Bay vs Relm Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-relm)
- [At-Bay vs Resilience Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-resilience)
- [At-Bay vs RiskCube Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-riskcube)
- [At-Bay vs Risklytics Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-risklytics)
- [At-Bay vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-startupinsurance)
- [At-Bay vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-techinsurance)
- [At-Bay vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-the-hartford)
- [At-Bay vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-travelers)
- [At-Bay vs USI Insurance Services Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-usi)
- [At-Bay vs Vouch Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-vouch)
- [At-Bay vs WithCoverage Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-withcoverage)
- [Beazley vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-hiscox)
- [CFC vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-hiscox)
- [Chubb vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-hiscox)
- [Coalition vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-hiscox)
- [Corgi vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-hiscox)
- [Coterie vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-hiscox)
- [Coverdash vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-hiscox)
- [Cowbell vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-hiscox)
- [Embroker vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-hiscox)
- [Founder Shield vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/foundershield-vs-hiscox)
- [Gallagher vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/gallagher-vs-hiscox)
- [Harper vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/harper-vs-hiscox)
- [Heffernan vs Hiscox](https://spot.insure/compare/heffernan-vs-hiscox)
- [Hiscox vs HUB International](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-hub-international)
- [Hiscox vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-kinro)
- [Hiscox vs Layr](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-layr)
- [Hiscox vs Lockton](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-lockton)
- [Hiscox vs Marsh](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-marsh)
- [Hiscox vs Mylo](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-mylo)
- [Hiscox vs Newfront](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-newfront)
- [Hiscox vs ERGO NEXT Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-next-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Pie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-pie-insurance)
- [Hiscox vs Relm](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-relm)
- [Hiscox vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-resilience)
- [Hiscox vs RiskCube](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-riskcube)
- [Hiscox vs Risklytics](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-risklytics)
- [Hiscox vs StartupInsurance.ai](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-startupinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs TechInsurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-techinsurance)
- [Hiscox vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-the-hartford)
- [Hiscox vs Travelers Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-travelers)
- [Hiscox vs USI](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-usi)
- [Hiscox vs Vouch](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-vouch)
- [Hiscox vs WithCoverage](https://spot.insure/compare/hiscox-vs-withcoverage)

## Sources

### [At-Bay Official Website](https://www.at-bay.com/)

1. [Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/). At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/tech-eo/). At-Bay; Tech E&O Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; footnotes 1–7; state disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/cyber/). At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite](https://www.at-bay.com/insurance/mpl/). At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights; MPL Appetite; state restrictions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Licenses](https://www.at-bay.com/licenses/). At-Bay; Producer introduction; California row; agency and surplus-lines footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Broker Platform](https://www.at-bay.com/brokers/platform/). At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [At-Bay Stance](https://www.at-bay.com/stance/). At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [Claims Handling](https://www.at-bay.com/claims/). At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Response & Recovery](https://www.at-bay.com/security/response-recovery/). At-Bay; Minimize Downtime with One Partner; integration with claims process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Terms of Service](https://www.at-bay.com/terms-of-service/). At-Bay; US terms effective April 11, 2023: Insurance Product Terms; Payment Policy; Service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-begins-issuing-policies-on-its-own-paper/). At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: opening paragraph and new-business transition effective August 7, 2023. Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [At-Bay Surplus Tech E&O Appetite Guide](https://www.at-bay.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/At-Bay-Tech-EO-Appetite-Guide-2022.pdf). At-Bay; Pages 1–2; September 2023 copyright; revenue and limit statements; Restricted classes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite](https://www.at-bay.com/press_releases/at-bay-doubles-mpl/). At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.

