---
title: "Aon vs CFC"
description: "Compare Aon’s brokerage role with CFC’s specialist MGA route for technology insurance buyers."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cfc"
page-type: "provider-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-29"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cfc)

# Aon vs CFC

Compare Aon’s brokerage role with CFC’s specialist MGA route for technology insurance buyers.

## Before You Quote

Ask each provider about eligibility, the issuing insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and costs for your business.

## Highlights

Aon describes brokerage for certain U.S. programs; CFC says it can quote specialist technology cover as an MGA, while its U.S. application is completed by senior staff and sent to a broker. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [19](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [17](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies — US application v2.4")

## Provider Reliability Assessments

These sourced assessments are shown for context; this comparison does not select a winner.

### Aon

Role: Broker.

Broker Spot Score: **6.7/10** (partial score; 70% of this role's weighting included). Assessed 2026-09-29; review due 2026-10-29. Excluded factors: Carrier-Network Strength (The supplied evidence did not support a score for Carrier-Network Strength; this factor is excluded, not scored as zero. Canonical evidence gaps: The FCA register could not be loaded, so Aon UK Limited's FCA number and permissions are company-reported.; No NAIC, NIPR or other state producer search was completed for Aon's U.S. entities beyond the two Texas orders; current status of those Texas licenses was not re-checked.; Aon does not publish a named list of insurers behind its placements, so the network view rests on its concentration statement.; The Central Bank of Ireland, Lloyd's and other state enforcement records were not searched exhaustively.; Placement-specific compensation is not published; only the general categories are.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reliability).

### CFC

Role: Managing general agent.

Carrier & MGA Spot Score: **No Spot Score**. Assessed 2026-09-23; review due 2026-10-23. Excluded factors: Financial Resilience (CFC Underwriting Limited’s filed accounts are a scanned image with no readable figures, so its ability to sustain its own operations is not established. State National’s A (Excellent) rating describes the carrier behind CFC’s appointed business, and Syndicate 1988 has no individual AM Best rating; neither is evidence of CFC’s own finances.); Regulatory Conduct (A complete, exact-entity regulatory-conduct review for the preceding five years is unavailable.).

Read the [full reliability assessment](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc/reliability).

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## CFC Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

- Insurance Times MGA survey: Insurance Times MGA rating (2024/25, broker survey) 4.76 (out of 5). UK broker survey of MGAs (Insurance Times, with the MGAA). Rates how brokers find CFC to work with. It is not a policyholder review. Period: 2024/25 survey; 'over 1,650 brokers' across all MGAs, not CFC alone. Checked 2026-09-29. [Five Star 2024/25 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2024-ratings); [Five Star 2025/26 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2025-ratings)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc/reviews).





