---
title: "AIG vs CFC D&O Insurance"
description: "AIG describes D&O as standalone or modular; CFC places D&O inside a US management-liability package and separately describes excess Side A difference-in-conditions cover."
canonical: "https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/directors-officers"
page-type: "line-comparison"
updated-at: "2026-09-29"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and insurance research. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Spot Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Spot Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/directors-officers)

# AIG vs CFC D&O Insurance

AIG describes D&O as standalone or modular; CFC places D&O inside a US management-liability package and separately describes excess Side A difference-in-conditions cover.

## Research Scope and Use

Use this comparison to evaluate AIG and CFC for D&O Insurance against the same documented criteria. It identifies differences and questions to confirm; it does not select a winner for a particular business. Offering claims are what each provider publishes about this line unless marked otherwise. “Not found” describes the evidence reviewed, not proof that a feature is unavailable. Confirm the insurer, policy wording, limits, retentions, exclusions and cost in an actual quote.

## Summary

AIG says its D&O can be standalone or modular. CFC describes D&O as part of a multi-line package rather than a standalone product, with a separate Side A DIC option; its reviewed materials do not publish the package limit or retention. [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US") [8](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")

## What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. [1](https://www.aig.com/investor-relations "Investor Relations") [2](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business "Business")

[AIG profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aig)

## What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. [4](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/ "About CFC") [5](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/ "Technology") [6](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf "Technology — United States product brochure") [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information")

[CFC profile](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc)

## What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. [11](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms "Glossary of Business Insurance Terms") [12](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf "The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance") [13](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95 "Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage")

## Key Differences in D&O Insurance

### Standalone or Packaged D&O

AIG describes D&O as available standalone or modular within its management-liability portfolio. CFC says its US D&O coverage sits inside a management-liability package rather than being sold as a standalone product; CFC separately offers Side A difference-in-conditions coverage above the primary D&O program. Buyers who need only D&O should ask how AIG's standalone option compares with CFC's package requirement and whether a separate excess layer fits an existing program. [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US") [8](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure")

### Package Boundaries and Unknown Limits

CFC's brochure describes additional insured-person protection within the package but does not state its dollar amount, the overall D&O limit or retention. AIG's reviewed D&O record likewise supplies no numeric limit or retention. The available evidence therefore distinguishes product structure, not how much protection either quote would provide; do not infer equivalent limits from the product labels. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US")

## What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

Ask CFC for the full package schedule, additional insured-person limit, exclusions and the carrier shown on the declarations; ask whether its Side A DIC layer can sit above the proposed primary policy. Ask AIG for its standalone or modular form options and the same limits, retentions and insurer identity. CFC lists California-domiciled and US publicly traded businesses among package declinations, so confirm eligibility early if either applies. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US")

## Offering Details

| Criteria | AIG Directors & Officers Liability | CFC Directors & Officers Liability |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | AIG offers D&O standalone or modular with other management-liability coverages. [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: AIG management-liability portfolio. Claim limitation: Combination availability can vary by account and jurisdiction. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation..) | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. [8](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it..) |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. [7](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/ "Regulatory information") [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| Who It’s For | Confirm in your quote. | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business..) |
| Coverage Features | AIG describes D&O protection for executive and corporate-governance exposures. [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: AIG management liability product page. Claim limitation: Policy terms and coverage triggers control; no policy form reviewed here. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation..) | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms..)<br><br>CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages..)<br><br>CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. [8](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/ "Management liability") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here..) |
| Limits and Retentions | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. [9](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf "Management liability — United States product brochure") (Evidence: Not publicly disclosed; scope: Brochure as read on 2026-09-23..) |
| How to Apply | AIG links to application forms for its Management and Professional Liability products and provides contact information for its national product and distribution teams. [3](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability "Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: The Forms and Applications and national product/distribution contact sections on AIG’s US D&O product page. Claim limitation: The page supports form access and team contact information. It does not establish that application or placement must be routed through a broker, whether buyers or brokers submit a form, or any online quote/bind path. Section limitation: Company marketing does not substitute for the issued policy, state-specific forms or entity-level confirmation..) | Confirm in your quote. |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. [10](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/ "Claims") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing..) |

## Full Comparison

- [AIG vs CFC](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc): all coverage lines, business roles, service and claims.
- [What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?](https://spot.insure/coverage/directors-officers): D&O insurance can protect leaders and, in some policies, the company from covered management claims; company coverage, defense costs and limits differ by quote.
- [AIG vs CFC Management Liability Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/management-liability)
- [AIG vs Alliance Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-alliance-risk/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs Amelia Risk D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-amelia-risk/directors-officers)
- [AIG vs Beazley D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-beazley/directors-officers)
- [Alliance Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Amelia Risk vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cfc/directors-officers)
- [Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance](https://spot.insure/compare/beazley-vs-cfc/directors-officers)

