---
title: "Aon vs Founder Shield"
description: "Aon targets mid-sized organizations through its North American Middle Market practice; Founder Shield focuses on high-growth and venture-backed companies."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foundershield"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-29"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foundershield)

# Aon vs Founder Shield

Aon targets mid-sized organizations through its North American Middle Market practice; Founder Shield focuses on high-growth and venture-backed companies.

## Before You Quote

Ask each provider about eligibility, the issuing insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and costs for your business.

## Highlights

Aon describes a middle-market brokerage practice across North America; Founder Shield focuses on high-growth and venture-backed businesses and says its brokers search for markets willing to insure each risk. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") [24](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/ "How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?")

## Provider Reliability Assessments

These sourced assessments are shown for context; this comparison does not select a winner.

### Aon

Role: Broker.

Broker Spot Score: **6.7/10** (partial score; 70% of this role's weighting included). Assessed 2026-09-29; review due 2026-10-29. Excluded factors: Carrier-Network Strength (The supplied evidence did not support a score for Carrier-Network Strength; this factor is excluded, not scored as zero. Canonical evidence gaps: The FCA register could not be loaded, so Aon UK Limited's FCA number and permissions are company-reported.; No NAIC, NIPR or other state producer search was completed for Aon's U.S. entities beyond the two Texas orders; current status of those Texas licenses was not re-checked.; Aon does not publish a named list of insurers behind its placements, so the network view rests on its concentration statement.; The Central Bank of Ireland, Lloyd's and other state enforcement records were not searched exhaustively.; Placement-specific compensation is not published; only the general categories are.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reliability).

### Founder Shield

Role: Broker.

Broker Spot Score: **5.3/10** (partial score; 40% of this role's weighting included). Assessed 2026-09-22; review due 2026-10-22. Excluded factors: Identity and Authority (Current authority and applicable appointments or delegations have not been independently established across the assessed scope.); Carrier-Network Strength (The reviewed evidence does not name the carrier and capacity arrangements behind the assessed programs, so the relationships cannot be assessed.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foundershield/reliability).

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Founder Shield Reviews

Review Score: 7.4 / 10 from 1 rated source, equally weighted.

Founder Shield has too little independent customer feedback for a reliable verdict. One positive Trustpilot review does not establish a service track record.

- Trustpilot: TrustScore 3.7 (5 stars); 1 reviews. Trustpilot profile for foundershield.com; one US customer review, categorized as insurance broker/business insurance. Period: Review 2023-03-14; none in prior 12 months. Checked 2026-09-25. [foundershield.com Reviews | Trustpilot](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/foundershield.com)

Reviewed 2026-09-25. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foundershield/reviews).

## Introduction

Aon describes a North American practice for mid-sized organizations; Founder Shield focuses on high-growth and venture-backed companies from early funding through IPO. Founder Shield’s startup focus may align better with a funded company’s industry program, while Aon presents a broader middle-market practice. Neither description guarantees eligibility or a carrier quote for your account. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance")



## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Aon | Founder Shield |
| --- | --- | --- |
| [Builders risk](https://spot.insure/coverage/builders-risk) | Listed: Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Cargo and transit](https://spot.insure/coverage/cargo-transit) | Listed: Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page. [9](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management "Marine Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists transit and transportation coverage for goods in transit or stored offsite. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Commercial auto](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-auto) | Listed: Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Commercial property](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-property) | Listed: Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management "Property Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists property insurance among its core offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Contract frustration](https://spot.insure/coverage/contract-frustration) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists Key Person & Contract Frustration among its specialized offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Crime](https://spot.insure/coverage/crime) | Listed: Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists crime insurance among its core offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Cyber liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) | Listed: Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement. [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists cyber liability among its core offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Digital assets](https://spot.insure/coverage/digital-assets) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists digital-asset insurance among its specialized offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Directors and officers](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) | Listed: Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement. [5](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") | Listed: Founder Shield lists directors and officers insurance among its core offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Employee health and benefits](https://spot.insure/coverage/employee-health-benefits) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists Employee Health & Benefits among its services. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Employment practices liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/employment-practices) | Listed: Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists employment practices liability among its core coverage services. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Fidelity bonds](https://spot.insure/coverage/fidelity-bonds) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists ERISA fidelity bonds among its specialized coverages. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Fiduciary liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/fiduciary) | Listed: Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists fiduciary liability among its core coverages. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [General liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/general-liability) | Listed: Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists general liability among its core coverage offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Generative AI liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/generative-ai-liability) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield markets generative-AI liability for US businesses with revenue up to $10 billion that use generative AI but do not sell it as a standalone product. [28](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/ "Generative AI Liability Insurance") |
| [Hired and non-owned auto](https://spot.insure/coverage/hired-non-owned-auto) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists hired and non-owned auto among its specialized coverage offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Intellectual property](https://spot.insure/coverage/intellectual-property) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield arranges intellectual property insurance. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Key person](https://spot.insure/coverage/key-person) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists key person insurance among its specialized coverages. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Kidnap and ransom](https://spot.insure/coverage/kidnap-ransom) | Listed: Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Last-mile delivery](https://spot.insure/coverage/last-mile-delivery) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists last-mile delivery among its specialized coverage offerings. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Management liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/management-liability) | Listed: Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Media liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/media) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield arranges media liability insurance for content creators. [42](https://foundershield.com/coverage/content-creator/ "Content Creator Insurance") |
| [Product liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/product-liability) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists product liability insurance. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Professional errors and omissions (E&O)](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions) | Listed: Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists errors and omissions for lawsuits alleging inferior work or service. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Representations and warranties](https://spot.insure/coverage/representations-warranties) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists representations and warranties insurance for mergers and acquisitions. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Surety bonds](https://spot.insure/coverage/surety-bonds) | Listed: Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability. [10](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety "Commercial Surety") | Not listed |
| [Umbrella and excess liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/umbrella-excess) | Listed: Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists umbrella insurance. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Venture capital asset protection](https://spot.insure/coverage/venture-capital-asset-protection) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists venture capital asset protection for management and investment-advisory liability. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Virtual care and telehealth](https://spot.insure/coverage/virtual-care-telehealth) | Not listed | Listed: Founder Shield lists virtual care and telehealth insurance for tech-enabled healthcare companies. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |
| [Workers’ compensation](https://spot.insure/coverage/workers-compensation) | Listed: Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: Founder Shield lists workers’ compensation insurance. [25](https://foundershield.com/coverage/ "Coverage") |

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.



## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://spot.insure/pricing.md). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage.

## Key Differences Between Aon and Founder Shield

### Company Role and Customer Stage

Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations across North America, without a stated revenue or employee cutoff. Founder Shield helps arrange coverage for high-growth companies from early funding through IPO, with industry practices that include technology and life sciences. Founder Shield says it is part of The Baldwin Group; that relationship does not make either brand the policy issuer. Choose Founder Shield when your funding stage and industry need its startup-focused broker team; choose Aon when you need its middle-market practice, then verify the people and placement assigned to your account.

Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [3](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm "Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

Founder Shield helps businesses choose and arrange insurance with insurers; its terms say it does not insure risks or decide whether claims are covered. [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [16](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brand’s documented intermediary role. No assertion of current state licensure or universal underwriting authority.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

Venture-backed and high-growth businesses from early rounds through IPO can use Founder Shield’s industry practices in technology, life sciences, finance, retail and transportation. [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### Online Start and Market Access

Founder Shield lets applicants create an account to begin, then says its team handles insurer paperwork after a buyer approves a proposal, payment and start date. It advertises access to more than 200 carriers, but that is not a promise of 200 quotes for your account. Aon’s terms describe a broker-led consultation and client instruction to bind certain programs. The practical difference is the intake route; neither website establishes the final insurer or a binding date before the written proposal is complete.

