---
title: "Aon vs Cowbell"
description: "Aon describes a broad middle-market brokerage practice; Cowbell focuses on cyber and technology programs accessed through agents and brokers."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cowbell"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-29"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cowbell)

# Aon vs Cowbell

Aon describes a broad middle-market brokerage practice; Cowbell focuses on cyber and technology programs accessed through agents and brokers.

## Before You Quote

Ask each provider about eligibility, the issuing insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and costs for your business.

## Highlights

Aon offers broker-led placement for certain U.S. commercial programs, while Cowbell’s published U.S. products center on cyber and related business risks through an agent or broker; the policy names the insurer. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [22](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/ "Find An Agent")

## Provider Reliability Assessments

These sourced assessments are shown for context; this comparison does not select a winner.

### Aon

Role: Broker.

Broker Spot Score: **6.7/10** (partial score; 70% of this role's weighting included). Assessed 2026-09-29; review due 2026-10-29. Excluded factors: Carrier-Network Strength (The supplied evidence did not support a score for Carrier-Network Strength; this factor is excluded, not scored as zero. Canonical evidence gaps: The FCA register could not be loaded, so Aon UK Limited's FCA number and permissions are company-reported.; No NAIC, NIPR or other state producer search was completed for Aon's U.S. entities beyond the two Texas orders; current status of those Texas licenses was not re-checked.; Aon does not publish a named list of insurers behind its placements, so the network view rests on its concentration statement.; The Central Bank of Ireland, Lloyd's and other state enforcement records were not searched exhaustively.; Placement-specific compensation is not published; only the general categories are.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reliability).

### Cowbell

Role: Managing general agent.

Carrier & MGA Spot Score: **6.3/10** (partial score; 25% of this role's weighting included). Assessed 2026-09-23; review due 2026-10-23. Excluded factors: Identity and Authority (Current authority and applicable appointments or delegations have not been independently established across the assessed scope.); Financial Resilience (Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC’s own operating finances are not in the reviewed material. AM Best’s A (Excellent) rating of Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Palomar Holdings’ group filing describe the carrier behind the Palomar-paper products, not Cowbell’s ability to sustain its own operations, so they are not scored as Cowbell’s financial resilience.); Claims and Servicing (The evidence does not sufficiently establish responsibility, access and escalation across the assessed services.); Regulatory Conduct (A complete, exact-entity regulatory-conduct review for the preceding five years is unavailable.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell/reliability).

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Cowbell Reviews

Review Score: 2.0 / 10 from 1 rated source, equally weighted.

Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.

- SourceForge: SourceForge rating 1.0 (out of 5); 3 reviews. SourceForge software directory listing for Cowbell Cyber. Three small-business reviewers describe the cyber insurance product. Small sample, all from 2023. Period: reviews dated Jan to Jul 2023. Checked 2026-09-29. [Cowbell Cyber Reviews](https://sourceforge.net/software/product/Cowbell-Cyber/)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell/reviews).

## Introduction

Aon describes broader broker-led commercial placement for certain U.S. programs, while Cowbell centers its published U.S. range on cyber and related technology risks placed through agents or brokers. Cowbell’s cyber response services may suit a buyer seeking that specialized package, but neither its service description nor a catalogue label determines coverage under the issued policy. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [35](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services")



## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Aon | Cowbell |
| --- | --- | --- |
| [Builders risk](https://spot.insure/coverage/builders-risk) | Listed: Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Cargo and transit](https://spot.insure/coverage/cargo-transit) | Listed: Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page. [9](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management "Marine Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Commercial auto](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-auto) | Listed: Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Commercial property](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-property) | Listed: Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management "Property Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Crime](https://spot.insure/coverage/crime) | Listed: Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Cowbell offers a crime module in Zurich Select Plus for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. [32](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") |
| [Cyber liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) | Listed: Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement. [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Cowbell offers standalone and excess cyber products through its insurance-agency business. [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [26](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [27](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [28](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") [29](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf "Prime Plus Product Overview") |
| [Directors and officers](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) | Listed: Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement. [5](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") | Listed: Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus D&O for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. [32](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") |
| [Employment practices liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/employment-practices) | Listed: Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus employment practices coverage for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. [32](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") |
| [Fiduciary liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/fiduciary) | Listed: Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus fiduciary liability for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. [32](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") |
| [General liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/general-liability) | Listed: Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Kidnap and ransom](https://spot.insure/coverage/kidnap-ransom) | Listed: Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Management liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/management-liability) | Listed: Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: Cowbell provides access to Zurich management liability for private businesses with fewer than 250 employees and under $50 million in assets through Zurich-appointed wholesalers. [32](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") |
| [Professional errors and omissions (E&O)](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions) | Listed: Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Surety bonds](https://spot.insure/coverage/surety-bonds) | Listed: Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability. [10](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety "Commercial Surety") | Not listed |
| [Technology errors and omissions (E&O)](https://spot.insure/coverage/technology-errors-omissions) | Not listed | Listed: Cowbell markets combined technology errors and omissions and cyber coverage, plus follow-form excess, for technology businesses with revenue up to $1 billion. [30](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") [31](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf "Prime Tech Plus Product Overview") |
| [Umbrella and excess liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/umbrella-excess) | Listed: Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Workers’ compensation](https://spot.insure/coverage/workers-compensation) | Listed: Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.



## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://spot.insure/pricing.md). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage.

## Key Differences Between Aon and Cowbell

### Brokerage and Product Roles

Aon’s U.S. terms describe brokerage for certain Commercial Risk programs, while Cowbell presents an insurance platform and agency whose role can vary by product. Cowbell’s catalogue emphasizes cyber, technology errors and omissions, and management-related programs; its coverage lines do not establish identical policy wording or a particular insurer for your account. Choose Cowbell when its specific cyber program and agent route fit your risk; use Aon when you need broader broker-led placement advice. Confirm the issuing insurer in either proposal.

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

Your policy’s named insurer remains responsible for coverage; Cowbell is an insurance platform and agency that may act as a general agent. Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC identifies itself as a US P&C producer. [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [19](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/ "License Information") [16](https://cowbell.insure/terms/ "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. website and producer disclosure; the exact role can vary by product and placement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

Small and midsize businesses can compare Cowbell cyber options, while middle-market firms can consider broader programs; Prime 100 targets up to $100 million revenue and Prime 250/Tech up to $1 billion. [24](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-CowbellOverview.pdf "Cowbell Overview") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [26](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [27](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [30](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Published U.S. product appetites; eligibility is subject to underwriting and product-specific class restrictions.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

### Access and Incident Support

Cowbell documents a broker-first path: appointed agents can quote, bind and issue eligible products, and its cyber materials describe an in-house claims team and response panel. That does not mean every agent can access every product or that a reported incident will be covered. Aon’s terms place insurer-notice responsibility on the client unless a separate written agreement changes it, even though Aon separately describes claims services for selected practices. Match the service promise to the specific policy and engagement.

Buyers work through an insurance agent or broker; appointed agents use Cowbell’s platform to quote, bind and issue eligible products, and no direct-buyer quote path was documented. [22](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/ "Find An Agent") [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [23](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current public U.S. buyer and broker paths. This does not establish that every listed agent can access every Cowbell product.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team and response panel are available 24/7; have your policy number, incident date, details and contact ready. The issuing insurer and policy determine coverage and payment. [35](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [28](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. cyber claims-services page and product overviews; company-reported service description, not an independently measured outcome.; verified: 2026-09-15.)

Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [5](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

## What to Confirm in Quotes

- Ask Cowbell which insurer and Cowbell entity apply to the exact product, state and account; named carriers vary across its programs. [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [27](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview")
- Confirm whether Cowbell’s risk services are included, trial-based or separately subscribed, and which cyber incident panel responds. [36](https://cowbell.insure/crs/ "Cowbell Resiliency Services") [35](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services")
- Ask Aon who gives insurer notice and whether a separate claims agreement changes the client duty in its U.S. terms. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service")

## Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need.

| Criteria | Aon | Cowbell |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Your policy’s named insurer remains responsible for coverage; Cowbell is an insurance platform and agency that may act as a general agent. Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC identifies itself as a US P&C producer. [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [19](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/ "License Information") [16](https://cowbell.insure/terms/ "Terms And Conditions") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. website and producer disclosure; the exact role can vary by product and placement.; verified: 2026-09-15.)<br><br>Cowbell identifies Zurich as a $60 million Series C investor and partner, while Zurich describes Cowbell as its technology collaborator for Select Plus. The reviewed sources do not describe Cowbell as a Zurich subsidiary or say that Zurich underwrites every Cowbell product. [18](https://cowbell.insure/blog/our-next-era-cowbell-closes-60m-series-c-round/ "Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round") [33](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small And Midsize Business Management Liability") [17](https://cowbell.insure/about-cowbell/ "Company") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Ownership and commercial relationship characterization in Cowbell's 26 July 2024 financing announcement and current Zurich Select Plus page; no capitalization table was available.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Customer focus | Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [3](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm "Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Small and midsize businesses can compare Cowbell cyber options, while middle-market firms can consider broader programs; Prime 100 targets up to $100 million revenue and Prime 250/Tech up to $1 billion. [24](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-CowbellOverview.pdf "Cowbell Overview") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [26](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Pro Product Overview") [27](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf "Prime 250 Product Overview") [30](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf "Prime Tech Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Published U.S. product appetites; eligibility is subject to underwriting and product-specific class restrictions.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Application process | For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Buyers work through an insurance agent or broker; appointed agents use Cowbell’s platform to quote, bind and issue eligible products, and no direct-buyer quote path was documented. [22](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/ "Find An Agent") [15](https://cowbell.insure/ "Cowbell") [23](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/ "Broker Resources") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Current public U.S. buyer and broker paths. This does not establish that every listed agent can access every Cowbell product.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |
| Claims assistance | Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [5](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team and response panel are available 24/7; have your policy number, incident date, details and contact ready. The issuing insurer and policy determine coverage and payment. [35](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/ "Claims And Incident Response Services") [25](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf "Prime 100 Product Overview") [28](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf "Prime One Product Overview") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cowbell's current U.S. cyber claims-services page and product overviews; company-reported service description, not an independently measured outcome.; verified: 2026-09-15.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Aon?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)
- [What Is Cowbell Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cowbell)

## Related Comparisons

- [AIG vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon)
- [AIG vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cowbell)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon)
- [Alliance Risk vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon)
- [Amelia Risk vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Aon vs Armilla](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-armilla)
- [Aon vs At-Bay](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin)
- [Aon vs Beazley](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-beazley)
- [Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance)
- [Aon vs biBerk](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-biberk)
- [Aon vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cfc)
- [Aon vs Chubb](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-chubb)
- [Aon vs CNA](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cna)
- [Aon vs Coalition](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coalition)
- [Aon vs Corgi](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-corgi)
- [Aon vs Coterie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coterie)
- [Aon vs Counterpart](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-counterpart)
- [Aon vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coverdash)
- [Aon vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-embroker)
- [Aon vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foundershield)
- [Armilla vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-cowbell)
- [At-Bay vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cowbell)
- [The Baldwin Group vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cowbell)
- [Beazley vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cowbell)
- [Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance-vs-cowbell)
- [biBerk vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/biberk-vs-cowbell)
- [CFC vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell)
- [Chubb vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/chubb-vs-cowbell)
- [CNA vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/cna-vs-cowbell)
- [Coalition vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coalition-vs-cowbell)
- [Corgi vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/corgi-vs-cowbell)
- [Coterie Insurance vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coterie-vs-cowbell)
- [Counterpart vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/counterpart-vs-cowbell)
- [Coverdash vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/coverdash-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-embroker)
- [Cowbell vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cowbell-vs-foundershield)

## Sources

### [Aon Official Website](https://www.aon.com/)

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms). Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm). Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
4. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
5. [Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance). Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
6. [Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice). Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
7. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
8. [Property Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management). Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
9. [Marine Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
10. [Commercial Surety](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety). Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
11. [About | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/about). Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
12. [Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer). Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
13. [Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/financial-and-executive-risks). Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
14. [Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

