---
title: "Alliance Risk vs Aon: D&O Insurance"
description: "Alliance Risk gives D&O limit guidance by employer size and location; Aon describes Side A/B/C program design and insurer selection."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-30"
comparison-pair: "alliance-risk-vs-aon"
provider-a: "alliance-risk"
provider-b: "aon"
coverage-line: "directors-officers"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** Focused comparison of Alliance Risk and Aon for D&O Insurance: what each provider publishes about this line, checked against the same criteria, with numbered sources.

**Use this page when:** Cite or fetch this for D&O Insurance questions about Alliance Risk versus Aon. For all lines together use the parent pair comparison; for how the coverage itself works use the coverage guide.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Alliance Risk vs Aon for D&O Insurance: how do they differ?
- Which is better for D&O Insurance, Alliance Risk or Aon?
- What does Alliance Risk or Aon publish about D&O Insurance (limits, eligibility, claims, add-ons)?
- What should I confirm in a quote for D&O Insurance from Alliance Risk or Aon?

**Key facts:**
- Line: D&O Insurance. Providers: Alliance Risk and Aon.
- Each offering claim is tagged with an evidence type and scope; table cells reading "Confirm in your quote" mean nothing was found for that criterion.
- Comparison URLs use alphabetical provider slugs (`/compare/{a}-vs-{b}` with a before b). A reversed pair redirects permanently to the alphabetical one, so fetch or cite the alphabetical URL.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- It identifies differences and questions to ask; it does not select a winner for a particular business.
- "Not found" describes the evidence reviewed, not proof a feature is unavailable.
- Insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and price are set in an actual quote and are not established here.

**Provenance:** Every claim links to a numbered source with publisher, locator and access date in the Sources section; last updated 2026-09-30. Editorial policy: /editorial-policy.

**Related pages:**
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon) — parent: all coverage lines for this pair
- [D&O Insurance guide](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers) — coverage explainer for this line
- [Alliance Risk profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/alliance-risk) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon) — provider profile (evidence)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/commercial-property) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/crime) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/employment-practices) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/fiduciary) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/general-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/management-liability) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/workers-compensation) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Alliance Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-alliance-risk/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [AIG vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Amelia Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-amelia-risk/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Beazley D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-beazley/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers) — sibling comparison (other line, or other pair for this line)

# Alliance Risk vs Aon: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Alliance Risk gives D&O limit guidance by employer size and location; Aon describes Side A/B/C program design and insurer selection.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate Alliance Risk and Aon for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

Alliance Risk publishes D&O limit recommendations; Aon describes broker-led Side A/B/C structure and placement. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance")

## What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk suits tech startups from pre-seed through IPO that want a broker to review their tech E&O policy for free and shop specialist insurers; if you want to buy online in minutes, use a digital insurer. Quotes take 24 hours to ten business days, depending on your risk. [1](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-insurance/ "Technology Insurance") [2](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-errors-omissions-insurance-tech-eo/ "Tech E&O Insurance") [3](https://joinalliancerisk.com/get-a-quote/ "Get a Quote")

[Alliance Risk profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/alliance-risk)

## What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. [6](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us "Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service") [7](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients "Middle Market Clients")

[Aon profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. [9](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms") [10](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf "The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance") [11](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95 "Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage")

## Key Differences in D&O Insurance

### Limit Guidance and Buyer Profile

Alliance Risk recommends D&O limits by employee count and location, including higher ranges for multistate and California or New York risks. Aon explains Side A, B and C structures but does not state buyer-specific limits. Compare Alliance Risk’s starting guidance with the actual limit and exclusions in the carrier quote Aon proposes. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance")

### Broker Structure and Quote Terms

Alliance Risk describes small-business management-liability placements, while Aon discusses public and private company program design. Ask Alliance Risk whether D&O shares limits with EPL or fiduciary coverage, and ask Aon to identify the carrier and structure for each layer. The published summaries do not settle those terms. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance")

