---
title: "Aon vs The Hartford: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance"
description: "Compare Aon and The Hartford on professional liability (e&o) insurance to see how their documented coverage, audience or placement routes affect your quote questions."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "aon-vs-the-hartford"
provider-a: "aon"
provider-b: "the-hartford"
coverage-line: "professional-errors-omissions"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Aon and The Hartford for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance questions about Aon versus The Hartford. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Aon vs The Hartford for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance, Aon or The Hartford?
- What does Aon or The Hartford publish about Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance from Aon or The Hartford?

**Key facts:**
- Line: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance. Providers: Aon and The Hartford.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Aon vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [The Hartford profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Commercial Auto Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/commercial-auto) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/crime) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/employment-practices) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/fiduciary) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Kidnap and Ransom Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/kidnap-ransom) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/management-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs At-Bay Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Aon vs The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Compare Aon and The Hartford on professional liability (e&o) insurance to see how their documented coverage, audience or placement routes affect your quote questions.

## How to Use the Aon vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparison

Use this comparison to evaluate Aon and The Hartford for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Aon vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Summary

Aon: professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. The Hartford: the Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford suits SaaS and software small businesses seeking a BOP and an online quote; buyers needing commercial auto through self-service or built-in California EPL coverage should use another route. Eligible small-business quotes can start online in minutes. [4](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice "Legal Notice") [5](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance "SaaS Insurance for Your Business") [6](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent "Find a Local Insurance Agent")

[The Hartford profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford)

## What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. [8](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html "FAQ: Professional liability insurance") [9](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance "Professional liability insurance") [10](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance "Get business insurance") [11](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf "Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance")

## What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

### Claims-made and occurrence options

The Hartford says many of its professional-liability policies are claims-made with a retroactive date and extended reporting period, while some are occurrence-based. Aon says it tailors structures but does not specify triggers in its summary. Ask which trigger and reporting period apply to your proposal. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")

### Covered allegations and professions

The Hartford lists negligence, inaccurate advice, libel or slander and copyright infringement, and names technology, accounting, design and healthcare professions. Aon names law, accounting and consulting firms. Compare the allegation list and confirm eligibility for your particular services. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")

### Published price examples versus tailored placement

The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums for several professional-liability products but says cost and limits are set at quote. Aon describes tailored coverage structures without published prices. Use the figures only as a starting point and compare same-limit proposals. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")

## What Should You Confirm in Aon and The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

- Ask Aon to confirm the quoted policy form, retroactive date and covered allegations; its offering says professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice")
- Ask The Hartford to confirm the quoted policy form, retroactive date and covered allegations; its offering says the Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage")

## Aon vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Compared

| Criteria | Aon Professional Liability / E&O brokerage and risk-advisory offering | The Hartford Professional Liability Insurance (Errors & Omissions) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement..) | The Hartford's professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, protects businesses when they make mistakes in the professional services provided to clients, including claims that turn out to be baseless. [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement..) | The Hartford targets professional liability at businesses that sign contracts requiring coverage, offer professional services directly to customers, or regularly give advice to clients, and lists industries it covers: accountants, consultants, interior designers, advertising agencies, graphic designers, technology professionals and healthcare professionals. [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23..) |
| Coverage Features | Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage..) | The Hartford says the policy can cover claims of negligence, misrepresentation, inaccurate advice, personal injury (libel/slander) and copyright infringement, plus defense costs. Many of its professional liability policies are written on a claims-made basis with a retroactive date and an extended reporting period (typically 30-60 days, extendable to a year or more for an added cost), though some are written on an occurrence basis. [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. General coverage and policy-form description; the issued policy controls..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed..) | The Hartford publishes average minimum monthly premiums by product: Misc. Professional Liability Standalone $62, Misc. Professional Liability Endorsement $41, Architects and Engineers Professional Liability $239, Healthcare Professionals Professional Liability $38, and Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies $146. The page does not publish standard coverage limits or retentions; cost and limits are set at quote. [7](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance "Professional Liability Insurance Coverage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported pricing as of 2026-09-23 (page last updated by The Hartford May 4, 2026); premiums are not coverage limits..) |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated..) | Confirm in your quote. |

