---
title: "Aon vs Resilience: Cyber Insurance"
description: "Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million and a 24/7 claims team; Aon describes broker advocacy with separately contracted incident-response providers."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-resilience/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "aon-vs-resilience"
provider-a: "aon"
provider-b: "resilience"
coverage-line: "cyber"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-resilience/cyber)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Aon and Resilience for Cyber Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for Cyber Insurance questions about Aon versus Resilience. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Aon vs Resilience for Cyber Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for Cyber Insurance, Aon or Resilience?
- What does Aon or Resilience publish about Cyber Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for Cyber Insurance from Aon or Resilience?

**Key facts:**
- Line: Cyber Insurance. Providers: Aon and Resilience.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Aon vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-resilience) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [Cyber Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Resilience profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/resilience) — provider profile (evidence)
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-resilience/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-resilience/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-resilience/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Aon vs Resilience: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million and a 24/7 claims team; Aon describes broker advocacy with separately contracted incident-response providers.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Aon and Resilience for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Resilience pairs cyber coverage with limits up to $20 million and 24/7 response; Aon describes claims advocacy and outside provider relationships. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is Resilience Insurance?

Resilience suits businesses seeking cyber or technology E&O alongside security-risk services; small companies wanting a standard commercial package should compare other providers. Review the proposed policy separately from its risk-management tools. [4](https://cyberresilience.com/ "Home Page") [5](https://cyberresilience.com/products/technology-errors-and-omissions-insurance "Technology E&O")

[Resilience profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/resilience)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. [9](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") [10](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf "CyberEdge specimen policy")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### Policy Response and Claims Roles

Resilience describes eCrime coverage up to $500,000, incident costs that can exceed the policy limit, and an in-house 24/7 claims team. Aon describes claims advocacy and relationships with third-party responders whose contracts are separate. For you, the quote should identify whether response access is included in the policy or requires a separate service contract. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

### Limits and Security Services

Resilience advertises limits up to $20 million and proactive monitoring with breach-and-attack simulations. Aon’s reviewed cyber material gives no buyer-specific limit or retention and says policy terms vary. Ask Resilience how its advertised ceiling applies to your risk; ask Aon to show actual limits and monitoring arrangements in the carrier proposal. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask Resilience which Homeland insurer will issue the policy and what eCrime sublimit applies; ask Aon for the proposed carrier, limits, retention and separate responder contracts. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Aon Cyber brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Resilience Cyber Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Aon describes cyber insurance brokerage and risk-advisory services. It is not identified as the risk-bearing insurer, and the global page does not name the carrier for a particular placement. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance..) | Resilience pairs a cyber insurance policy with security services such as threat monitoring and breach-and-attack simulations. In the US, the policy is placed by a distributor rather than underwritten by the Resilience brand itself. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber Insurance product page description of the combined offering, accessed 2026-09-23..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available..) | Resilience's US disclosure states that cyber insurance products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260), doing business as Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions, and underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, both subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC. The disclosure does not say which of the two Homeland entities issues a given policy. [7](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/ "Disclaimer") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: US paragraph of Resilience's disclaimer page, accessed 2026-09-23; product- and state-specific issuer mapping is not published..) |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes cyber services for organizations managing cyber risk. Its global practice page does not publish a complete industry, revenue, security-control or state-by-state eligibility schedule. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state..) | Resilience markets US cyber insurance across industries including healthcare, higher education, financial institutions and services, manufacturing, construction, law firms, professional services, public entities, retail, hospitality, technology, life sciences, medical devices and pharmaceuticals. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Broad Market Appetite" availability table for the United States, accessed 2026-09-23; the table does not state a minimum revenue or company-size threshold for cyber (unlike the separate tech E&O appetite range)..) |
| Coverage Features | Aon describes cyber insurance as one part of cyber risk financing and says it reviews policy offerings because terms and conditions vary. For professional-services firms, it discusses coordinating cyber and professional-liability coverage. This is brokerage guidance and does not establish the terms of any cyber policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control..) | Resilience lists privacy wrongful-act coverage, eCrime coverage up to $500,000, coverage for incident costs that exceed the policy limit (such as legal, forensics and crisis communications), and funds-transfer-fraud recovery assistance among its cyber policy features. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Policy Coverage" section of the product page; actual insuring agreements, sublimits and exclusions are set by the issued policy..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed..) | Resilience advertises cyber limits up to $20 million, available on a primary or excess basis, with a separate eCrime sublimit of up to $500,000. The page does not publish minimum limits, retentions or deductibles. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "Top-Rated Insurance with Broad Market Appetite" and "Policy Coverage" sections; figures are marketing maximums, not a specific quote..) |
| Risk Services | Aon describes cyber claims advocacy and preparation and relationships with third-party incident-response providers. The retained official source notes that provider contracts are separate, no performance guarantee is made, and referral remuneration may occur; confirm the providers, scope and compensation applicable to a client. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated..) | Resilience says policyholders get proactive threat monitoring from its Risk Operations Center and access to breach-and-attack simulations powered by AttackIQ, in addition to the policy itself. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: "The Resilience Advantage" section of the cyber product page..) |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed cyber product page does not describe a self-service online application or quoting process; it routes visitors to request a quote or watch a product overview rather than showing an application flow. [6](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Cyber Insurance product page, accessed 2026-09-23..) |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | Resilience describes a fully in-house claims and incident-response team available 24/7, with a dedicated claims manager who stays with the policyholder from initial triage through settlement, backed by an outside panel of privacy-law, forensics and crisis-communications specialists. [8](https://cyberresilience.com/products/claims-incident-response "Claims & Incident Response") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Claims & Incident Response page, accessed 2026-09-23; response-time and outcome statistics on that page are company-reported and not independently verified..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Aon vs Resilience](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-resilience): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay covered breach response, data recovery, interruption and liability costs; vendor incidents and funds-transfer fraud need separate checks.
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber)
- [AIG vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-resilience/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-resilience/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Resilience Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-resilience/cyber)