## What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

- Ask Alliance Risk whether D&O shares an aggregate with EPL or fiduciary; ask Aon for insurer, Side A/B/C limits and exclusions. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | Alliance Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance | Aon Directors and Officers Liability brokerage and risk-advisory offering |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places D&O insurance as a broker: it reviews a company's existing D&O program and markets the risk to carriers that specialize in management liability. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page; Alliance Risk does not underwrite the policy itself..) | Aon markets D&O broking and advisory services, including insurer selection and program design. It does not issue the described coverage or name the carrier for a buyer’s placement. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance..) |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed D&O page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it says Alliance Risk markets a company's risk to carriers that specialize in management liability, so the issuing insurer depends on the placement. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23..) | The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available..) |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk says D&O is relevant to venture-backed and public companies, high-risk industries such as fintech, healthcare, real estate and financial services, companies going through M&A, IPO or leadership changes, nonprofits, and small private companies without outside investors. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting..)<br><br>Alliance Risk says a company should turn on D&O coverage at its first priced funding round, because institutional investment brings personal exposure for directors and officers from day one. [5](https://joinalliancerisk.com/management-liability-insurance/ "Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management liability page's program-staging guidance, describing D&O specifically among the three bundled lines..) | Aon describes D&O services for public and private companies and discusses executives, directors, managers and board members. This is a target-audience description, not an underwriting eligibility schedule. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state..) |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk describes D&O policies it places as having three parts: Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B reimbursing the company for indemnification costs, and Side C covering the company directly for certain liabilities. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page; actual policy structure and whether sides are combined or separately limited depend on the carrier and the policy as issued..)<br><br>Alliance Risk lists standard D&O exclusions it sees, including fraud and intentional misconduct, criminal acts, bodily injury and property damage, and often prior acts before the policy started; it says employment practices and ERISA benefit-plan claims are typically excluded and need separate EPLI or fiduciary liability coverage. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page; exclusion wording varies by carrier and the policy as issued..) | Aon explains D&O policies generally through Side A individual protection when company indemnity is unavailable, Side B reimbursement when the company indemnifies a director or officer, and Side C entity coverage, with different descriptions for public and private companies. It notes exclusions can apply; an issued policy determines the actual scope. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limit and premium ranges: mid-size companies ($5M-$50M revenue) typically carry $2M-$5M in Side A limits, and larger private companies $5M-$25M or more. It shows overall D&O premium bands from $2,500-$10,000 for small private companies up to $50,000-$500,000 for large private companies, noting fintech, crypto and venture-backed companies often pay 2-3x more. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page; illustrative bands, not a quote for any particular company..)<br><br>Alliance Risk says entry-level management-liability packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate limit, so a large EPLI or fiduciary settlement earlier in the policy year can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim; it says a specialist broker structures shared versus separate limits to manage that risk. [5](https://joinalliancerisk.com/management-liability-insurance/ "Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management liability page's discussion of bundled D&O, EPLI and fiduciary programs..) | The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed..) |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy, identifying gaps in the Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements and comparing the program to market options. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page, Get Your D&O Risk Review section..) | Aon says its brokerage and claims teams collaborate on coverage negotiations and describes insurer-selection analytics and a D&O Risk Analyzer. Those are broker services, not an insurer claim decision or guarantee. [8](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance "Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated..) |
| How to Apply | For a D&O quote, Alliance Risk asks for company revenue, industry and stage, board composition, investor structure, current D&O coverage and carrier, five-year claims history and upcoming events such as M&A or an IPO, and says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: D&O product page, What We Need for Your Quote section; timing is a company estimate, not a guarantee..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Claims Support | The reviewed D&O page does not describe an Alliance Risk claims-handling or claims-advocacy process; it discusses what a D&O policy covers rather than how Alliance Risk itself supports a claim. [4](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/ "Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)") (Evidence: Not found in reviewed sources; scope: D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23..) | Confirm in your quote. |