You can start by creating an account through Founder Shield’s quote portal using Google, Microsoft or email sign-in. [21](https://apx.foundershield.com/ "Quote Portal") [22](https://apx.foundershield.com/register "Create Account") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Public interface directly observed in Chrome on September 15, 2026. No sign-in, identity-provider flow, registration submission, quote or authenticated workflow tested.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

To bind coverage, Founder Shield says you approve the proposal, choose payment and a start date, then sign remaining documents while its team handles insurer paperwork. [23](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/ "How Do I Bind Coverage?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Documented general process; the actual carrier’s outstanding requirements and confirmation determine the transaction. No completed purchase observed.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

Founder Shield advertises access to 200+ carriers, but that does not promise your account will receive 200 quotes; its broker says it first looks for markets willing to insure your industry and risk. [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") [24](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/ "How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company network and selection claims. No complete roster, direct-appointment census, market submission log or competitive quote exercise obtained.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- Ask Founder Shield which insurers will actually quote your industry and whether the named market has reviewed your full submission. Its advertised network size is not an account-specific quote count. [24](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/ "How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?")
- Ask Aon and Founder Shield to identify the producer and issuing insurer for each line; neither group-level brokerage description identifies your placement parties. [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") [16](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service")
- Confirm all application items and insurer approvals remaining before the effective date, and get fees or commissions disclosed in writing. [23](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/ "How Do I Bind Coverage?") [16](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service")

## Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need.

| Criteria | Aon | Founder Shield |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Founder Shield helps businesses choose and arrange insurance with insurers; its terms say it does not insure risks or decide whether claims are covered. [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [16](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brand’s documented intermediary role. No assertion of current state licensure or universal underwriting authority.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield is part of The Baldwin Group, which lists it among acquired firms; Founder Shield describes its role as the group’s innovation arm. [17](https://foundershield.com/about-us/ "About Us") [18](https://baldwin.com/partnerships/ "Partnerships") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current brand relationship corroborated by the group’s own site. No claim about ultimate investors, public listing status or a current intermediary ownership chain.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Confirm the producer for your account: Founder Shield’s terms identify The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC, while its license disclosures identify Foundershield LLC. [16](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/ "Terms of Service") [38](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf "Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: The retained terms and licensing sources disclose those names separately. They do not establish a subsidiary relationship, merger, successor relationship or the producer for a particular account.; verified: 2026-09-29.)<br><br>If regulatory compliance matters to your selection, note that New York DFS fined Foundershield LLC $36,600 for late excess-line filings covering 2019–2023; the 2025 consent order concerns filing compliance, not claims payment. [38](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf "Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025") (Evidence: Verified; scope: August 21, 2025 disciplinary notice, PDF page 6, visually checked against the original. Does not establish current license status, remediation, policy invalidity or a pattern of claims conduct.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Customer focus | Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [3](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm "Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Venture-backed and high-growth businesses from early rounds through IPO can use Founder Shield’s industry practices in technology, life sciences, finance, retail and transportation. [15](https://foundershield.com/ "Founder Shield") [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Application process | For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | You can start by creating an account through Founder Shield’s quote portal using Google, Microsoft or email sign-in. [21](https://apx.foundershield.com/ "Quote Portal") [22](https://apx.foundershield.com/register "Create Account") (Evidence: Verified; scope: Public interface directly observed in Chrome on September 15, 2026. No sign-in, identity-provider flow, registration submission, quote or authenticated workflow tested.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Founder Shield says its application takes under 15 minutes, but that does not guarantee how quickly insurers will quote or when coverage can start. [20](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/ "Startup Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Startup page marketing claim. No timed application or binding exercise performed.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>To bind coverage, Founder Shield says you approve the proposal, choose payment and a start date, then sign remaining documents while its team handles insurer paperwork. [23](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/ "How Do I Bind Coverage?") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Documented general process; the actual carrier’s outstanding requirements and confirmation determine the transaction. No completed purchase observed.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Aon?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)
- [What Is Founder Shield Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/foundershield)

