---
title: "Aon vs Harper: Cyber Insurance"
description: "Aon describes reviewing variable cyber terms and claims support; Harper highlights breach, payment-fraud and customer-data exposures for online retailers and offers an online intake."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "aon-vs-harper"
provider-a: "aon"
provider-b: "harper"
coverage-line: "cyber"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/cyber)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Aon and Harper for Cyber Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for Cyber Insurance questions about Aon versus Harper. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Aon vs Harper for Cyber Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for Cyber Insurance, Aon or Harper?
- What does Aon or Harper publish about Cyber Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for Cyber Insurance from Aon or Harper?

**Key facts:**
- Line: Cyber Insurance. Providers: Aon and Harper.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Aon vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [Cyber Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Harper profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/harper) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Aon vs Harper Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Harper General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Harper Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Harper Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-harper/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-harper/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-harper/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Aon vs Harper: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Aon describes reviewing variable cyber terms and claims support; Harper highlights breach, payment-fraud and customer-data exposures for online retailers and offers an online intake.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Aon and Harper for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Aon says cyber terms vary by policy and describes brokerage review and claims advocacy. Harper targets online retailers and other e-commerce businesses, describing data breaches, payment fraud, hacking and customer-information exposure, with an online quote intake. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is Harper Insurance?

Harper suits hard-to-place businesses such as contractors, care providers, manufacturers and transportation firms; standard small businesses seeking direct quotes should compare online carriers. Its workers’ compensation service helps classify payroll for audits. [4](https://www.harperinsure.com/sms-terms "Text Messaging Terms and Conditions") [5](https://www.harperinsure.com/insurance-insights/harper-45m-funding-announcement "We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves")

[Harper profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/harper)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. [8](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") [9](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf "CyberEdge specimen policy")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### E-commerce buyer focus and covered costs

Aon describes cyber as part of risk financing and says policy terms vary by insurer. Harper focuses on online retailers, marketplace sellers, dropshippers and direct-to-consumer brands, describing breaches, payment fraud, hacking and customer-information exposure; its FAQ mentions notification, credit-monitoring and some regulatory costs. Those examples can help e-commerce buyers identify questions, but Harper’s quote and the carrier form determine actual coverage. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")

### Market comparison or online intake

Aon describes claims preparation and advocacy and relationships with response providers under separate contracts. Harper lets applicants begin through an online intake that asks for state, estimated revenue and business description alongside a cyber selection. Buyers can start with those details while asking who is comparing markets; Aon’s described process emphasizes advisory and claims support rather than self-serve intake. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask Harper whether payment fraud, notification, credit monitoring and regulatory expense are included, and request relevant sublimits and policy triggers. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")
- Ask Aon to identify response vendors and compensation; ask Harper which insurer receives the application and who handles claims. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Aon Cyber brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Harper Cyber Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Aon describes cyber insurance brokerage and risk-advisory services. It is not identified as the risk-bearing insurer, and the global page does not name the carrier for a particular placement. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance..) | For cyber insurance, Harper describes calling the insurance companies that write the coverage for a business and presenting the resulting options to choose from, rather than issuing a cyber policy itself. [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage 'What we cover' introduction and coverage list, where cyber is one of the enumerated lines..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available..) | Harper's public pages do not name the insurer or insurers that would underwrite a cyber policy; the homepage shows an unlabeled panel of insurer logos it says it works with, without listing carriers for cyber specifically. [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Checked the homepage insurer-logo panel and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes cyber services for organizations managing cyber risk. Its global practice page does not publish a complete industry, revenue, security-control or state-by-state eligibility schedule. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state..) | Harper positions cyber coverage as relevant to online retailers, dropshipping businesses, marketplace sellers and private-label or direct-to-consumer brands on its eCommerce industry page, while also listing cyber as a general coverage option for any business on the homepage intake. [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: eCommerce industry page 'Who this is for' section combined with the homepage's general cyber checkbox; no cyber-specific eligibility criteria (such as revenue thresholds) were found..) |
| Coverage Features | Aon describes cyber insurance as one part of cyber risk financing and says it reviews policy offerings because terms and conditions vary. For professional-services firms, it discusses coordinating cyber and professional-liability coverage. This is brokerage guidance and does not establish the terms of any cyber policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control..) | Harper's homepage summarizes cyber insurance as coverage for the cleanup if a business's systems or card payments get hacked. [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage 'What we cover' blurb; the issued policy and declarations would control actual insuring agreements and exclusions..)<br><br>On its eCommerce industry page, Harper describes cyber protection as covering data breaches, payment fraud, hacking incidents and exposure of customer information, and its FAQ adds that cyber liability coverage may apply to customer notification costs, credit monitoring and certain regulatory expenses. [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: eCommerce industry page; this description is given in the context of online retailers, dropshippers, marketplace sellers and DTC brands, and may not describe cyber coverage the same way for other industries..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed..) | The reviewed pages do not publish cyber policy limits, retentions or a claims-made versus occurrence trigger; the eCommerce page's cost FAQ discusses eCommerce insurance overall rather than cyber coverage alone, so it is not used as a cyber-specific figure here. [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") [6](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce "eCommerce Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Checked the homepage and eCommerce industry page on 2026-09-23..) |
| Risk Services | Aon describes cyber claims advocacy and preparation and relationships with third-party incident-response providers. The retained official source notes that provider contracts are separate, no performance guarantee is made, and referral remuneration may occur; confirm the providers, scope and compensation applicable to a client. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | You can start a cyber quote through Harper's online intake by selecting the 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)' checkbox alongside the business's state, estimated annual revenue and a description of what it does. [7](https://www.harperinsure.com/ "Harper Homepage") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Homepage quote-intake form..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Aon vs Harper](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay covered breach response, data recovery, interruption and liability costs; vendor incidents and funds-transfer fraud need separate checks.
- [Aon vs Harper Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/commercial-property)
- [Aon vs Harper General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/general-liability)
- [Aon vs Harper Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs Harper Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber)
- [AIG vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-harper/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-harper/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Harper Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-harper/cyber)

## Sources

### Aon

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
3. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Global cyber risk financing/insurance overview and brokerage practice; claims preparation and advocacy, incident response providers and referral remuneration disclosures, lines 194–230 as retained in Aon’s official source record; Professional Services Practice cyber cross-reference, lines 151–156.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Harper

4. [Text Messaging Terms and Conditions](https://www.harperinsure.com/sms-terms). Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
5. [We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves](https://www.harperinsure.com/insurance-insights/harper-45m-funding-announcement). Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
6. [eCommerce Insurance](https://www.harperinsure.com/industries/ecommerce). Harper; Know your coverage: What is eCommerce insurance?; Cyber Protection callout; Who this is for; Why Harper; FAQ 'Does insurance cover data breaches or hacking?'. Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Harper Homepage](https://www.harperinsure.com/). Harper; What we cover: 'Cyber insurance — If your systems or card payments get hacked, this covers the cleanup.'; quote-intake checkbox 'Hacking, data breaches, card fraud (cyber)'. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

8. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
9. [CyberEdge specimen policy](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf). AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Harper Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

We found no customer star rating for Harper. Its Trustpilot page has 0 reviews, and BBB shows 0 customer reviews and 2 complaints.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/harper/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-harper/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