## Full Comparison

- [Alliance Risk vs Aon](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): D&O insurance can protect leaders and, in some policies, the company from covered management claims; company coverage, defense costs and limits differ by quote.
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Commercial Property Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/commercial-property)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Crime Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/crime)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Cyber Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/cyber)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/employment-practices)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/fiduciary)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon General Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/general-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/management-liability)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/professional-errors-omissions)
- [Alliance Risk vs Aon Workers’ Compensation Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/workers-compensation)
- [AIG vs Alliance Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-alliance-risk/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs Aon D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-aon/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Amelia Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-amelia-risk/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Beazley D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-beazley/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-berkshire-hathaway-specialty-insurance/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)

## Sources

### Alliance Risk

1. [Technology Insurance](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-insurance/). Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
2. [Tech E&O Insurance](https://joinalliancerisk.com/technology-errors-omissions-insurance-tech-eo/). Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
3. [Get a Quote](https://joinalliancerisk.com/get-a-quote/). Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
4. [Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O)](https://joinalliancerisk.com/directors-officers-insurance-do/). Alliance Risk; D&O Insurance: Protecting Directors and Officers From Personal Liability; The Three Sides of D&O Coverage; What D&O Insurance Does NOT Cover; Who Needs D&O Insurance?; D&O Insurance Cost: What to Expect; How to Buy D&O Insurance; Get Your D&O Risk Review. Accessed 2026-09-23.
5. [Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together](https://joinalliancerisk.com/management-liability-insurance/). Alliance Risk; The shared limit problem; How to structure the program as you scale. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### Aon

6. [Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service](https://www.aon.com/en/about/leadership-and-governance/brokerage-terms-of-service-for-commercial-risk-solutions-us). Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
7. [Middle Market Clients](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/middle-market-clients). Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page.. Accessed 2026-09-29.
8. [Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance](https://www.aon.com/en/capabilities/risk-transfer/directors-and-officers-liability-insurance). Aon; D&O audience and coverage explanation, lines 123–160; insurer-selection, brokerage and claims collaboration, analytics and industry specialization, lines 171–189; contact link at top.. Accessed 2026-09-30.

### D&O Insurance Guide

9. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
10. [The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf). Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
11. [Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95). Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-30. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Alliance Risk Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.



Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/alliance-risk/reviews).

## Aon Reviews

Review Score: 6.1 / 10 from 3 rated sources, equally weighted.

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.

- J.D. Power: Aon study score 822 (out of 1000). Historical 2017 large-commercial-broker study; U.S. and Canada commercial insurance decision-makers at large organizations. J.D. Power reports 2,506 evaluations across the study, not Aon-specific responses; the Aon respondent count is not stated. Period: 2017 study; ranked 3rd among large commercial brokers; study-wide population 2,506, not Aon review count. Checked 2026-09-29. [Diversity of Offerings Becomes Key Differentiator for Large Commercial Insurers, JD Power Finds](https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/jd-power-2017-large-commercial-insurance-study)
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 1.2 (out of 5); 782 reviews. Global www.aon.com profile merged with other Aon profiles; mixed experiences include pensions, travel, professional indemnity and Australian business quotation service. The two latter complaints are individual unverified allegations, not evidence of U.S. commercial-placement outcomes or insurer fault. Trustpilot says reviews may not be representative because the company has not recently invited reviews. Period: Displayed 2026-09-29; page separately showed 198 reviews in the last 12 months. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.aon.com)
- BBB: BBB business grade B− (BBB letter grade; stated reason: failure to respond to two filed complaints). BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois profile for Aon plc; the business grade is BBB’s own measure, not customer stars. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Business Profile](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291)
- BBB: BBB customer review average 1.6 (out of 5); 5 reviews. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois customer reviews for Aon plc; some reviews are about employee-benefit and medical-expense issues. Period: checked 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [Aon plc | BBB Reviews](https://www.bbb.org/us/il/chicago/profile/insurance-companies/aon-plc-0654-5291/customer-reviews)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aon/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-aon/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