## Sources

### AIG

1. [Investor Relations](https://www.aig.com/investor-relations). American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
2. [Business](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business). AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
3. [Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | AIG US](https://www.aig.com/home/risk-solutions/business/management-and-professional-liability/directors-and-officers-liability). AIG US; D&O product overview; modular coverage; Forms and Applications; Brokers: Meet Your AIG Team, lines 311–320. Accessed 2026-09-28.

### CFC

4. [About CFC](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/company/). CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
5. [Technology](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/industry/technology/). CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
6. [Technology — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/ywdbvkpy/technology_product-brochure_us_0525_v2.pdf). CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
7. [Regulatory information](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/support/regulatory-information/). CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
8. [Management liability](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/products/class/management-liability/). CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
9. [Management liability — United States product brochure](https://webcdn.cfc.com/media/0ttjwk3e/management-liablity_product-brochure_us_0126.pdf). CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy?. Accessed 2026-09-23.
10. [Claims](https://www.cfc.com/en-us/claims/). CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

### D&O Insurance Guide

11. [Glossary of Business Insurance Terms](https://www.thehartford.com/business-insurance/glossary-of-business-insurance-terms). The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
12. [The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance](https://eperils.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/14-02-18480.pdf). Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
13. [Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage](https://asset.trvstatic.com/download/assets/pdo-3001.pdf/d66bd58e63c911ee99d14294a32ecb95). Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated 2026-09-29. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. [Editorial policy](https://spot.insure/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [contact Spot](https://spot.insure/contact) with the page URL and supporting source.

## AIG Reviews

Review Score: 4.4 / 10 from 2 rated sources, equally weighted.

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.

- NerdWallet: NerdWallet editorial rating 2.5 (stars). NerdWallet’s editorial business-insurance comparison; the AIG entry concerns commercial liability and property insurance, not a quantified policyholder-review sample. The page’s complaint statement and 2.5-star editorial rating are source-specific and must not be recast as a consumer average. Checked 2026-09-29. [Business Insurance: Get Quotes and Coverage Today](https://www.nerdwallet.com/business/insurance/best)
- Trustpilot: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.9 (out of 5); 252 reviews. Consumer reviews on aig.com’s Trustpilot profile span products and countries, including personal, travel, device/service and other experiences; they do not isolate U.S. commercial-P&C policyholders or a single issuing insurer. Checked 2026-09-29. [AIG Reviews](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/aig.com)
- ConsumerAffairs: ConsumerAffairs average 1.0 (out of 5); 274 reviews. ConsumerAffairs page titled AIG Life Insurance Reviews, updated 2026-08-14. The page mixes life and high-net-worth home references and reviewers may describe other AIG relationships; it is not a commercial-P&C-only population. Checked 2026-09-29. [AIG Life Insurance Reviews](https://www.consumeraffairs.com/insurance/aig_life.html)
- BBB: Complaints shown, prior 3 years 270. BBB’s American International Group, Inc. headquarters profile and corporate-owned locations (86 listed locations); complaint data is not limited to commercial insurance or a particular risk-bearing insurer. BBB says displayed complaint text may not represent every complaint. Period: Three years ending as displayed 2026-09-29. Checked 2026-09-29. [American International Group, Inc. (AIG) BBB Complaints](https://www.bbb.org/us/ny/new-york/profile/insurance-companies/american-international-group-inc-aig-0121-1515/complaints)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/aig/reviews).

## CFC Reviews

Review Score: not enough ratings.

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

- Insurance Times MGA survey: Insurance Times MGA rating (2024/25, broker survey) 4.76 (out of 5). UK broker survey of MGAs (Insurance Times, with the MGAA). Rates how brokers find CFC to work with. It is not a policyholder review. Period: 2024/25 survey; 'over 1,650 brokers' across all MGAs, not CFC alone. Checked 2026-09-29. [Five Star 2024/25 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2024-ratings); [Five Star 2025/26 MGA Overall Ratings](https://www.insurancetimes.co.uk/ratings/mga-2025-ratings)

Reviewed 2026-09-29. [Read the sourced review](https://spot.insure/insurance-providers/cfc/reviews).

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://spot.insure/compare/aig-vs-cfc/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://spot.insure/llms.txt)
