---
title: "Aon vs Foxquilt: Cyber Insurance"
description: "Aon describes brokerage review of cyber policy terms; Foxquilt markets cyber for businesses exposed to breaches and ransomware but its summary leaves covered costs unspecified."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "aon-vs-foxquilt"
provider-a: "aon"
provider-b: "foxquilt"
coverage-line: "cyber"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/cyber)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Aon and Foxquilt for Cyber Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for Cyber Insurance questions about Aon versus Foxquilt. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Aon vs Foxquilt for Cyber Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for Cyber Insurance, Aon or Foxquilt?
- What does Aon or Foxquilt publish about Cyber Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for Cyber Insurance from Aon or Foxquilt?

**Key facts:**
- Line: Cyber Insurance. Providers: Aon and Foxquilt.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Aon vs Foxquilt](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [Cyber Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Foxquilt profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foxquilt) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/crime) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Foxquilt Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-foxquilt/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs At-Bay Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Aon vs Foxquilt: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Aon describes brokerage review of cyber policy terms; Foxquilt markets cyber for businesses exposed to breaches and ransomware but its summary leaves covered costs unspecified.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Aon and Foxquilt for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Aon says cyber insurance terms vary and describes reviewing policy options. Foxquilt markets cyber insurance and identifies data breaches and ransomware as relevant exposures, while its reviewed product summary does not specify insured costs or policy triggers. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance")

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is Foxquilt?

Foxquilt offers several online-marketed small-business lines, but its public pages do not resolve which U.S. entity places each risk or which insurer issues each policy. Compare the specific product, state, terms and named entities before deciding whether the digital route fits your business. [4](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/commercial-general-liability.html "Commercial General Liability") [5](https://www.foxquilt.com/terms-of-use.html "Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions")

[Foxquilt profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foxquilt)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. [7](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance") [8](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf "CyberEdge specimen policy")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### Documented scope and remaining detail

Aon describes cyber as part of risk financing and says it reviews insurer forms because terms and conditions vary. Foxquilt markets cyber insurance for businesses facing data breaches and ransomware, but the reviewed summary does not identify which costs or triggers the policy covers. Buyers should treat the two records differently: Aon describes a broker’s review role, while Foxquilt’s event examples need to be translated into the actual policy schedule before comparison. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance")

### Service and quote path

Aon describes claims advocacy and relationships with third-party response providers, noting that their contracts are separate. Foxquilt provides a quote path for the described product, but that route does not confirm eligibility or binding. Before choosing a path, ask Foxquilt who underwrites and handles claims; ask Aon which carriers and incident-response partners it would consider for your risk. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask Foxquilt to specify covered breach and ransomware costs, triggers, exclusions, sublimits and the insurer in any quote. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance")
- Ask Aon to name response-provider contracts and referral compensation; confirm both providers’ claims contacts and binding process. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Aon Cyber brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Foxquilt Cyber Insurance |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Aon describes cyber insurance brokerage and risk-advisory services. It is not identified as the risk-bearing insurer, and the global page does not name the carrier for a particular placement. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance..) | Foxquilt markets a Cyber Insurance product for businesses. [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon describes cyber services for organizations managing cyber risk. Its global practice page does not publish a complete industry, revenue, security-control or state-by-state eligibility schedule. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state..) | The page discusses businesses exposed to cyber events and sensitive information; it does not publish a full appetite or industry eligibility list. [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents..) |
| Coverage Features | Aon describes cyber insurance as one part of cyber risk financing and says it reviews policy offerings because terms and conditions vary. For professional-services firms, it discusses coordinating cyber and professional-liability coverage. This is brokerage guidance and does not establish the terms of any cyber policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control..) | Its product summary describes cyber-event exposures such as data breaches and ransomware; it does not identify the insured costs or policy triggers for a particular quote. [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents..) |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed..) | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered..) |
| Risk Services | Aon describes cyber claims advocacy and preparation and relationships with third-party incident-response providers. The retained official source notes that provider contracts are separate, no performance guarantee is made, and referral remuneration may occur; confirm the providers, scope and compensation applicable to a client. [3](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | The cited Foxquilt product or program page provides a quote path for the described product or program; that route does not establish that a quote will be offered or bound. [6](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html "Cyber Business Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Foxquilt’s cited product or program page documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Aon vs Foxquilt](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay covered breach response, data recovery, interruption and liability costs; vendor incidents and funds-transfer fraud need separate checks.
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/commercial-property)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/crime)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/general-liability)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Aon vs Foxquilt Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/cyber)
- [AIG vs Foxquilt Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-foxquilt/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Aon vs At-Bay Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay/cyber)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin/cyber)

## Sources

### Aon

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
3. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Global cyber risk financing/insurance overview and brokerage practice; claims preparation and advocacy, incident response providers and referral remuneration disclosures, lines 194–230 as retained in Aon’s official source record; Professional Services Practice cyber cross-reference, lines 151–156.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### Foxquilt

4. [Commercial General Liability](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/commercial-general-liability.html). Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
5. [Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions](https://www.foxquilt.com/terms-of-use.html). Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
6. [Cyber Business Insurance](https://www.foxquilt.com/businesscoverage/cyber-insurance.html). Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127.. Accessed 2026-09-29.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

7. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [CyberEdge specimen policy](https://www.aig.com/content/dam/aig/america-canada/us/documents/business/cyber/cyberedge-wording-sample-specimen-form.pdf). AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Foxquilt Reviews

Review Score: 8.9 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.

- Trustpilot: TrustScore 3.5/5 (Trustpilot 5-point scale); 8 reviews. Trustpilot's foxquilt.com company profile (Toronto address; broad broker, auto, business and home insurance categories). Reviewer country and product line are not reliably shown, so it is not a US-only or commercial-only sample. Period: profile accessed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Foxquilt Reviews | Read Customer Service Reviews of foxquilt.com](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/foxquilt.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade A+ (BBB letter grade). Better Business Bureau Serving Central Ontario business profile for Foxquilt at a Toronto address; business-profile grade and reviews/complaints are different data. Not a U.S. policy review. Period: Toronto profile accessed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Foxquilt | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/ca/on/toronto/profile/commercial-insurance-services/foxquilt-0107-1374206); [Foxquilt | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/ca/on/toronto/profile/commercial-insurance-services/foxquilt-0107-1374206/customer-reviews); [Foxquilt | BBB Complaints](https://www.bbb.org/ca/on/toronto/profile/commercial-insurance-services/foxquilt-0107-1374206/complaints)
- Google (via Birdeye): Google rating 4.9 (out of 5); 526 reviews. Google reviews for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC, the Charlotte, North Carolina office. Reviews include commercial insurance customers. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC reviews | Birdeye](https://reviews.birdeye.com/foxquilt-insurance-services-llc-176273459225651)
- HelloSafe: HelloSafe rating 4.8 (out of 5); 637 reviews. HelloSafe (Canadian comparison site) page on Foxquilt business insurance. Canada-focused, and the source of its reviews is not stated. Period: page accessed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Foxquilt Business Insurance Review (2026) - HelloSafe](https://hellosafe.ca/en/business-insurance/foxquilt)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foxquilt/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foxquilt/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
