---
title: "Aon vs Kinro: D&O Insurance"
description: "Kinro describes a startup D&O product and application route; Aon describes broker placement and Side A/B/C program design."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "aon-vs-kinro"
provider-a: "aon"
provider-b: "kinro"
coverage-line: "directors-officers"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/directors-officers)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Aon and Kinro for D&O Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for D&O Insurance questions about Aon versus Kinro. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Aon vs Kinro for D&O Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for D&O Insurance, Aon or Kinro?
- What does Aon or Kinro publish about D&O Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for D&O Insurance from Aon or Kinro?

**Key facts:**
- Line: D&O Insurance. Providers: Aon and Kinro.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Aon vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [D&O Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Kinro profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Aon vs Kinro Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Kinro Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Kinro General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Kinro Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Kinro Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/umbrella-excess) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Kinro Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Aon vs Kinro: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Kinro describes a startup D&O product and application route; Aon describes broker placement and Side A/B/C program design.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Aon and Kinro for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Kinro focuses D&O on startups; Aon describes broader company coverage and insurer selection. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is Kinro Insurance?

Kinro fits U.S. small businesses that want a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet and agent help comparing quotes online. Its pages don't name the insurer behind a given quote, so ask which markets Kinro approached before you switch. [4](https://kinro.com/ "Kinro Business Insurance") [5](https://kinro.com/policy-review "Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy") [6](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers "For Carriers And MGAs")

[Kinro profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. [8](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms") [9](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf "The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance") [10](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95 "Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage")

## Key Differences in D&O Insurance

### Startup Route and Program Design

Kinro targets startups with its D&O product and describes an application route for buyers. Aon discusses D&O for public and private companies and uses insurer-selection analytics. A founder can ask Kinro about its underwriting fit and Aon which markets consider the company’s financing stage and board profile. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")

### Coverage Terms and Issuer

Aon explains Side A, B and C, while Kinro’s record describes its D&O coverage for startups. The final form establishes which company claims, securities allegations and directors are insured. Compare the carrier, entity grant, limits and exclusions in both proposals. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers")

## What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

- Ask Kinro which carrier and startup criteria apply; ask Aon for the proposed insurer and Side A/B/C limits and exclusions. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Aon Directors and Officers Liability brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Kinro Directors & Officers |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Aon markets D&O broking and advisory services, including insurer selection and program design. It does not issue the described coverage or name the carrier for a buyer’s placement. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance..) | Kinro is a broker: it matches a business to a D&O carrier rather than underwriting the policy itself, saying the product "can underwrite differently" by operation and that market fit depends on carrier appetite. [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Routing" and "Market fit" sections..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes D&O services for public and private companies and discusses executives, directors, managers and board members. This is a target-audience description, not an underwriting eligibility schedule. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state..) | Kinro says D&O commonly fits startups, funded companies, boards and executive teams, and typically comes up when a business has outside investors, a formal board or debt covenants, or a financing or customer contract requires management liability coverage. [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Common fit" and "Triggers" sections..) |
| Coverage Features | Aon explains D&O policies generally through Side A individual protection when company indemnity is unavailable, Side B reimbursement when the company indemnifies a director or officer, and Side C entity coverage, with different descriptions for public and private companies. It notes exclusions can apply; an issued policy determines the actual scope. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control..) | Kinro says D&O placements typically address claims involving management decisions, governance, investors or executives, and that a management-liability program may also fold in EPLI (employment practices) or fiduciary coverage. [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Coverage" section; actual terms depend on the carrier and policy placed..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed..) | The reviewed page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premiums; carriers use inputs such as funding stage, cap table and debt to quote, and amounts are not published. [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Directors & Officers page "Quote file" section as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Aon says its brokerage and claims teams collaborate on coverage negotiations and describes insurer-selection analytics and a D&O Risk Analyzer. Those are broker services, not an insurer claim decision or guarantee. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | To quote D&O, Kinro collects ownership, funding stage, board structure, revenue and headcount, prior claims and investor or lender requirements, and often reviews D&O together with EPLI, cyber and E&O coverage. [7](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers "Directors & Officers") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Directors & Officers page "Quote file" and "Reviewed with" sections..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Aon vs Kinro](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): D&O insurance can protect leaders and, in some policies, the company from covered management claims; company coverage, defense costs and limits differ by quote.
- [Aon vs Kinro Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/commercial-property)
- [Aon vs Kinro Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/cyber)
- [Aon vs Kinro General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/general-liability)
- [Aon vs Kinro Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs Kinro Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/umbrella-excess)
- [Aon vs Kinro Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-kinro/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs Kinro D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-kinro/directors-officers)

## Sources

### Aon

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
3. [Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance). Aon; D&O audience and coverage explanation, lines 123–160; insurer-selection, brokerage and claims collaboration, analytics and industry specialization, lines 171–189; contact link at top.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Kinro

4. [Kinro Business Insurance](https://kinro.com/). Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy](https://kinro.com/policy-review). Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [For Carriers And MGAs](https://kinro.com/partners/carriers). Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
7. [Directors & Officers](https://kinro.com/products/directors-and-officers). Kinro; Common fit; Product file; Coverage — What it usually handles; Triggers — When it comes up; Quote file — Inputs carriers usually need; Routing — Match the product to the operation; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### D&O Insurance Guide

8. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf). Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95). Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Kinro Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/kinro/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-kinro/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