## Related Comparisons

- [AIG vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon)
- [AIG vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-foundershield)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon)
- [Alliance Risk vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-foundershield)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon)
- [Amelia Risk vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-foundershield)
- [Aon vs Armilla](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-armilla)
- [Aon vs At-Bay](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin)
- [Aon vs Beazley](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-beazley)
- [Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance)
- [Aon vs biBerk](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-biberk)
- [Aon vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cfc)
- [Aon vs Chubb](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-chubb)
- [Aon vs CNA](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cna)
- [Aon vs Coalition](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coalition)
- [Aon vs Corgi](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-corgi)
- [Aon vs Coterie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coterie)
- [Aon vs Counterpart](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-counterpart)
- [Aon vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coverdash)
- [Aon vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cowbell)
- [Aon vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-embroker)
- [Armilla vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-foundershield)
- [At-Bay vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-foundershield)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-foundershield)
- [Beazley vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-foundershield)
- [Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance-vs-foundershield)
- [biBerk vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/biberk-vs-foundershield)
- [CFC vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-foundershield)
- [Chubb vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-foundershield)
- [CNA vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cna-vs-foundershield)
- [Coalition vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-foundershield)
- [Corgi vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-foundershield)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-foundershield)
- [Counterpart vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/counterpart-vs-foundershield)
- [Coverdash vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-foundershield)
- [Cowbell vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-foundershield)
- [Embroker vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/embroker-vs-foundershield)

## Sources

### [Aon Official Website](https://www.aon.com/)

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms). Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm). Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
4. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
5. [Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance). Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
6. [Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice). Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
7. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
8. [Property Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management). Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
9. [Marine Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
10. [Commercial Surety](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety). Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
11. [About | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/about). Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
12. [Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer). Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
13. [Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/financial-and-executive-risks). Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
14. [Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