## Sources

### Aon

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
3. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Global cyber risk financing/insurance overview and brokerage practice; claims preparation and advocacy, incident response providers and referral remuneration disclosures, lines 194–230 as retained in Aon’s official source record; Professional Services Practice cyber cross-reference, lines 151–156.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Resilience

4. [Home Page](https://cyberresilience.com/). Resilience; Cyber risk management; Broad market appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Technology E&O](https://cyberresilience.com/products/technology-errors-and-omissions-insurance). Resilience; Technology Errors & Omissions: technology risk categories; Key Benefits; primary and excess offering; A Broad Market Appetite (US revenue $25M–$10B). Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Cyber Insurance](https://cyberresilience.com/products/cyber-insurance). Resilience; Policy Coverage section: privacy wrongful act coverage, up to $500k eCrime coverage, coverage costs beyond policy limits, recovery for funds transfer fraud; "The Resilience Advantage" section; "Broad Market Appetite" availability table listing Cyber Insurance and Tech E&O in the United States. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Disclaimer](https://cyberresilience.com/disclaimer/). Resilience; USA paragraph: "Insurance products are distributed by Ocrea Risk Services, LLC (NPN 19169260) dba Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions. Resilience products are underwritten by Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Homeland Insurance Company of Delaware, each subsidiaries of Intact Insurance Group USA LLC". Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [Claims & Incident Response](https://cyberresilience.com/products/claims-incident-response). Resilience; "Our Claims Advantage" and "Our Difference" sections: 24/7 in-house Claims & Incident Response team, fully in-house claims staff, dedicated claims manager from triage through settlement, world-class outside panel. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

9. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [CyberEdge specimen policy](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf). AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Resilience Reviews

Review Score: 9.0 / 10 from 1 rated source, equally weighted.

There's almost nothing public to go on. G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 for Resilience, but from a single review.

- G2: G2 rating 4.5 (out of 5); 1 reviews. G2 product page for Resilience, a cyber risk management platform; claimed profile. One review, so treat as an early signal. Period: captured 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Resilience Reviews | G2](https://www.g2.com/products/resilience/reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/resilience/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-resilience/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
