---
title: "Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance"
description: "USI's PrivaSafe program adds named sublimits like $2 million in notification costs on top of the aggregate; Alliance Risk publishes a simpler limit table instead."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/cyber"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, and get_rankings for current provider rankings. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/cyber)

# Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance

USI's PrivaSafe program adds named sublimits like $2 million in notification costs on top of the aggregate; Alliance Risk publishes a simpler limit table instead.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Alliance Risk and USI Insurance Services for Cyber Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

USI's manuscripted PrivaSafe program adds up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage beyond the policy's aggregate limit and $250,000 in defense costs outside the limit. Alliance Risk publishes a recommended-limit table by business profile without added sublimits. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay")

## What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. [1](https://joinalliancerisk.com/about-us/ "About Us") [2](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-errors-omissions-insurance-tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance")

[Alliance Risk profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/alliance-risk)

## What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. [5](https://www.usi.com/about-usi "The Power of ONE") [6](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") [7](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/ "Commissions and Fees")

[USI Insurance Services profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/usi)

## What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. [10](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance "Cyber Insurance")

## Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

### Named Sublimits Versus One Aggregate Table

USI's manuscripted PrivaSafe program layers named sublimits on top of the base coverage, while Alliance Risk instead publishes one recommended-limit table by business profile without describing any comparable added sublimits:

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations..)

### A Middle-Market Focus Versus a Wider Range

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms with limited in-house security expertise, while Alliance Risk's guidance spans a wider range, from sole proprietors up to larger healthcare and finance companies, without singling out the middle market. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay")

### Documentation Required Versus None Listed

USI says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies, a vulnerability assessment and recent audited financials before it reviews exposure, while Alliance Risk's page instead opens with a quote request or risk-assessment booking without listing comparable documentation requirements. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay")

## What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

- Ask USI which specific carrier would underwrite your manuscripted PrivaSafe form, since USI describes it as negotiated with the market rather than tied to one insurer. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")
- Ask Alliance Risk which carrier it plans to place your program with. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay")
- Confirm whether USI's added notification and defense-cost sublimits apply on top of your chosen aggregate limit. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe")
- Ask whether Alliance Risk's regulatory-fine coverage is included by default or requires a separate endorsement. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Alliance Risk Cyber Liability Insurance | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk designs cyber programs backed by breach response planning, forensic support and advisory, as a brokerage that arranges placement rather than underwriting the policy itself. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/coverages/ "Alliance Products") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, opening section, and the general brokerage disclosure on the coverage catalogue page..) | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [6](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/ "Technology Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The cyber page does not name the insurer that would issue an Alliance Risk-placed cyber policy. It separately lists carriers active in the broader cyber market, including Chubb, AIG, Coalition, Hiscox and others, as general market education rather than as Alliance's own carrier panel. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Cyber product page, Choosing Cyber Insurance Carriers and Brokers section, as read on 2026-09-23..) | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found..) |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement..) |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk's cyber offering combines first-party coverage (data recovery, business interruption, breach notification, credit monitoring, forensic investigation, crisis management and cyber extortion or ransomware payments) with third-party coverage (legal defense, settlements and judgments, regulatory fines and penalties, PCI-DSS assessments, and media liability). [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, First-Party vs. Third-Party Cyber Coverage section; actual policy structure depends on the carrier and the policy as issued..)<br><br>Alliance Risk says its cyber programs include coverage for legal expenses and fines imposed by data protection authorities such as the FTC, HIPAA enforcers or GDPR enforcers. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section..) | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Alliance Risk's cyber page says most small businesses buy $1 million per-occurrence and $1 million aggregate limits with roughly $2,500 deductibles, and it publishes a recommended-limit table by business profile, ranging from $500,000-$1 million for sole proprietors to $5 million or more for healthcare and finance companies. These are general guidance, not a quoted limit for a specific business. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, How Much Cyber Insurance Do You Need? section..) | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations..) |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk says it provides dedicated incident response planning ahead of a breach, with designated forensic, legal and notification vendors on standby, along with data exposure and network vulnerability analysis. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, Our Approach to Cyber Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections..)<br><br>Alliance Risk says its cyber programs often come bundled with proactive security services from cybersecurity vendors, such as vulnerability scans, employee security training and phishing simulations. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section..) | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") [9](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty "P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Program page and property-casualty practice team description..) |
| How to Apply | You request a cyber quote or book a risk assessment with an Alliance Risk advisor through the calls to action on the cyber product page; the page does not list specific underwriting information required for a cyber submission. [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/ "Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Cyber product page quote and consultation calls to action..) | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. [8](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/ "USI Exclusive PrivaSafe") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: PrivaSafe program page intake description..) |

## Full Comparison

- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Cyber Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/cyber): Cyber insurance can help pay your response costs and covered claims against your business after a cyber incident.
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/commercial-property)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/crime)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/employment-practices)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/fiduciary)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/management-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/workers-compensation)
- [Alliance Risk vs Amelia Risk Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-amelia-risk/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs At-Bay Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-at-bay/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Beazley Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-beazley/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Chubb Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-chubb/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Coalition Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-coalition/cyber)

## Sources

### Alliance Risk

1. [About Us](https://joinalliancerisk.com/about-us/). Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Tech E&O Insurance](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-errors-omissions-insurance-tech-eo/). Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay](https://joinalliancerisk.com/cyber-liability-insurance/). Alliance Risk; Cyber Liability Insurance That Moves at the Speed of Risk; Our Approach to Cyber Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Cyber Insurance Covers; How Much Cyber Insurance Do You Need?; First-Party vs. Third-Party Cyber Coverage; Choosing Cyber Insurance Carriers and Brokers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
4. [Alliance Products](https://joinalliancerisk.com/coverages/). Alliance Risk; Footer brokerage disclosure: "Alliance Risk is an insurance brokerage focused on providing clients with commercial insurance across a wide array of industries.". Accessed 2026-09-23.

### USI Insurance Services

5. [The Power of ONE](https://www.usi.com/about-usi). USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Technology Insurance](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty/technology/). USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe.... Accessed 2026-09-23.
7. [Commissions and Fees](https://www.usi.com/commissions-fees/). USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
8. [USI Exclusive PrivaSafe](https://ucontent.usi.com/solution-insights/privasafe/). USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy.... Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting](https://www.usi.com/property-casualty). USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Cyber Insurance Guide

10. [Cyber Insurance](https://www.ftc.gov/business-guidance/small-businesses/cybersecurity/cyber-insurance). Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-usi/cyber.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