### [Hiscox Official Website](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance)

14. [Hiscox Small Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance). Hiscox; Product selector (GL, professional liability/E&O, cyber, workers compensation, commercial auto, medical malpractice, short-term liability); FAQ that Hiscox is licensed in 49 states and D.C. and unavailable in Alaska; partnership language for workers’ compensation; online quote statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
15. [IT Professional & General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance). Hiscox; IT/technology professional audience; general liability, BOP, professional liability/E&O and cyber security descriptions for IT businesses; illustrative cyber breach-response example. Accessed 2026-09-16.
16. [Insurance for IT Consultants](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-business-insurance/it-insurance/it-consultant-insurance). Hiscox; IT consultant professional-liability and general-liability descriptions, including the phrase technology professional liability insurance as a label for E&O for IT work. Accessed 2026-09-16.
17. [About Hiscox US Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/about-hiscox-insurance). Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
18. [Website Terms & Conditions of Use](https://www.hiscox.com/terms-of-use). Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
19. [California Business Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/california-business-insurance). Hiscox; California product list (GL, professional liability, BOP, workers compensation, cyber); IT/technology profession link; payment-option and worldwide-claim-filing statements; footer that products are approved by the California Department of Insurance and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware licensed producer; California d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency license no. 0F09668; coverage subject to underwriting and may not be available in all states; company-stated Illinois license number 8754. Accessed 2026-09-16.
20. [General Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/general-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Online quote; 49-state and D.C. availability with Alaska excluded; broker-referral if not sold online; payment annually or monthly with no additional fees; online 24/7 claim reporting; policy issued via email and certificate in welcome documents; illustrative California consultant pricing table labeled as illustrative; electronic data liability for IT professions; coverage subject to underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
21. [Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
22. [Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/cyber-security-insurance). Hiscox; Standalone cyber security/cyber liability product with online quote; data-breach, cyberattack and related-loss descriptions; licensed-agent phone number 1-833-816-2811. Accessed 2026-09-16.
23. [Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owners-policy). Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table labeled with asterisks; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
24. [Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/workers-compensation-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with The Hartford; general liability required to purchase workers comp; not available for all classes; footer that coverage is made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance, One Hartford Plaza, Hartford, CT 06155. Accessed 2026-09-16.
25. [Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/commercial-auto-insurance). Hiscox; Commercial auto product page; quote redirect to a site not owned by Hiscox; customers referred to GEICO by Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA; products underwritten by Government Employees Insurance Company and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [Medical Malpractice Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/medical-malpractice-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with NOW Insurance for medical malpractice quotes; footer that NOW Insurance is not affiliated with the Hiscox group and that Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA provides access to coverage available through NOW Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/short-term-liability-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with Thimble for short-term general and professional liability; not available in all jurisdictions or classes; underwritten by Markel Insurance Company, Ten Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015. Accessed 2026-09-16.
28. [Specific Business Insurance Coverages](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/other-insurance). Hiscox; Partnership with CyberPolicy for additional coverages including commercial auto, umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability, with quote links to sme.cyberpolicy.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Get A Small Business Insurance Quote](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/get-a-quote-for-your-small-business). Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/claims-center). Hiscox; Online claim filing; phone 1-866-424-8508 with posted hours; specialized claims professional assignment; coverage validation; liability claims attorney-appointment description; broker-reported claims option; company marketing phrase award-winning claims service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Manage your policy](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy). Hiscox; Online account functions: download policy documents, certificates, authorized person, same-state address and business-name changes, loss runs, waiver of subrogation, certificate holder, document submission; phone-only changes including payment method, limits, new-state address, coverage adjustments and cancellation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [Get a Certificate of Insurance (COI)](https://www.hiscox.com/manage-your-policy/get-certificate-of-insurance). Hiscox; Online ACORD/certificate generation using policy number and policy email address. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/non-owned-auto-liability). Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner’s policy and part of that policy’s occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Commercial crime insurance for small businesses](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/business-owner-insurance/commercial-crime). Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [Contact Us](https://www.hiscox.com/contact-us). Hiscox; U.S. locations including Atlanta headquarters and a Los Angeles office; statement that Hiscox operates in 49 U.S. states and D.C. and offers specialty products through U.S. brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/partner-agent/appetite_guide/Hiscox-NOW-Appetite-Guide.pdf). Hiscox; Document 23295 07/26; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia; technology classes including IT consultants and software development; footer that products are made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; commission and premium may vary. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3358&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; NAIC 10200; California Company ID 1439-9; authorized in California 09/14/1953; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Illinois; NAIC Group 4666 Hiscox Ins Grp; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, surety and others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.](https://insurance.illinois.gov/applications/RegEntPortal/ViewEntityDetails.aspx?en=59700&s=Active&t=INS). Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; P&C Domestic Stock; domicile County of Cook, Illinois; parent Hiscox Ltd.; status Active; NAIC 4666 10200; incorporated 11/26/1952; 125 South Wacker Drive Suite 2080 Chicago, IL 60606. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks](https://www.hiscox.com/brokers/management-liability). Hiscox; Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite management liability and crime solution; statement we are no longer entertaining risks in the metro areas of California; add-on references to media, cyber, crime and technology; not the consumer small-business online catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [What is Professional Liability Insurance?](https://www.hiscox.com/small-business-insurance/professional-liability-insurance/pl-faq). Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number 866-424-8508 described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-16. Last verified 2026-09-16. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-hiscox.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