## Coverage Comparison

| Coverage Type | Aon | CFC |
| --- | --- | --- |
| [Builders risk](https://spot.insure/coverage/builders-risk) | Listed: Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Cargo and transit](https://spot.insure/coverage/cargo-transit) | Listed: Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page. [9](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management "Marine Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Commercial auto](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-auto) | Listed: Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Not listed |
| [Commercial property](https://spot.insure/coverage/commercial-property) | Listed: Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management "Property Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product. [27](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/ "Property & casualty") |
| [Crime](https://spot.insure/coverage/crime) | Listed: Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. [25](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [37](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/fintech/ "Fintech insurance") |
| [Cyber liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber) | Listed: Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement. [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience "Cyber Risk") [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products. [23](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/cyber-insurance/ "Cyber insurance — US") |
| [Directors and officers](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) | Listed: Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement. [5](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") | Listed: CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. [25](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") |
| [Employment practices liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/employment-practices) | Listed: Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability. [25](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") |
| [Fiduciary liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/fiduciary) | Listed: Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. [25](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") |
| [General liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/general-liability) | Listed: Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product. [27](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/ "Property & casualty") |
| [Intellectual property](https://spot.insure/coverage/intellectual-property) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry. [28](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/intellectual-property/ "Intellectual property insurance") |
| [Kidnap and ransom](https://spot.insure/coverage/kidnap-ransom) | Listed: Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product. [29](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/kidnap-and-ransom/ "Kidnap and ransom") |
| [Management liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/management-liability) | Listed: Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. [24](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [25](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") |
| [Media liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/media) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses. [35](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/media-entertainment/ "Media & entertainment") |
| [Product liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/product-liability) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies. [36](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/life-science/ "Life science") |
| [Product recall](https://spot.insure/coverage/product-recall) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance. [30](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/product-recall/ "Product recall") |
| [Professional errors and omissions (E&O)](https://spot.insure/coverage/professional-errors-omissions) | Listed: Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice "Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses. [26](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/professional-liability/ "Professional liability") |
| [Representations and warranties](https://spot.insure/coverage/representations-warranties) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance. [31](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/transaction-liability/ "Transaction liability") |
| [Surety bonds](https://spot.insure/coverage/surety-bonds) | Listed: Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability. [10](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety "Commercial Surety") | Not listed |
| [Technology errors and omissions (E&O)](https://spot.insure/coverage/technology-errors-omissions) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses. [16](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology — United States product brochure") |
| [Umbrella and excess liability](https://spot.insure/coverage/umbrella-excess) | Listed: Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Listed: CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses. [32](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/excess-umbrella/ "Umbrella cover") |
| [Virtual care and telehealth](https://spot.insure/coverage/virtual-care-telehealth) | Not listed | Listed: CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine. [33](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/ehealth/ "Digital health insurance") |
| [Workers’ compensation](https://spot.insure/coverage/workers-compensation) | Listed: Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement. [14](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management "Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management") | Not listed |

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.



## Optional Spot Service Handoff

Spot can help prepare applications, coordinate brokers, and compare proposals. If that work is needed, collect the company's task, known deadline, current broker, and open questions for a [free consultation](https://spot.insure/pricing.md). The company decides what to buy; Spot does not automatically bind coverage.

## Key Differences Between Aon and CFC

### Broker and Managing General Agent Roles

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe a broker relationship for certain programs. CFC says it can quote specialist cover as a managing general agent, performing some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. CFC identifies CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; its brand is not the insurer name on every policy.

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. [19](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [18](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

The roles affect who gathers information, makes underwriting decisions and appears as policy issuer. Aon’s sources do not identify a producer or insurer for a particular placement, and CFC’s general role statement does not identify the insurer for a buyer’s technology quote. Request each party’s legal role and the insurer in writing. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [19](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC")

### Technology Buyer Fit and Application

Aon markets a Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations across North America without a numerical eligibility threshold. CFC says technology businesses from startups to multinationals, including some before revenue, can ask about its technology cover; that is an audience statement, not a promise of eligibility.

Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [3](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm "Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. [15](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

For certain Aon programs, a broker helps prepare underwriting information and the client signs required applications and instructs Aon to bind a selected program. CFC’s technology application calls for senior staff to complete it and send it to a broker; it asks about revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history.

For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.; verified: 2026-09-29.)

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. [17](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies — US application v2.4") [20](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/connect/ "Connect broker trading portal") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.)

Ask Aon what information the insurer needs and who submits it, or ask a CFC broker which insurer and wording apply to the quote. Verify effective date, limits, retention, exclusions and claims-made terms in the proposed policy; do not assume equivalent products or prices. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [17](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies — US application v2.4")

## Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need.

| Criteria | Aon | CFC |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Business role | Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [2](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms "Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. [19](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [18](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Customer focus | Aon markets a dedicated Middle Market practice for mid-sized organizations and says it serves growing businesses across North America. The reviewed page gives no numerical size cutoff and does not establish U.S.-only eligibility; Aon’s broader global client statement describes the parent’s client base, not this practice’s eligibility rules. [4](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients") [3](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm "Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported marketing page, North America; no numerical revenue, employee-count, state or U.S.-only eligibility definition is stated.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. [15](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |
| Application process | For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. [1](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.; verified: 2026-09-29.) | A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. [17](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf "Technology companies — US application v2.4") [20](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/connect/ "Connect broker trading portal") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.; verified: 2026-09-16.) |