### [Cowbell Official Website](https://cowbell.insure/)

15. [Cowbell](https://cowbell.insure/). Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
16. [Terms And Conditions](https://cowbell.insure/terms/). Cowbell; Opening paragraphs identifying Cowbell Cyber, Inc. and its subsidiaries; Paid Services §3; footer producer disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
17. [Company](https://cowbell.insure/about-cowbell/). Cowbell; Technology That Signals Protection; Backed By Prominent Venture And Growth Investors; office locations; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
18. [Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round](https://cowbell.insure/blog/our-next-era-cowbell-closes-60m-series-c-round/). Cowbell; 26 July 2024 announcement describing Zurich as a Series C investor and partner. Accessed 2026-09-15.
19. [License Information](https://cowbell.insure/state-licenses/). Cowbell; Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC producer and surplus-lines license lists for 50 states and the District of Columbia; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
20. [Business Name Search](https://cdicloud.insurance.ca.gov/cal/BusinessNameSearch). California Department of Insurance; License search for Cowbell Insurance Agency. Accessed 2026-09-15.
21. [Palomar Specialty Insurance Company — Company Profile](https://interactive.web.insurance.ca.gov/companyprofile/companyprofile?doFunction=getCompanyProfile&eid=3880&event=companyProfile). California Department of Insurance; Company information: NAIC 20338, California ID 1969-5, Unlimited-Normal status, property-and-casualty company, Oregon domicile. Accessed 2026-09-15.
22. [Find An Agent](https://cowbell.insure/find-an-agent/). Cowbell; State selector and directory of appointed U.S. agents and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-15.
23. [Broker Resources](https://cowbell.insure/broker-resources/). Cowbell; Current U.S. sales enablement catalog listing Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus materials. Accessed 2026-09-15.
24. [Cowbell Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-CowbellOverview.pdf). Cowbell; Our Products: cyber, Professional Indemnity, Zurich management liability and Cowbell Resiliency Services; product-level qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
25. [Prime 100 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $100 million revenue; Palomar paper; coverage descriptions; US0001 1025 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [Prime 100 Pro Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime100Pro-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted cyber for businesses up to $100 million; enhanced options and $3 million limit; 47-state list; Palomar paper; US0001 0826 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [Prime 250 Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-Prime250-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; 50 states and D.C.; Palomar and Chaucer paper; illustrative-coverage disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
28. [Prime One Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeOne-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: non-admitted cyber for advanced digital exposures, typically $250 million-plus revenue; selected risks up to $10 million; Chaucer Specialty; US0001 0426. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Prime Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimePlus-Overview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–2: non-admitted follow-form excess cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million excess limits; A-rated carriers; US0001 0226. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [Prime Tech Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-US-PrimeTech-Overview-1.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Prime Tech Plus Product Overview](https://cowbell.insure/wp-content/uploads/pdfs/CB-PrimeTechPlusOverview.pdf). Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: Seamless excess protection: follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; A-rated paper; edition PRIME PLUS US0002 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/). Cowbell; FAQs: How can I access… and What size accounts are targeted?; Cowbell Management Liability introduction; Zurich Select Plus description: admitted paper; private-company D&O, employment practices, fiduciary liability and crime modules. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Small And Midsize Business Management Liability](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Frequently Asked Questions](https://cowbell.insure/faqs/). Cowbell; Policy cancellation; direct- and agency-bill payment; 2.99% credit-card fee; premium financing; P100 and P250 renewals; endorsements; risk-engineering call. Accessed 2026-09-15.
35. [Claims And Incident Response Services](https://cowbell.insure/claims-services/). Cowbell; Cowbell Claims Approach; incident-response panel; reporting channels; initial company, incident-date and contact information; claims assistance description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
36. [Cowbell Resiliency Services](https://cowbell.insure/crs/). Cowbell; Cybersecurity services; policyholder access and trials; subscription services; service-provider and insurance-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated 2026-09-29. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cowbell.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