### [Founder Shield Official Website](https://foundershield.com)

15. [Founder Shield](https://foundershield.com/). Founder Shield; Opening broker description; Specialized Practices; Smart Tech, Smarter People; quote and sign-in links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [Terms of Service](https://foundershield.com/terms-of-service/). Founder Shield; Opening agreement; License Status; Representations and Disclaimers Related to Products or Services; Fees and Charges; Void Where Prohibited. Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [About Us](https://foundershield.com/about-us/). Founder Shield; Opening description and Charting Your path from MVP to IPO. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [Partnerships](https://baldwin.com/partnerships/). The Baldwin Group; Brand-change introduction and 2020–2024 acquisitions list, Founder Shield entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [List of Subsidiaries as of February 26, 2026](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1781755/000178175526000018/exhibit-211fy2025q4.htm). The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. (SEC filing); Exhibit 21.1, list as of February 26, 2026: The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC, Florida. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [Startup Insurance](https://foundershield.com/startup-insurance/). Founder Shield; What Coverage Does your Startup Need?; Why Startups Choose Founder Shield; Industries We Serve; Essential Policies to Consider section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Quote Portal](https://apx.foundershield.com/). Founder Shield; Public landing screen, Create Account and Sign In links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [Create Account](https://apx.foundershield.com/register). Founder Shield; Public registration screen: Google, Microsoft, email and password options. Accessed 2026-09-15.
23. [How Do I Bind Coverage?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-bind-coverage/) Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: proposal approval, payment, effective date and electronic signatures. Accessed 2026-09-15.
24. [How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-you-decide-which-carriers-to-approach/) Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: appetite, stated rating standard and carrier-selection criteria. Accessed 2026-09-15.
25. [Coverage](https://foundershield.com/coverage/). Founder Shield; Core Coverage: Crime Insurance, Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers, Employment Practices Liability, Fiduciary Liability, General Liability, Property Insurance; Specialized Coverage: Digital Asset Insurance, ERISA Fidelity Bond, Hired & Non-Owned Auto, Intellectual Property, Key Person & Contract Frustration, Last-Mile Delivery Insurance, Transit & Transportation; product cards: Errors & Omissions, Product Liability, Representations and Warranties, Umbrella Insurance, VCAP, Virtual Care & Telehealth Insurance, Workers Compensation; Health & Benefits: Employee Health & Benefits; Get a Quote and Learn More links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [How Do We Purchase “A La Carte” Commercial Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-we-purchase-a-la-carte-commercial-insurance/) Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: individual coverages, limits, deductibles and endorsements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
27. [Directors & Officers Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/directors-and-officers-insurance/). Founder Shield; What Does D&O Insurance Cover?; Major Shareholder Exclusion; D&O Insurance Cost and Enhancements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
28. [Generative AI Liability Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/generative-ai-liability-insurance/). Founder Shield; Who Needs Generative AI Liability Insurance Coverage?; five coverage categories; Generative AI Liability Policy; What Does A Generative AI Liability Policy Not Cover?; Speak with a Generative AI Liability Insurance Broker; Get a Quote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [AI Liability Insurance for Brokers](https://www.testudo.co/brokers). Testudo; What does the policy cover? (six insuring agreements); Limits & pricing; target customers; application materials via Broker Platform. Accessed 2026-09-15.
30. [About Testudo](https://www.testudo.co/about). Testudo; What we do; Coverage you can rely on when it matters. Accessed 2026-09-15.
31. [Licenses and Regulatory Disclosures](https://www.testudo.co/licenses). Testudo; United States entity and non-risk-bearing role; United Kingdom entity disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
32. [How Do I Get a Certificates of Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/how-do-i-get-a-certificates-of-insurance/) Founder Shield; Luke Kaltreider answer, November 25, 2024: email requests, contract wording and endorsement needs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
33. [What If Our Company Grows A Lot or Things Change During the Year?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-if-our-company-grows-a-lot-or-things-change-during-the-year/) Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: operational changes and coverage adjustments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
34. [The Ultimate Business Insurance Renewal Checklist for Startups](https://foundershield.com/blog/business-insurance-renewal-checklist-for-startups/). Founder Shield; January 12, 2026; Know Your Part in the Renewal Process; The Early Start Advantage (60–90 days). Accessed 2026-09-15.
35. [Claims](https://foundershield.com/claims/). Founder Shield; Our Approach; How We Support Claims Management, steps 1–5; Make a claim link. Accessed 2026-09-15.
36. [What Am I Actually Getting For the Price of Business Insurance?](https://foundershield.com/insurance-faqs/general-faqs/what-am-i-actually-getting-for-the-price-of-business-insurance/) Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: policy period, quoted charges, installments and premium financing. Accessed 2026-09-15.
37. [Transparency & Disclosure](https://baldwin.com/transparency-disclosure/). The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026; How The Baldwin Group is Compensated, including client fees, contingent commissions, affiliate services and referral fees. Accessed 2026-09-15.
38. [Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025](https://www.dfs.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2025/08/da20250821.pdf). New York State Department of Financial Services; Page 6 of 12, Region: New York, Foundershield LLC; $36,600 fine; consent order approved June 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
39. [Insurance License Search](https://myportal.dfs.ny.gov/nylinxext/elsearch.alis). New York State Department of Financial Services; Producer-search entry point. Accessed 2026-09-15.
40. [License](https://baldwin.com/license/). The Baldwin Group; California entity/license table; neither Foundershield LLC nor The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC is listed. Accessed 2026-09-15.
41. [Surplus Lines](https://content.naic.org/insurance-topics/surplus-lines). National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background, Issue; updated October 27, 2025: nonadmitted specialized insurers cover risks unavailable in the admitted market. Accessed 2026-09-15.
42. [Content Creator Insurance](https://foundershield.com/coverage/content-creator/). Founder Shield; Content Creator Insurance product introduction; What Is Content Creator Insurance? FAQ: media liability coverage for creators. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-29. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foundershield.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