## Related Reading

- [What Is Aon?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)
- [What Is CFC Insurance?](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## Related Comparisons

- [AIG vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon)
- [AIG vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc)
- [Amelia Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-aon)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc)
- [Aon vs Armilla](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-armilla)
- [Aon vs At-Bay](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-at-bay)
- [Aon vs The Baldwin Group](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-baldwin)
- [Aon vs Beazley](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-beazley)
- [Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance)
- [Aon vs biBerk](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-biberk)
- [Aon vs Chubb](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-chubb)
- [Aon vs CNA](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cna)
- [Aon vs Coalition](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coalition)
- [Aon vs Corgi](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-corgi)
- [Aon vs Coterie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coterie)
- [Aon vs Counterpart](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-counterpart)
- [Aon vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-coverdash)
- [Aon vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cowbell)
- [Aon vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-embroker)
- [Aon vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-foundershield)
- [Armilla vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/armilla-vs-cfc)
- [At-Bay vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/at-bay-vs-cfc)
- [The Baldwin Group vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/baldwin-vs-cfc)
- [Beazley vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc)
- [Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance-vs-cfc)
- [biBerk vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/biberk-vs-cfc)
- [CFC vs Chubb](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-chubb)
- [CFC vs CNA](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cna)
- [CFC vs Coalition](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-coalition)
- [CFC vs Corgi](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-corgi)
- [CFC vs Coterie Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-coterie)
- [CFC vs Counterpart](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-counterpart)
- [CFC vs Coverdash](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-coverdash)
- [CFC vs Cowbell](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-cowbell)
- [CFC vs Embroker](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-embroker)
- [CFC vs Founder Shield](https://spot.insure/compare/cfc-vs-foundershield)

## Sources

### [Aon Official Website](https://www.aon.com/)

1. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
2. [Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/aon-commercial-risk-us-electronic-disclosure-and-consent-terms). Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025](https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/315293/000162828026008116/aon-20251231.htm). Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
4. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
5. [Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance). Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
6. [Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/professional-services-practice). Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
7. [Cyber Risk](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/cyber-resilience). Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
8. [Property Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-management/property-risk-management). Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
9. [Marine Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/marine-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
10. [Commercial Surety](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/commercial-surety). Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
11. [About | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/about). Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
12. [Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer). Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
13. [Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/financial-and-executive-risks). Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
14. [Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/construction-and-infrastructure-insurance-and-risk-management). Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

### [CFC Official Website](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/)

15. [Technology](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
16. [Technology — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
17. [Technology companies — US application v2.4](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/4559/tech_application_us_v24.pdf). CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
18. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
19. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
20. [Connect broker trading portal](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/connect/). CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
21. [CFC Response](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/response/). CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
22. [Notify a claim or cyber incident](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/). CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
23. [Cyber insurance — US](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/cyber-insurance/). CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
24. [Management liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/). CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
25. [Management liability — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf). CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
26. [Professional liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/professional-liability/). CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
27. [Property & casualty](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/property-casualty/). CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
28. [Intellectual property insurance](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/intellectual-property/). CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
29. [Kidnap and ransom](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/kidnap-and-ransom/). CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
30. [Product recall](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/product-recall/). CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
31. [Transaction liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/transaction-liability/). CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
32. [Umbrella cover](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/excess-umbrella/). CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
33. [Digital health insurance](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/ehealth/). CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
34. [Medical malpractice](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/medical-malpractice/). CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
35. [Media & entertainment](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/media-entertainment/). CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
36. [Life science](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/life-science/). CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
37. [Fintech insurance](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/fintech/). CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
38. [Financial institutions](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/financial-institutions/). CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
39. [Carbon insurance](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/carbon-insurance/). CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
40. [Safeprotect misconduct liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/safeprotect-misconduct-liability/). CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
41. [Terrorism](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/terrorism/). CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
42. [Marine](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/marine/). CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
43. [CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/knowledge/news/2023/03/cfc-launches-admitted-offerings-for-professional-liability-and-technology-eo/). CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-29. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aon-vs-cfc.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