## Related Pages for Aon vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O)

- [Aon vs The Hartford](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions): Professional liability can help pay covered defense costs and losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm; check services and reporting terms.
- [Aon vs The Hartford Commercial Auto Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/commercial-auto)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/commercial-property)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/crime)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/cyber)
- [Aon vs The Hartford D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/directors-officers)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/employment-practices)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/fiduciary)
- [Aon vs The Hartford General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/general-liability)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Kidnap and Ransom Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/kidnap-ransom)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/management-liability)
- [Aon vs The Hartford Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions)
- [AIG vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs At-Bay Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/professional-errors-omissions)

## Sources for Aon vs The Hartford Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

### Sources About Aon

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
3. [Professional Services Practice](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice). Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Sources About The Hartford

4. [Legal Notice](https://www.thehartford.com/legal-notice). The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [SaaS Insurance for Your Business](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/saas-insurance). The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Find a Local Insurance Agent](https://www.thehartford.com/find-an-agent). The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Professional Liability Insurance Coverage](https://www.thehartford.com/professional-liability-insurance). The Hartford; What Is Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; What Does Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Much Does Professional Liability Insurance Cost?; How Does Professional Liability Insurance Work? (claims-made vs. occurrence). Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

8. [FAQ: Professional liability insurance](https://www.tdi.texas.gov/commercial/pl-faq.html). Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [Professional liability insurance](https://www.iii.org/article/professional-liability-insurance). Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Get business insurance](https://www.sba.gov/counseling/launch-your-business/#business-insurance). U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance](https://www.hiscox.com/documents/pl-sample-policy-wording.pdf). Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Aon Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## The Hartford Review Scores for 2026

Review Score: 4.9 / 10 from 5 rated sources, equally weighted.

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.

- NerdWallet: NerdWallet editorial rating 4.5 (5 stars). Editorial commercial-insurance assessment; methodology and scope belong to publisher. Period: 2026 review; accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [NerdWallet result for The Hartford](https://www.nerdwallet.com/business/insurance/learn/hartford-business-insurance)
- J.D. Power: J.D. Power commercial-lines independent-agent satisfaction index 794 (out of 1000). Study population/segment as stated; not a universal policy quality score. Period: 2022 study; accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Independent Agent Satisfaction Study — commercial lines ranking](https://www.jdpower.com/sites/default/files/file/2022-10/2022134%20U.S.%20Independent%20Agent.pdf)
- Trustpilot: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.2 (5 stars); 493 reviews. Self-selected consumer aggregate; product and business/personal scope may be mixed. Period: accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [Trustpilot result for The Hartford](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/thehartford.com)
- ConsumerAffairs: ConsumerAffairs homeowners consumer rating 1.6 (5 stars); 147 reviews. Self-selected consumer aggregate; product and business/personal scope may be mixed. Period: updated 2026-09-12; accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [ConsumerAffairs result for The Hartford](https://www.consumeraffairs.com/insurance/hartford_homeowners.html)
- Google reviews via Birdeye: Birdeye office listing rating from Google reviews 1.0 (5 stars); 10 reviews. One Schaumburg, Illinois insurance office listing; not firmwide. Birdeye shows Google as review origin (10) and Birdeye-native reviews (0), so counts are syndicated Google reviews, not independent Birdeye reviews. Visible reviews mix business, personal, and employee-benefit claims. Period: accessed 2026-09-25. Checked 2026-09-25. [The Hartford office, Schaumburg, IL — Birdeye listing of Google reviews](https://reviews.birdeye.com/the-hartford-176946619436860)

Reviewed 2026-09-25. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/the-hartford/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-the-hartford/professional-errors-omissions.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
